KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives: A Novel…
Ladataan...

The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives: A Novel (vuoden 2021 painos)

– tekijä: Kristin Miller (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioKeskustelut
196915,634 (4.4)-
Jäsen:DzejnCrvena
Teoksen nimi:The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives: A Novel
Kirjailijat:Kristin Miller (Tekijä)
Info:Ballantine Books (2021), 288 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:to-read

Teoksen tarkat tiedot

The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives: A Novel (tekijä: Kristin Miller)

-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 6) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
Friendship, jealousy, betrayal, ulterior motives, loyalty and blackmail, a murder mystery has never been so much fun! Miller’s plot is twisted but it’s execution is light which blends together a truly entertaining mystery. The characters are flawed but real, and their personalities play off of each other as friends in real life do. Definitely a great summer read.
*I received an arc from the publisher through NetGalley for an honest review ( )
  KimMcReads | Jun 22, 2021 |
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
I received a digital edition of this book courtesy of LibraryThing Early Reviewers and the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Presidio Terrace is like a vortex, where negative energy and drama cling to the air like fog, swirling round and round our little cul-de-sacs.

Brooke Davies is the new kid on the block when she and her husband Jack move into the ultra-rich enclave of Presidio Terrance. It’s a prestigious gated community with security out the wazoo and has been permanently removed from Google Earth, such is the value residents place on their privacy. Jack is a security-conscious tech billionaire; Brooke is a writer working on her second mystery novel. She’s feeling stuck on her plot and harried by the move, but everything changes as she gets to know her neighbors.

Erin King, across the street, is a local news broadcaster married to a prominent plastic surgeon. Her best friend, and Brooke’s next door neighbor, is Georgia St. Claire, infamous around the city as the Black Widow. She’s been married twice, to fabulously wealthy men, and both husbands died under murky circumstances shortly after their marriages. Georgia’s lining up Husband #3, Robert Donnelly, and the city’s all abuzz that she’s also plotting his murder alongside their wedding.

Brooke finds herself fascinated by Georgia, and itching to turn her into a character in her next book. It’s easy to fall under Georgia’s sway, as evidenced by Erin’s fervent loyalty, but when Robert mysteriously disappears from his beloved yacht on the night of the pre-wedding celebration, it quickly becomes clear just how deep Erin and Georgia’s friendship goes, and how suddenly even the best-laid plans can go awry.

This story is straight out of a trashy prime-time soap opera, and it has the exact same appeal: it’s a train wreck, but once you start, it’s hard to stop watching. Every character is a façade, their interactions with each other shallow and calculated. The plot veers off into wacky world pretty quickly, and suspension of disbelief is a must if you want to make it all the way to the end.

The narrative is split between Brooke and Erin (with bookend chapters from Georgia at the start and finish). All narration is first-person present tense POV, and each narrator is unreliable, which makes for a fascinating read: juggling what they’re saying, what they’re doing, and trying to figure out where their warped perceptions meet reality. Brooke very obviously has daddy issues – her husband is 50, twenty-two years her senior, and she feels imprisoned in her marriage by his demand for a veneer of perfection. Erin is incredibly insecure, completely self-absorbed, and very obviously unravelling. Georgia is a master manipulator and revels in her reputation as a Black Widow. I found them all to be unbearably smug, albeit each in their own, insufferable way.

This was a roller coaster ride of a book, and I swept through it in one sitting, but it doesn’t hold up under scrutiny. I didn’t have to get too far away from the ending to see some glaringly obvious the plot holes that slick writing can’t quite paper over. The ending is unbelievable, three twists too many and completely unsupported by the preceding narrative, which was disappointing. Certain bombshells are dropped like lead balloons. It was fun trying to guess everyone’s secrets, but they were foreshadowed pretty heavily, and none of them were very surprising. This feels like familiar territory, without the benefit of variation on the theme.

In spite of the niggles, I enjoyed this book, and if you like car-crash trashy soap opera plotlines with terrible characters doing terrible things and not really receiving any comeuppance for it, then you’ll enjoy this book, too. ( )
  eurohackie | Jun 17, 2021 |
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
Kristin Miller’s The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives takes readers into a prestigious gated community in San Francisco, where what’s inside the gated community may be more dangerous than what’s outside.

Georgia St. Clair has been dubbed the Black Widow after two of her husbands mysteriously died early in their marriage. Erin is the president of the homeowners association and will levy a fine against anyone who leaves their garage door open longer than five minutes. Brooke is the mistress turned bride buying the house next door to Georgia, a mystery writer battling a deadline. With Georgia’s third wedding around the corner, everyone is wondering- will the Black Widow strike again?

But inside these expansive homes where every throw pillow is an artful decision and every piece of art has an obscene price tag that’s secretly bragged about, things are not always as they seem.

Erin fears her beloved husband may be cheating, and is tired of enduring sexism at her job as a news anchor.

Brooke’s relationship isn’t what she thought it would be.

And Georgia? Well, Georgia can play anyone, manipulating them in the palm of her hand as easy as pie. Is she as happy as she seems with her latest fiancé, or is he a pawn in her master plan?

As the lives of these three women intersect, no one will be left unchanged.

I’m not normally one for suspense. I’m a total and complete scaredy cat, and I wear that badge proudly. But I absolutely love solving mysteries, and those two sides of myself are often in conflict. Trophy Wives struck just the right balance of suspenseful and whodunit, giving me secondhand adrenaline and being completely un-put-down-able without inducing nightmares in my over-thinking brain.

This twisty plot is so fun to untangle. It’ll be perfect for armchair detectives, and the breezy San Francisco setting makes it a fun beach read. Danger in the gated community is always intriguing, examining just how safe we can feel– and how money can’t quite buy security.

The three main characters are interesting and picking apart their motives and actions will leave you thinking about this book long after you close the cover. All three have a unique voice, making their first person narration believable and easy to follow. They’re presented frankly, warts and all, and at times they’re utterly unlikable. Despite or because of this, tearing your eyes away from their story is nearly impossible.

This twisty, suspenseful book is perfect for fans of Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty and Never Have I Ever by Joshilyn Jackson.

The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives will be available July 20, 2021.

Thank you to LibraryThing, Random House, Ballantine Books, and NetGalley for this advanced copy so I could write my honest review! ( )
  PawPrintsInTheSink | May 13, 2021 |
Tämä arvostelu kirjoitettiin LibraryThingin Varhaisia arvostelijoita varten.
A well written novel that keeps you turning the pages! You just don’t know who to trust in this dark tale. It read a bit like the Desperate Housewives series, minus the humor. I enjoyed the unexpected twists in the plot. Well done! ( )
  LizBurkhart | Apr 9, 2021 |
This book sucked me in right from the very first page and kept me rapt until the final very twisted twist! I love books where you don't see something huge coming. Where you don't figure who-dun-it or why they did it. Well, that's what I got with this book.

When you read this line in the book's description, "Meet the trophy wives of Presidio Terrace, San Francisco’s most exclusive—and most deadly—neighborhood in this shrewd, darkly compelling novel..." just know that it is totally true!

This was the most twisted, spellbinding novel I have read in ages and will be the perfect read for the beach or beside the county club pool.

A quick note -the book's description doesn't tell you all of what you need to know about it, and that is an excellent thing. Just trust me when I say you just have to read this book.

I will be recommending it to everyone I know who loves mysteries, glamour, and evil @itches!

@ARC supplied by the publisher, the author, and NetGalley. Thank you. ( )
  Cats57 | Apr 8, 2021 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 6) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Canonical DDC/MDS

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

No library descriptions found.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Kristin Miller's book The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Pikalinkit

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4.4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 1
4.5
5 3

GenreThing

Ei lajityyppiä

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 159,162,986 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä