KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Key to My Heart: A Novel Tekijä: Lia…
Ladataan...

The Key to My Heart: A Novel (vuoden 2022 painos)

Tekijä: Lia Louis (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
836329,528 (3.88)4
"Sparkly and charming Natalie Fincher has it all - a handsome new husband, a fixer-upper cottage of her dreams, and the opportunity to tour with the musical she's spent years writing. But when her husband suddenly dies, all her hopes and dreams instantly disappear. Two and a half years later, Natalie is still lost. She works, sleeps (well, as much as the sexually frustrated village foxes will allow), and sees friends just often enough to allay their worries, but her life is empty. And she can only bring herself to play music at a London train station's public piano where she can be anonymous. She's lost motivation, faith in love, in happiness . . . in everything. But when someone begins to mysteriously leave the sheet music for her husband's favorite songs at the station's piano, Natalie begins to feel a sense of hope and excitement for the first time. As she investigates just who could be doing this, Natalie finds herself on an unexpected journey toward newfound love for herself, for life, and maybe, for a special someone."--… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:TheHobbyist
Teoksen nimi:The Key to My Heart: A Novel
Kirjailijat:Lia Louis (Tekijä)
Info:Atria/Emily Bestler Books (2022), 352 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):***
Avainsanoja:-

Teostiedot

The Key to My Heart (tekijä: Lia Louis)

-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 4 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 6) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
Some lists have The Key to My Heart by Lia Louis labeled as a romance. There is a romance in the book, but this book is much more about grief and healing as a young widow finds her way to live with the unbearable loss of her young husband. The main takeaway is that grief is an individual journey. It does not and cannot conform to the expectations of family or friends. The journey is hopefully a path to healing.

Read my complete review at http://www.memoriesfrombooks.com/2023/11/the-key-to-my-heart.html

Reviewed for NetGalley. ( )
  njmom3 | Nov 18, 2023 |
Natalie is two years out from the loss of her husband and is still trying to make sense of her life and the emotions she is navigating. I found this the most authentic part of the novel - very true to my experience as a widow. I loved the way her music helps her to figure out where she is going and what decisions to make - and ultimately leads her to new relationships. ( )
  tjsjohanna | Jun 4, 2023 |
The Key to My Heart is the third novel from British author Lia Louis.

Natalie Fincher's life was upended when her beloved husband Russ unexpectedly passed away. All the plans they made, the dreams they had - gone. Two and a half years, Nat is still struggling with the loss. Her friends mean well, but she's just not ready to date again. She works, gets out once in a while, but the only high point is anonymously playing the piano in the train station.

When sheet music that seems directed specifically at Natalie starts appearing at the piano, she is intrigued, interested, excited even...

The Key to My Heart starts off slowly, matching Natalie's mood, demeanor and circumstances. Additional players are added to the cast. Everyone needs a Shauna - the wise, caring woman at the café in the train station. Natalie is not the only regular. There are others, all with their own stories. Slowly but surely, new friendships, relationships and more are built. But is Nat ready for more?

I liked Natalie and appreciated the care Louis afforded to depicting the loss of a partner and the aftermath. The emotions and feelings were believably portrayed. The supporting players each have a role and round out the novel.

Louis has a penned a novel of love, loss and finding a way forward. Music plays a large part in the book. And is the impetus for the cute title.

I chose to listen to The Key to My Heart. Some books just translate better for me when I listen. And such was the case with this novel. I became easily immersed in Nat's world. The reader was Victoria Fox and did a great job with presenting Louis's book. She has a pleasant accent and is easily understood. She has easily captured the emotions of the plot with her voice. I did find the speed of the speaking a bit slow for me, so I sped it up to .09. A lovely listen of a thoughtful, well written book. ( )
  Twink | Dec 15, 2022 |
Can grief ever be overdone? It came close in Lia Louis’ latest story of love and loss. However, her ability to transform a story of deep mourning, depression and anguish with humorous observations and dialog sets Louis apart as creative writer who gets it and is able to brilliantly convey the pain, and the fight to move forward after catastrophic loss.

Natalie Fincher has lost her everything - best friend, best mate, best love. She is not without friends who are worried and trying to help her. While they are her greatest solace they are also her biggest problem. She keeps disappointing them and herself - unable or unwilling to move past her loss. One step forward, two back. It is the tempo of loss. I love the characters, Natalie’s friends do exactly what good friends should do by trying to help her move past her grief and get on with her life. The men who come into her life are so perfect in their thoughts and mistakes. Natalie’s music and attempts at self-help are inspired and courageous. There is actually a lot of bravery in those who touch Natalie and her story.

Lia Louis is a very talented author and while this isn’t my favorite of her books it was a story well told. Thank you Emily Bestler Books / Simon & Schuster and NetGalley for a copy. ( )
  kimkimkim | Dec 11, 2022 |
How do you reimagine your life when you’re deep in grief and betrayal, when you loose the love of your life and your best friend? This is what Lia Louis asks in her new book The Key To My Heart. Make no mistake, set your expectations, this is not a fuzzy feel-good holiday rom-com. It is a beautiful book that follows Natalie three years after the death of her husband trying to find a way forward that reflects her.
Natalie, a gifted pianist, has been playing a public piano near a train station. Inexplicably sheet music starts showing up for songs that correspond to meaningful events to Natalie. A small spark is ignited as she is determined to find out who is leaving the music.
I loved the duality, the complexity of feelings Lia Louis introduces here. Natalie’s friends and family have specific ideas of how (and how long) she should be grieving. The pressure of performative healing, of moving on, simply to appease those closest to her is exhausting. I appreciated the feelings of guilt as Natalie considers what her future looks like when this conflicts with previous plans. I couldn’t wait to see how the love triangle played out and the future Natalie built for herself.
I loved this and can’t wait to read other books by Lia Louis! I think it’s perfect for fans of Lia Louis’ previous books, Eight Perfect Hours and Dear Emmie Blue. Thank you to Atria, Emily Bestler Books, Lia Louis and Netgalley for the advance reader copy. ( )
  FlowerchildReads | Dec 6, 2022 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 6) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

"Sparkly and charming Natalie Fincher has it all - a handsome new husband, a fixer-upper cottage of her dreams, and the opportunity to tour with the musical she's spent years writing. But when her husband suddenly dies, all her hopes and dreams instantly disappear. Two and a half years later, Natalie is still lost. She works, sleeps (well, as much as the sexually frustrated village foxes will allow), and sees friends just often enough to allay their worries, but her life is empty. And she can only bring herself to play music at a London train station's public piano where she can be anonymous. She's lost motivation, faith in love, in happiness . . . in everything. But when someone begins to mysteriously leave the sheet music for her husband's favorite songs at the station's piano, Natalie begins to feel a sense of hope and excitement for the first time. As she investigates just who could be doing this, Natalie finds herself on an unexpected journey toward newfound love for herself, for life, and maybe, for a special someone."--

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.88)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 2
3.5 1
4 6
4.5
5 3

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 208,508,795 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä