KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Ladataan...

Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard

Tekijä: Liz Murray

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
9129923,638 (4.15)38
Biography & Autobiography. Nonfiction. HTML:

In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard.


Liz Murray was born to loving but drug-addicted parents in the Bronx. In school she was taunted for her dirty clothing and lice-infested hair, eventually skipping so many classes that she was put into a girls' home. At age fifteen, Liz found herself on the streets. She learned to scrape by, foraging for food and riding subways all night to have a warm place to sleep.


When Liz's mother died of AIDS, she decided to take control of her own destiny and go back to high school, often completing her assignments in the hallways and subway stations where she slept. Liz squeezed four years of high school into two, while homeless; won a New York Times scholarship; and made it into the Ivy League. Breaking Night is an unforgettable and beautifully written story of one young woman's indomitable spirit to survive and prevail, against all odds.

.
… (lisätietoja)
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 38 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 102) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
I almost gave up on this one, as it was incredibly bleak and infuriating. Liz Murray was the younger of two daughters born to drug-addicted parents who could barely keep themselves together, much less two young children. After detailing her harrowing years, Murray describes how she became homeless and eventually turned her life around. The book became a better read when there were fewer terrible decisions being made. Overall, though, it was less than satisfying.

3.25 stars ( )
  katiekrug | Dec 2, 2023 |
“Ma and Daddy did not make decisions based on what they liked or didn't like, just as they didn't make decisions based on what was good or bad for our family. Instead, Ma and Daddy made decisions based on drugs." p 109

Murray's tone is matter of fact rather than self-pitying or entitled, which I really appreciated.

This book was recommended to me as an alternative to [b:Educated|35133922|Educated|Tara Westover|https://i.gr-assets.com/images/S/compressed.photo.goodreads.com/books/1506026635l/35133922._SY75_.jpg|53814228], but Night isn't really about education. Despite the subtitle, Murray doesn't enter high school until page 279 (out of 335). Most of the book is about her growing up with drug-addicted parents and living in poverty.

I would have liked a bit more detail on her time in school, but she was so busy studying that perhaps there wasn't much of interest to write about.

I really enjoyed the book, but feel that something is missing from it, and I can't put my finger on what that something is.

Note: There is some profanity, and author mentions child abuse and sexual abuse. ( )
  RachelRachelRachel | Nov 21, 2023 |
If you like stories of despair to triumph (and I do) you will like this book. Once again I wonder how people manage to escape from a life of poverty and come out shinning. Recommended ( )
  janismack | Oct 22, 2019 |
Wow, this might just be the best memoir I’ve ever read. Yes, the story is compelling and Liz Murray keeps you turning pages as she unfolds the incredible details of her trials and tribulations growing up in the Bronx, the daughter of drug addicts, with very little hope in life. But more than that, she is a fighter who picked up the very scattered pieces at age 16 and turned her life around. I found Murray’s writing style to be engaging and thoughtful while baring some hard-to-read parts of her soul. The conversation at the end of the book was interesting as well. My only wish would have been for some pictures of Liz’s family (they honestly probably didn’t have any) and friends. Otherwise, 5 very polished stars. Well done, Liz Murray!! ( )
  LizBurkhart | Sep 5, 2019 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 102) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät paikat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
I have just one picture left of my mother.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
(Napsauta nähdäksesi. Varoitus: voi sisältää juonipaljastuksia)
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia (2)

Biography & Autobiography. Nonfiction. HTML:

In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard.


Liz Murray was born to loving but drug-addicted parents in the Bronx. In school she was taunted for her dirty clothing and lice-infested hair, eventually skipping so many classes that she was put into a girls' home. At age fifteen, Liz found herself on the streets. She learned to scrape by, foraging for food and riding subways all night to have a warm place to sleep.


When Liz's mother died of AIDS, she decided to take control of her own destiny and go back to high school, often completing her assignments in the hallways and subway stations where she slept. Liz squeezed four years of high school into two, while homeless; won a New York Times scholarship; and made it into the Ivy League. Breaking Night is an unforgettable and beautifully written story of one young woman's indomitable spirit to survive and prevail, against all odds.

.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Liz Murray's book Breaking Night was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4.15)
0.5
1
1.5
2 6
2.5 1
3 27
3.5 16
4 68
4.5 22
5 70

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 207,100,693 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä