KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Ladataan...

Something More

Tekijä: Jackie Khalilieh

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
4912515,794 (4.24)3
Romance. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:A contemporary teen romance novel featuring a Palestinian-Canadian girl trying to hide her autism diagnosis while navigating her first year of high school, for fans of Jenny Han and Samira Ahmed.
Fifteen-year-old Jessie, a quirky loner obsessed with the nineties, is diagnosed as autistic just weeks before starting high school. Determined to make a fresh start and keep her diagnosis a secret, Jessie creates a list of goals that range from acquiring two distinct eyebrows to getting a magical first kiss and landing a spot in the school play. Within the halls of Holy Trinity High, she finds a world where things are no longer black and white and quickly learns that living in color is much more fun. But Jessie gets more than she bargained for when two very different boys steal her heart, forcing her to go off-script.… (lisätietoja)
-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 3 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 12) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
Something More is a relatable coming-of-age story with interesting characters and struggles too. Messy friendships and relationships are part of the struggle of growing up, along with trying to figure out where and how you fit in. I think most of us have felt that ourselves in our own ways and find Jessie's struggles although possibly somewhat different than our personal ones, still very relatable and also eye opening as well.
  bamaforever | Jan 28, 2024 |
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
Jessie was just diagnosed as autistic weeks before starting high school. Determined to keep it hidden, she makes a list of goals to cross off - ranging from having two distinct eyebrows, to getting a magical first kiss, and landing a spot in the school musical.

This is such an honest and messy story. So many novels, especially YA, don’t always show the messiness that’s teenage life, but this one shows it great. Jackie Khalilieh writes Jessie as a truly authentic teen with autism: feeling different, being bad at social interactions and ques, being obsessed with one particular interest, along with a lot of other differences. Khalilieh also writes deeply about wearing a mask and what that both looks like and feels like to someone with autism.

Along with truly showing a teen with autism, this story is also a romance, but cute. I’m usually against YA Romance because I find them so cheesy, but this one I actually liked and enjoyed. Jessie meets two boys on her first day of school and both show interest in her - one she catches onto a lot more quickly. Again, I would like to bring up the writing that Khalilieh did here where she talks about Jessie zeroing in on the one boy and the one relationship and how all others don’t really matter too much. I can be bad at that, so I felt that deeply.

Overall, I absolutely loved the representation this book shows and the story that it gives. I believe that, even though it is a YA romance, it’s not overly cheesy, and therefore I can see many readers enjoying this for its autistic representation.

*Thank you Tundra Books and LibraryThing for a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review ( )
  oldandnewbooksmell | Nov 21, 2023 |
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
Jessie is just starting high school. In this book that covers her freshman year, she is dealing with a recent diagnosis of autism and what that means for her. She's careful about who she shares this with. She meets a new group of friends and has to navigate who is worth being in her inner circle.
She falls head over heals for Levi, who buddies up to her in science as a way to maybe pass the class the second time around. She creates a lists of goals for freshman year. She meets a friend named Griffin who she's hopeful will become her first guy friend.
She works on figuring out what it means to stay true to herself and how to surround herself with people who value and love her along the way. ( )
  ewyatt | Nov 15, 2023 |
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
*received as an finished copy from the publisher

I haven’t picked up a book and read it cover to cover since early August, so to get back into the swing of things I figured some light YA romance would be an easy transition. There’s a *lot* of poor quality coming out in this genre, though, so I was a bit sceptical if Jackie Khalilieh could stand out from the crowd. She treads a very familiar path (outsider girl goes to a new school, crushes on boy, finds friends, ends up with a cute unexpected boyfriend, etc), but the twist that makes her book unique is that her protagonist, Jessie, is Autistic and has to find her way through the perils of high school with this added dimension. At a time when more and more young girls (and older women as well) are being diagnosed as Autistic, this book is one that is sure to find a ready group of readers and help on the route to normalising Autism (and other mental health and cognitive/behavioural challenges) in the real world. Jessie’s character is drawn with a realistic depth, as are the supporting cast, and all the small details like her obsession with the 1990s, her struggles with the “grey” areas of life, and her coping strategies make for an engaging and fun read. I might not have picked this one up on my own if I hadn’t been sent it by the publishers through Library Thing, but I am definitely glad that I got a chance to get behind the scenes in Jessie’s life! ( )
  JaimieRiella | Oct 7, 2023 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 12) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
This is the best and most authentic-feeling YA novel I’ve read in years. The world is so immersive, and the characters and feelings and PINING are so real. The high school feels are so relatable (at times, almost uncomfortably so) to anyone who has ever fallen (and given up way too much of themself) for the wrong guy, or overlooked the right one. Such a well-done, realistic love triangle. (I’m very much in love with Griffin, and have continued to think about him daily, over a year after reading this book.) And all the female friendships are equally complex and real.

I found myself relating to Jessie completely (despite her being Palestinian/neurodivergent and me being white/non-ND) more than I ever have with any protagonist. Jackie is a pro at capturing all the universal emotions of being young and confused and hungry for adventure and experience, while expertly weaving in dazzling/thought-provoking lines that will stop you dead in your tracks.

Overall, my feelings can best be described the same way John Green described Eleanor and Park: “This reminded me not just what it’s like to be young and in love with a girl(boy), but also what it’s like to be young and in love with a book.”
 
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Romance. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:A contemporary teen romance novel featuring a Palestinian-Canadian girl trying to hide her autism diagnosis while navigating her first year of high school, for fans of Jenny Han and Samira Ahmed.
Fifteen-year-old Jessie, a quirky loner obsessed with the nineties, is diagnosed as autistic just weeks before starting high school. Determined to make a fresh start and keep her diagnosis a secret, Jessie creates a list of goals that range from acquiring two distinct eyebrows to getting a magical first kiss and landing a spot in the school play. Within the halls of Holy Trinity High, she finds a world where things are no longer black and white and quickly learns that living in color is much more fun. But Jessie gets more than she bargained for when two very different boys steal her heart, forcing her to go off-script.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Jackie Khalilieh's book Something More was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4.24)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5 2
4 6
4.5
5 7

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 202,066,838 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä