KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Forest Demands Its Due Tekijä: Kosoko…
Ladataan...

The Forest Demands Its Due (vuoden 2023 painos)

Tekijä: Kosoko Jackson (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioKeskustelut
605443,696 (3.27)-
Fantasy. Suspense. Thriller. Young Adult Fiction. HTML:

A Lesson in Vengeance meets The Taking of Jake Livingston in this page-turning YA horror/fantasy set in dark academia about a queer Black teen who discovers the sinister history of his boarding school and the corrupt powers behind it all. A USA Today bestseller!

Regent Academy has a long and storied history in Winslow, Vermont, as does the forest that surrounds it. The school is known for molding teens into leaders, but its history is far more nefarious.

Seventeen-year-old Douglas Jones wants nothing to do with Regent's king-making; he's just trying to survive. But then a student is murdered and, for some reason, by the next day no one remembers him having ever existed, except for Douglas and the groundskeeper's son, Everett Everley. In his determination to uncover the truth, Douglas awakens a horror hidden within the forest, unearthing secrets that have been buried for centuries. A vengeful creature wants blood as payment for a debt more than three hundred years in the makingor it will swallow all of Winslow in darkness.

And for the first time in his life, Douglas might have a chance to grasp the one thing he's always felt was missing: power. But if he's not careful, he will find out that power has a tendency to corrupt absolutely everything.

A high-octane mystery of murder and magic for fans of Ace of Spades, House of Hollow, and Get Out!

.
… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:Kristin-Mock
Teoksen nimi:The Forest Demands Its Due
Kirjailijat:Kosoko Jackson (Tekijä)
Info:Quill Tree Books (2023), 432 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):****
Avainsanoja:-

Teostiedot

The Forest Demands Its Due (tekijä: Kosoko Jackson)

-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

näyttää 5/5
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
I was wondering why I hadn't heard of this book until I saw it as part of LTER, as it's published by Quill Tree, and it's by an author I know. I think I know why now.... it's not great. It's kind of a confusing mesh of elements that don't quite work as a mystery or a horror book, and it wasn't a satisfying read for me unfortunately
  alliepascal | Mar 10, 2024 |
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
Given a second chance after a deadly fire, Douglas and his nurse mother are given a spot at exclusive Regent Academy. As a Black student, he feels an island in this wealthy, white environment. Add the vibes and voices he hears from the forest, and things get really weird. Douglas discovers the death of students and then they seem to be erased from everyone's memories. But he finds he is useful to the Headmaster and is soon enlisted to try to break the curse tying several families to the town for generations.
A dark, survival story. Strong fantasy and magic elements and a strong connection and budding romance between Douglas and Everett. ( )
  ewyatt | Feb 4, 2024 |
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
**reviewed from free copy -- LibraryThing Early Reviewers**

teen fiction -suspense/horror - gay Black scholarship student who sleepwalks and who may or may not have accidentally set a fire that killed a dozen people leaves Washington, DC with his widowed mom (a nurse) and moves to a (mostly white) prestigious but secretive Vermont private high school where the nearby forest speaks to him of coming perils and (probably) imminent death. CW/TW: homophobic slurs, trauma from a deadly fire, scary violent creatures and several violent deaths.

This book has everything -- a lot of suspenseful mystery, a lot of dangerous monsters, a creepy atmospheric setting, a sweet gay romance, a hint of interdimensional possibilities (don't worry, not too much), a lot of heart. I liked the ending even though some of the pieces of the magical world didn't quite make sense (just suspend disbelief a bit and it's fine), and I enjoyed seeing a Black queer character in a story that didn't totally evolve around his Blackness or queerness (and there were no murderous chimpanzees here, just violent Perversion creatures that aren't likely to give me nightmares).

More, please! ( )
  reader1009 | Jan 31, 2024 |
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
The Forest Demands Its Due is everything I wanted in an eerie forest story. 10/10 on the horror elements. Both the gore and creepy atmosphere are perfectly executed.

If the rest of the book delivered like the spooky forest, this book could have been amazing. The romance fell flat for me. It just seemed very superficial and awkward, but that could be because it is YA.

The other thing that threw it for me was the magic system. It didn't feel fleshed out and really just served as a plot convenience when things got hard.

I recommend this book if you're looking for well-executed nature horror.

Thank you, Quill Tree Books and LibraryThing, for a copy of this book!

Read more reviews at www.kristinmockbooks.com/blog ( )
  Kristin-Mock | Jan 15, 2024 |
After a tragic fire kills the families in Douglas Jones' apartment complex, he is charged with murder. Luckily, a good lawyer takes his case and offers Douglas and his mom a chance to start fresh at Regent Academy in Winslow, Vermont. With an offer that seemed too good to be true, Douglas becomes the only black student at Regent. Upon arrival, Douglas is warned not to go into the Atolas forest bordering the school, but that is difficult for Douglas since the forest seems to be speaking to him since he arrived. After a student wanders into the forest and dies, everyone at the school forgets the student except for Douglas and Everett Everley, the son of the school groundskeeper. Douglas soon learns of a curse upon the town of Winslow and the descendants of the families that participated in a cruel act 300 years ago, an ancient vengeful god and the magic in the forest. Douglas' abilities mean he is able to break the curse, but as Douglas learns more about the god, Etaliein and his story, Douglas doesn't believe that killing him is the answer anymore.
The Forest Demands Its Due is an immersive Young Adult horror with an intriguing mystery and wonderful characters. I was pulled in from the beginning with Douglas hearing the forest and seeing a classmate injured in the forest only to have everyone forget about him the next day. The writing engrossed me in the small town of Winslow, Vermont with the foreboding Atolas forest and formidable Regent Academy. Douglass doesn't exactly fit in to Winslow, his past, his race and his lifestyle are all different, but the forest seems to reach out to him. I was really interested in the history of Winslow, the god of the forest, Etaliein and how the curse began. As Douglas digs for answers, the mystery of the forest unravels, but I do wish there was more context and we could know Etalein before tragedy struck. I enjoyed seeing Douglas and Everett's relationship grow as they went into the forest together. The magic of the forest was captivating along with the Perversions and Emissaries, the creatures that protected the forest. I loved that Douglas was able to help end the curse in his own unique way that shows that love can overcome.

This book was received for free in return for an honest review. ( )
  Mishker | Sep 5, 2023 |
näyttää 5/5
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Fantasy. Suspense. Thriller. Young Adult Fiction. HTML:

A Lesson in Vengeance meets The Taking of Jake Livingston in this page-turning YA horror/fantasy set in dark academia about a queer Black teen who discovers the sinister history of his boarding school and the corrupt powers behind it all. A USA Today bestseller!

Regent Academy has a long and storied history in Winslow, Vermont, as does the forest that surrounds it. The school is known for molding teens into leaders, but its history is far more nefarious.

Seventeen-year-old Douglas Jones wants nothing to do with Regent's king-making; he's just trying to survive. But then a student is murdered and, for some reason, by the next day no one remembers him having ever existed, except for Douglas and the groundskeeper's son, Everett Everley. In his determination to uncover the truth, Douglas awakens a horror hidden within the forest, unearthing secrets that have been buried for centuries. A vengeful creature wants blood as payment for a debt more than three hundred years in the makingor it will swallow all of Winslow in darkness.

And for the first time in his life, Douglas might have a chance to grasp the one thing he's always felt was missing: power. But if he's not careful, he will find out that power has a tendency to corrupt absolutely everything.

A high-octane mystery of murder and magic for fans of Ace of Spades, House of Hollow, and Get Out!

.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Kosoko Jackson's book The Forest Demands Its Due was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.27)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 2
3 3
3.5 2
4 2
4.5
5 1

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 208,778,899 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä