KotiRyhmätKeskusteluTutkiAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

A Theory of Relativity – tekijä:…
Ladataan...

A Theory of Relativity (alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi 2001; vuoden 2002 painos)

– tekijä: Jacquelyn Mitchard (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
5791032,033 (3.36)5
"[An]astonishing pleasure." --Seattle Times   "A graceful, moving, and compelling novel. Jacquelyn Mitchard at her finest." --Scott Turow, author of Innocent   A poignant and unforgettable novel from Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of the monumental New York Times bestsellers The Deep End of the Ocean and The Most Wanted, A Theory of Relativity is a powerful tale that explores the emotional dynamics and dramas of two families fighting for custody of a young child. The very first author selected by the Oprah Book Club, Mitchard is a matchless, wise, and warm chronicler of families and their human foibles--and A Theory of Relativity is contemporary women's fiction at its best, a must-read for fans of Sue Miller, Jane Hamilton, and Elizabeth Berg.… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:KelleyDoan
Teoksen nimi:A Theory of Relativity
Kirjailijat:Jacquelyn Mitchard (Tekijä)
Info:HarperTorch (2002), 416 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:-

Teostiedot

Rakkauden lait (tekijä: Jacquelyn Mitchard) (2001)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 5 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 10) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
I think this author has a way of looking at important issues that can happen in family life. The rights of adopted children in family inheritance was explained very well. Unfortunately she also can get long worded on things that have nothing important to add to the story. Although throughout the story the reader wants to have Gordon succeed in getting custody, he sure makes enough mistakes about his life to question it. Also it was never understood why Keefer's parents were changing their will right before they died so that the father's family would have custody. What happens to Delia's family solved the problem but I did not like the very ending of Gordon's way to live. ( )
  kshydog | Dec 13, 2020 |
This book took me ahile to get through. It was good but a little slow at times. It starts out with the death of a husband and wife who have a one year old daughter. It's about the conflict of the famiies over child custody. Arrangements for her were somewhat started because the wife was dying of cancer when the fatal car accident happened. Written though th uncle's point of view. ( )
  camplakejewel | Oct 22, 2013 |
I enjoy Mitchard's writing and feel she is adept at fleshing out her characters. This book was no exception. I particularly enjoyed the theme of what constitutes family and whether a blood tie is a mandatory requirement.

However, I grossly disappointed in the ending of the book. I am always upset when an author takes the time to craft a story and subplots complete with the problems and pitfalls that naturally occur in life - only to find ways to tie up all the loose ends in pretty bows for the ending. Sadly, this is what Mitchard seems to be attempting with this novel. I found the ending to be completely contrived and unbelievable. ( )
  ddirmeyer | Aug 6, 2012 |
Loved it! One of my favorite books ever! ( )
  jenny.whitman | Apr 9, 2012 |
I really enjoy her writing, because her characters are really well drawn. She does have a way of wrapping things up very neatly and a bit oddly in the last 2 books of hers that I've read, but I'll keep reading. A very good exploration of some of the loopholes in the law...in this case, adoption law, but really there are quite a few out there. I'd enjoy a conversation with a number of these characters, although I'm not crazy about the way Gordy treated women, Keefer excepted. ( )
  PermaSwooned | Apr 4, 2009 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 10) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Tiedot hollanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tiedot hollanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Tiedot hollanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Een aangrijpende roman over liefde en vergeving.
How swiftly the strained honey
of afternoon light
flows into darkness

and the closed bud shruggs off
its special mystery
in oder to break into blossom

as if what exists, exists
so that it can be lost
and become precious.

- Lisel Mueller, 'In Passing'
De belangrijkste verdienste van de aanduiding 'relativiteit' is het feit dat het ons eraan herinnert dat een wetenschapper onvermijdelijk deelnemer is in het systeem dat hij bestudeert...Kortom, zouden de natuurwetten voor iedereen hetzelfde zijn, ongeacht zijn plaats en beweging?

- Nigel Calder, Einstein's Universe
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot hollanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Voor Christopher en voor Maria Christopher
En voor Moochie
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot hollanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Ze waren op slag dood.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot hollanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Tiedot hollanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia (1)

"[An]astonishing pleasure." --Seattle Times   "A graceful, moving, and compelling novel. Jacquelyn Mitchard at her finest." --Scott Turow, author of Innocent   A poignant and unforgettable novel from Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of the monumental New York Times bestsellers The Deep End of the Ocean and The Most Wanted, A Theory of Relativity is a powerful tale that explores the emotional dynamics and dramas of two families fighting for custody of a young child. The very first author selected by the Oprah Book Club, Mitchard is a matchless, wise, and warm chronicler of families and their human foibles--and A Theory of Relativity is contemporary women's fiction at its best, a must-read for fans of Sue Miller, Jane Hamilton, and Elizabeth Berg.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.36)
0.5 2
1 4
1.5
2 14
2.5 2
3 36
3.5 10
4 34
4.5 4
5 13

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 164,638,547 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä