KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Ladataan...

The Stone Gods (2007)

Tekijä: Jeanette Winterson

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
1,0194520,565 (3.52)49
After rendering the planet unlivable, humankind begins to colonize a new blue planet, and heroine Billie Crusoe embarks on a personal odyssey into the future, in an adventure that explores humankind's relationship to the environment, power, and technology.
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 49 mainintaa

englanti (42)  ruotsi (2)  hollanti (1)  Kaikki kielet (45)
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 45) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
5,5/10 ( )
  Shelldrome | May 23, 2024 |
Science fiction that weaves together future, past, and present in three separate but interlinked stories that comment on humanity’s penchant for destroying the world, contrasted with an individual’s ability to love. In the first section, we see a futuristic setting where materialism and vanity have been taken to extremes. The planet Orbus has been decimated by the inhabitants, so they are searching for a new planet on which to start over. In the second part, we are abruptly shifted to the 18th century, where Captain Cook’s ship is visiting Easter Island. The titular “stone gods” are a reference to this island’s moai statues. In the last story, set near present time, Earth has experienced World War III (called Post-3 War), a corporation governs society, and people impacted by the fallout are attempting to survive in the wreckage. The protagonists in each of the three times have the same names (Billie/Billy and Spike/Spikkers), and the relationship forming between them is another primary area of focus.

In two of the three timelines, Spike is portrayed as a “Robo-sapiens,” programmed to gain an understanding of humanity, and designed to learn enough to eventually be able to make better decisions for the benefit of society, rather than to its detriment as humans have done. I would like to have seen more deeply drawn characters, especially Spike, as she is of core importance. The dialogue can seem overly-explanatory, but the prose is elegant. At its heart this is a cautionary tale of history repeating itself, not learning from mistakes of the past, and the dangers of overindulgences without regard to impact. Winterson applies this message to themes of environmental responsibility, authoritarian control, and abuse of technology. She examines questions of how an individual can cope in such a society.

The book itself, The Stone Gods, makes several appearances, as well as Captain Cook’s Journal. At times it can be confusing, requiring patience and re-reading in certain sections, but eventually Winterson brings it all together. It’s definitely not for everyone, as it reflects a rather bleak outlook for humankind and the message can become rather heavy-handed. It will appeal to readers of “literary science fiction” in the vein of Ursula K. LeGuin or Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy.

Memorable quotes:
“The key to happiness…is tolerance of those who do not do as you do.”

“Love is an intervention. Why do we not choose it?”

“[T]he future of the planet is uncertain. Human beings aren’t just in a mess, we are a mess. We have made every mistake, justified ourselves, and made the same mistakes again and again. It’s as though we’re doomed to repetition.”
( )
  Castlelass | Oct 30, 2022 |
At the junction of science fiction and poetry. Achingly beautiful and sad, vast in scope, and intensely personal. ( )
  Charon07 | Aug 23, 2022 |
A complex book, telling and retelling stories. It's a philosophical contemplation of ecological disaster shaped kind of like a science fiction book. The science fiction bits are only trapping and decoration, however, to a story that seems to me like Winterson rediscovering her voice. ( )
  jennybeast | Apr 14, 2022 |
Maybe it should be four stars? But maybe it's a bit too disjointed?
Perhaps I should just read it again all in one go and see.

Patches of excellent but a bit too patchy overall. ( )
  mjhunt | Jan 22, 2021 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 45) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

Kuuluu näihin kustantajien sarjoihin

Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot ruotsinkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
This book is to my oldest friends - Philippa Brewster, Vicky Licorish, Henri Llewelyn Davies, Mona Howard, Peggy Reynolds, Beeban Kidron, Philippa Giles, and Ruth Rendell. And to Ali Smith, who came later, and to Deborah Warner, always.
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot ruotsinkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
This new world weighs a yatto-gram.
Sitaatit
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
I don't want to recognize what I can't manage. I want to leave it remote and star-guarded. I want it weightless, because it is too heavy for me to bear. (p. 199)
Mankind, I hazard, wherever found, Civilized or Savage, cannot keep to any purpose for much length of time, except the purpose of destroying himself.
Neither art nor love fits well into the economics of purpose, any more than they fitted into the economics of greed. Any more than they fit into economics at all.
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot ruotsinkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
(Napsauta nähdäksesi. Varoitus: voi sisältää juonipaljastuksia)
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia (1)

After rendering the planet unlivable, humankind begins to colonize a new blue planet, and heroine Billie Crusoe embarks on a personal odyssey into the future, in an adventure that explores humankind's relationship to the environment, power, and technology.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.52)
0.5
1 8
1.5 3
2 22
2.5 7
3 57
3.5 21
4 76
4.5 8
5 35

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 206,904,412 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä