KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Only One Left: A Novel Tekijä: Riley…
Ladataan...

The Only One Left: A Novel (alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi 2023; vuoden 2023 painos)

Tekijä: Riley Sager (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
1,1353517,872 (3.79)20
"a Gothic chiller about a young caregiver assigned to work for a woman accused of a Lizzie Borden-like massacre decades earlier"--
Jäsen:authorjanebnight
Teoksen nimi:The Only One Left: A Novel
Kirjailijat:Riley Sager (Tekijä)
Info:Dutton (2023), 400 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):***
Avainsanoja:-

Teostiedot

The Only One Left (tekijä: Riley Sager) (2023)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 20 mainintaa

englanti (33)  saksa (1)  Kaikki kielet (34)
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 34) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
So twisty and turny it was amazing! The last 100 pages had me saying OMG WHAT the entire time. Definitely reading more of Riley Sager mhm. ( )
  beanskays | May 14, 2024 |
Synopsis: Kit is caregiver who is sent to take care of an elderly patient, Miss Hope, accused of murdering her entire family when she was a teenager. Kit wants to learn what really happened and if Miss Hope is innocent or guilty.

Rating
3 out of 5 Stars

I really enjoyed the vast majority of this book.

Kit is a compelling character who has very reasonable and human reservations about working for Miss Hope. There is a scene early on in the book where Kit touches Miss Hope and freaks out a little that she might be touching a killer.

Kit is an interesting character because she was accused of creating a situation where a previous patient died. The investigation didn't find Kit criminally negligent for what had happened however it has made her job prospects extremely limited. It also makes her want to be compassionate towards Miss Hope with the hope that her patient is innocent and that what happened that night has been misconstrued.

I was enjoying the story as we learn about Miss Hope's family and childhood. Also, as we see the everyday workings of the crumbling mansion Miss Hope and her servants reside in.

My biggest issues came with the twists at the end. Riley Sager is a great author but I often find he overdoes the twists and that was the case in this book. There were several twists. Some were good. Some were okay. A few changed how I saw characters in a negative light. One particular twist I don't think there were enough hints about it to make it feel plausible.

If the author had given us fewer twists I think I would have enjoyed this book a bit more. Also, several of the twists were ones I see frequently in thrillers so they didn't feel fresh or new.

If you are a reader who just loves all the twisty turns this book might really work for you. ( )
  authorjanebnight | Mar 5, 2024 |
Fans of Verity and Clue might love Riley Sager’s The Only One Left.

At the end of a months-long employment suspension, Kit McDeere finally receives an assignment from her home care agency to be the aide for Lenora Hope, an elderly wheelchair-bound woman suffering the effects of a stroke and childhood polio about whom the townspeople have created a nasty little rhyme.

“At seventeen, Lenora Hope hung her sister with a rope…”

It also claims she killed both her mother and father on a night in 1929 at Hope’s End, the secluded and crumbling cliffside mansion where nothing is as it seems.

Kit is replacing Mary, Lenora’s previous caregiver who vanished one night and left all her belongings behind. Kit would refuse the assignment but she needs the money, things are tense between her and her father, who she lives with, and how dangerous can a woman with the use of only her left hand really be? Nothing like having no choice, am I right? Kit reluctantly accepts the position and finds she’s both afraid of and intrigued by her new patient.

Did Lenora really kill her entire family? What happened to Mary? Is Kit next?

Expect the unexpected in this well-executed (no pun intended) high-concept novel that relies on isolation, rumor, and the facts of a historical crime to blindside the reader time and again. I haven’t enjoyed a Riley Sager (Todd Ritter) novel this much since The Last Time I Lied. He paced this one flawlessly, considered every detail, and ended this grim family saga on such a high note. Highly recommended for fans of locked room mysteries and complicated page-turning plots.
( )
  bfrisch | Mar 3, 2024 |
A very solid thriller! This was a quick read and had several good twists and interesting characters. It was also set in the 80s which I enjoyed as a child of the 80s. I would recommend. ( )
  sbenne3 | Mar 1, 2024 |
I feel like Sager really tried something different with this one, and I enjoyed it! This one was much more straight-up "traditional" mystery than his recent novels, and I never felt like it was unsolvable, which made it even more fun to try and piece together as the story went on. The ending might be my favorite Sager ending even? The last couple chapters were delightful. My one gripe is that I wish there was a little more horror! Sager usually can get me a little wigged out but, as concerning as this got, there was never a point where I was actually scared...I love a good little midnight scare...but anyways, my favorite Sager since "Home Before Dark"! ( )
  deborahee | Feb 23, 2024 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 34) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
The writing is compelling, the story captivating, and the characters are nicely rendered. The novel is set in the early 1980s but it has a timeless feel: it could have taken place a century ago, or it could be happening today. Claustrophobic and haunting, this is Sager at the top of his game.
lisäsi Lemeritus | muokkaaBooklist (May 1, 2023)
 
The novel moves between Kit’s narration in the present and Lenora’s typewritten account of her life leading up to the incident. Early on, the novel evokes such genre classics as “The Fall of the House of Usher” and Rebecca, establishing a moody atmosphere and intriguingly suspicious characters. However, this novel lacks the psychological realism of its influences. Sager doesn’t play with gothic tropes so much as he simply traffics in them....novel reads quickly and provides a thrilling, if goofy, ride for those with a high tolerance for plot hijinks and a fondness for Guillermo del Toro’s Crimson Peak. An entertaining thriller if you can give yourself over to its sillier plot devices.
lisäsi Lemeritus | muokkaaKirkus Reviews (Apr 24, 2023)
 

» Lisää muita tekijöitä

Tekijän nimiRooliTekijän tyyppiKoskeeko teosta?Tila
Riley Sagerensisijainen tekijäkaikki painoksetlaskettu
Lakin, ChristineKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
To my family
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
We're at the typewriter again, Lenora in her wheelchair and me standing beside her as I place my left hand upon the keys. A fresh page sits in the carriage, placing the one from last night. Now faceup on the desk, it serves as a partial transcript of our conversation.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

"a Gothic chiller about a young caregiver assigned to work for a woman accused of a Lizzie Borden-like massacre decades earlier"--

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.79)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 13
2.5 8
3 42
3.5 25
4 84
4.5 10
5 45

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 207,120,692 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä