KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

For the Wolf – tekijä: Hannah Whitten
Ladataan...

For the Wolf (vuoden 2021 painos)

– tekijä: Hannah Whitten (Tekijä)

Sarjat: The Wilderwood (1)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
2005106,427 (4.05)1
Jäsen:jenniferannwoods
Teoksen nimi:For the Wolf
Kirjailijat:Hannah Whitten (Tekijä)
Info:Orbit (2021), 480 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:-

Teoksen tarkat tiedot

For the Wolf (tekijä: Hannah Whitten)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 1 maininta

näyttää 5/5
lgpb
  5083mitzi | Jul 1, 2021 |
I enjoyed this book quite a bit! I jumped at the chance to read this book since it sounded like something that I would like. As soon as I started reading, I was hooked and looked forward to picking up the book every chance I could. I found the story to be unique and interesting while the characters were very likable. I had a great time reading this story.

I will say that I went into this book expecting a Little Red Riding Hood retelling but I found this story to be closer to Beauty and the Beast, or maybe a combination of both. Red has always known that she is to be a sacrifice to the Wolf since she is the Second Daughter while her sister, Neve, is destined to inherit the throne. Those close to Red encourage her to run but she decides to go into the Wilderwood as expected of her. The Wolf is not what she expected him to be and she finds that she has a lot to learn.

I really liked Red. She has lived knowing that her life is to be cut short when she is given to the Wolf. When she reaches the Wolf, she is somewhat lost and isn’t quite sure what her role there is. Eammon, the Wolf, was anything but fierce. He has been thrown into his role just as Red has. He works hard to keep the woods safe and to keep Red safe. I thought that they made a great pair. I also really liked seeing how things were going in the city with Neve. Everything came together to a rather exciting finale.

I would recommend this book to others. I really enjoyed the story and found the world-building to be very well done. I cannot wait to read the next book in this exciting series!

I received a digital review copy of this book from Orbit Books via NetGalley. ( )
  Carolesrandomlife | Jun 28, 2021 |
This YA fantasy adventure/romance plays off of expectations set by Little Red Riding Hood, with a lot of additional support from Beauty and the Beast. Refreshingly, it throws away the most grating aspects of that trope—the romantic hero here isn't gruff or thoughtless, doesn't coerce our heroine's magically-imposed presence, and in fact, out of concern for her, attempts to immediately send her home. What a delightful twist—and how weird to realize that a considerate love interest seems like a twist! The absorbing magical romance plays out against a backdrop of religious fervor and political machinations, and the whole thing is much cooler and more layered than I was expecting. I'm not even mad about having to wait for a sequel! ( )
  bibliovermis | Jun 8, 2021 |
What a bloody fantastic tale!

For the Wolf is a deliciously dark mix of Red Riding Hood, Beauty and the Beast, and just a sprinkling of Snow White. It's atmospheric and set up in such a way that readers get both Neve's and Red's views as the story progresses, giving the world more depth.

This is definitely a slow burn romance...like, agonizingly slow, but I was drawn into the relationship between Red and Wolf so much more because of the pacing. Watching them grow and learn with each other felt more organic and it was a refreshing change than the typical insta-love I'm seeing lately. And, my heartstrings definitely got tugged on there toward the end! (I might've shed just a few tears...)

I greatly appreciate how Hannah Whitten finished the book and I am very much looking forward to the next one! I highly recommend picking up this unique, dark fairytale.

Huge thank you to Orbit Books via NetGalley for the e-ARC to read and honestly review. I thoroughly enjoyed this one. ( )
  Lea.Pearl | May 18, 2021 |
For the Wolf was simply amazing. I loved this book and I am dying that I have to wait for the next one in the series!
The writing was excellent and the world building was magical and and original. This story was simply amazing. I've never read a story like this, completely original.
As the Second Daughter, Red has always been destined to go to the wolf when it was time. Her twin sister Neve, the firstborn will someday be queen.
When Red enters the Wildwoods to find the wolf, what she finds instead will surprise her and open a world she never could have expected.
I would say that this would be a good book for fans of Naomi Novik's Uprooted and Spinning Silver books. Highly recommend! ( )
  Verkruissen | Jan 4, 2021 |
näyttää 5/5
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

» Lisää muita tekijöitä

Tekijän nimiRooliTekijän tyyppiKoskeeko teosta?Tila
Hannah Whittenensisijainen tekijäkaikki painoksetlaskettu
Castillo, Inés delKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu

Kuuluu näihin sarjoihin

Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
To those who hold anger too deep to extricate, to those who feel too knife-edged to hold something soft, to those who are tired of holding up worlds.
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Two nights before she was sent to the wolf, Red wore a dress the color of blood.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kirjan kehujat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4.05)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 4
3.5 2
4 6
4.5 2
5 5

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 162,437,764 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä