KotiRyhmätKeskusteluTutkiAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

How Lucky: A Novel – tekijä: Will Leitch
Ladataan...

How Lucky: A Novel (vuoden 2021 painos)

– tekijä: Will Leitch (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioKeskustelut
1827119,317 (4.02)-
Jäsen:sdonne01
Teoksen nimi:How Lucky: A Novel
Kirjailijat:Will Leitch (Tekijä)
Info:Harper (2021), 298 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:-

Teostiedot

How Lucky (tekijä: Will Leitch)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 7) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
An incredible inspiring book! Not to be missed! ( )
  Dianekeenoy | Nov 21, 2021 |
Sweet book. Sad but with a nice message. Nice characters ( )
  shazjhb | Nov 3, 2021 |
Totally unexpected. I picked this book up as the cover review said, "funny." I figured it would be a nice change from so many that are intensely sad. Parts made me smile with other sections being totally serious about a disease which can overwhelm and consume someone's life.

Daniel is 26 years old living in Athens, Georgia and was diagnosed as a young toddler with Type 2 Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA). His entire life span is expected to be short and everyday he knows that death is around the corner if his body doesn't adjust with specific requirements. He is surrounded by care takers paid for by Medicare.

He notices people on his neighborhood street more than most. He watches a girl that looks familiar get into a car. She looks nervous. He wonders if she has been kidnapped. Then he sees a news report of a missing girl and he wants to help. The story is full of twist and turns with his health and trying to contact the police which isn't easy as he has to use a machine to assist him with speaking. It's a wild ride until the end.

The author touched on real life events from other people with disabilities making the story believable. The words flowed smoothly with some humor mixed in making it a book that I finished in a day. There was one chapter without words that caught me by surprise: 25. I wonder if that was intentional.

Nevertheless, it was one of my favorites this year with some of the things Daniel said. "I have loved and I have been loved." Yes, that's what we all want. ( )
  Jacsun | Oct 5, 2021 |
Quirky and fun, Will Leitch has crafted a tale with an engaging plot and a wonderful narrator whose voice is inspiring and authentic, Daniel's endless optimism, resilience, and perspective on life simply brightened my day.

This book was a little bit of everything - it was both heartwarming and witty as well as suspenseful.

The story had great character development. Daniel is remarkable, and I read the story half holding my breath. Even though I knew where Daniel's actions would lead him, Leitch STILL had me on the end of my seat. Daniel's caretaker Marjani and his best friend Travis are both devoted to him and really well drawn and delightful in their own ways.

If I had any regrets, is that the book ended exactly where it did. I wasn't ready for it to end, and I wanted to know what came next for Daniel.

I went into this one a little blind, and I was delighted through and through. Fans of Fredrik Bachman and Richard Russo will love this book. This one is a favorite for the year so far! ( )
  jenncaffeinated | Jul 4, 2021 |
I really like the simple unassuming cover of Will Leitch's new novel How Lucky. But the real reason I picked it up was Stephen King's blurb - "A fantastic novel. . . . You are going to like this a lot." And yes, I really, really did!

Daniel lives in Athens, Georgia, works for an airline answering customer issues online, goes to football games on the weekend and hangs out with his best friend Travis. One morning while out on his porch, he sees what he thinks is a kidnapping of a student who walks by daily. But did he? She seemed to get in willingly. But then Ai-Chin is reported as missing. Daniel attempts to let the police know about what he's seen, but....

And a lot of that but has to do with the fact that Daniel has a degenerative physical disability - SMA - Spinal Muscular Atrophy. The police officer sent to talk to him, can't seem to see beyond the wheelchair. Daniel's concerns and information are blithely explained and written off.

What a fabulous lead character! I loved Daniel's voice, his sense of humor and his refusal to define himself with his condition. The supporting cast is just as great - everyone needs friends like Travis and Marjani.

I learned so much about SMA through Daniel. The hard, cold facts but also the human emotions, attitudes, strengths and joys that Daniel embodies. He considers himself to be lucky. You'll need to have a tissue handy in more than one chapter. And maybe see your own life through his lens.

Back to Ai-Chin - she's still missing and Daniel decides to investigate online. And I'm going to leave it there.....

I chose to listen to How Lucky. With such an engaging lead character, the reader needed to be just right. I'm happy to say that Graham Halstead was the perfect choice. His voice is clear and both easy and pleasant to listen to. His voice matched the mental image I had created for Daniel. There's lots of movement in his voice, capturing Daniel's thoughts, emotions and interactions and bringing them to life. Halstead captures the overall tone of the book easily. I've said it before and I'll say it again - I find myself more drawn into a tale by listening. And that is definitely the case with How Lucky. ( )
  Twink | Jun 3, 2021 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 7) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
My life is not a thriller.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4.02)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 7
3.5 6
4 13
4.5 4
5 13

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 164,443,044 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä