KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Cartographers: A Novel Tekijä: Peng…
Ladataan...

The Cartographers: A Novel (vuoden 2022 painos)

Tekijä: Peng Shepherd (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
1,5926410,959 (3.46)34
From the critically acclaimed author of The Book of M, a highly imaginative thriller about a young woman who discovers that a strange map in her deceased father's belongings holds an incredible, deadly secret--one that will lead her on an extraordinary adventure and to the truth about her family's dark history. What is the purpose of a map? Nell Young's whole life and greatest passion is cartography. Her father, Dr. Daniel Young, is a legend in the field and Nell's personal hero. But she hasn't seen or spoken to him ever since he cruelly fired her and destroyed her reputation after an argument over an old, cheap gas station highway map. But when Dr. Young is found dead in his office at the New York Public Library, with the very same seemingly worthless map hidden in his desk, Nell can't resist investigating. To her surprise, she soon discovers that the map is incredibly valuable and exceedingly rare. In fact, she may now have the only copy left in existence... because a mysterious collector has been hunting down and destroying every last one--along with anyone who gets in the way. But why? To answer that question, Nell embarks on a dangerous journey to reveal a dark family secret and discovers the true power that lies in maps... Perfect for fans of Joe Hill and V. E. Schwab, The Cartographers is an ode to art and science, history and magic--a spectacularly imaginative, modern story about an ancient craft and places still undiscovered.… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:fleshed
Teoksen nimi:The Cartographers: A Novel
Kirjailijat:Peng Shepherd (Tekijä)
Info:William Morrow (2022), 397 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:-

Teostiedot

The Cartographers (tekijä: Peng Shepherd)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 34 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 64) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
An imaginative story well told; really enjoyed this read. ( )
  vscauzzo | Jan 29, 2024 |
This was really cool! It was a good mystery, and I enjoyed the bits of cartography I learned (the idea of phantom settlements is intriguing).

However, the audiobook was set up strangely (in my opinion). Multiple narrators are listed, but most of the book is read by one woman. The other readers only read when a character gives a long backstory/monologue about themselves. Do not assume (as I did) that this is completely dramatized. No offense to the readers, they all did a good job. ( )
  Dances_with_Words | Jan 6, 2024 |
I sort of have conflicting feelings on this book. I think I went into this book expecting a urban fantsay with a dash of mystery thriller. What I got was mystery thriller with some science ficiton elements. So my expections did not meet the book. I really loved the main character in this read and the twists and turns of the story. I also liked how this story was mostly set in the new york public libary. I howevr found the numerous narrarors voices had to idenify who was was. It also alot of story telling and that i struggled with. It was quick read, but at the end minus the main character it was hard to care about anyone!! ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
I sort of have conflicting feelings on this book. I think I went into this book expecting a urban fantsay with a dash of mystery thriller. What I got was mystery thriller with some science ficiton elements. So my expections did not meet the book. I really loved the main character in this read and the twists and turns of the story. I also liked how this story was mostly set in the new york public libary. I howevr found the numerous narrarors voices had to idenify who was was. It also alot of story telling and that i struggled with. It was quick read, but at the end minus the main character it was hard to care about anyone!! ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
Imaginative and fast-paced fantasy, but there were just a few questions that I wanted answered. ( )
  bookwyrmm | Dec 27, 2023 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 64) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

» Lisää muita tekijöitä (4 mahdollista)

Tekijän nimiRooliTekijän tyyppiKoskeeko teosta?Tila
Peng Shepherdensisijainen tekijäkaikki painoksetlaskettu
Butler, RonKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Chilton, KarenKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Culp, JasonKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Hellegers, NeilKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Pressley, BrittanyKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Woo Zeller, EmilyKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Wu, NancyKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
In the dim light of her desk's single bulb lamp, the map nearly glowed.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

From the critically acclaimed author of The Book of M, a highly imaginative thriller about a young woman who discovers that a strange map in her deceased father's belongings holds an incredible, deadly secret--one that will lead her on an extraordinary adventure and to the truth about her family's dark history. What is the purpose of a map? Nell Young's whole life and greatest passion is cartography. Her father, Dr. Daniel Young, is a legend in the field and Nell's personal hero. But she hasn't seen or spoken to him ever since he cruelly fired her and destroyed her reputation after an argument over an old, cheap gas station highway map. But when Dr. Young is found dead in his office at the New York Public Library, with the very same seemingly worthless map hidden in his desk, Nell can't resist investigating. To her surprise, she soon discovers that the map is incredibly valuable and exceedingly rare. In fact, she may now have the only copy left in existence... because a mysterious collector has been hunting down and destroying every last one--along with anyone who gets in the way. But why? To answer that question, Nell embarks on a dangerous journey to reveal a dark family secret and discovers the true power that lies in maps... Perfect for fans of Joe Hill and V. E. Schwab, The Cartographers is an ode to art and science, history and magic--a spectacularly imaginative, modern story about an ancient craft and places still undiscovered.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.46)
0.5 1
1 5
1.5 2
2 39
2.5 13
3 81
3.5 38
4 95
4.5 16
5 37

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 201,573,684 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä