KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Furia Tekijä: Yamile Saied Méndez
Ladataan...

Furia (vuoden 2020 painos)

Tekijä: Yamile Saied Méndez

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
4262660,112 (4.22)1
Romance. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK
Recipient of the 2021 Pura Belpr Young Adult Author Medal
One of BuzzFeed's Must-Read YA Books of 2020
A Best Book of the Year: Cosmopolitan Kirkus Reviews * SheReads * New York Public Library 

An engrossing #OwnVoices novel.
PopSugar
This book will set your dreams on fire . . . Its fabulous. 
 Reese Witherspoon
A powerful contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the lineeven her blooming love storyto follow her dreams.
In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life. 
 
At home, she is a careful daughter, living within her mothers narrow expectations, in her rising-soccer-star brothers shadow, and under the abusive rule of her short-tempered father. 
 
On the field, she is La Furia, a powerhouse of skill and talent. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, Camila gets the chance to see just how far those talents can take her. In her wildest dreams, shed get an athletic scholarship to a North American university.
 
But the path ahead isnt easy. Her parents dont know about her passion. They wouldnt allow a girl to play ftboland she needs their permission to go any farther. And the boy she once loved is back in town. Since he left, Diego has become an international star, playing in Italy for the renowned team Juventus. Camila doesnt have time to be distracted by her feelings for him. Things arent the same as when he left: she has her own passions and ambitions now, and La Furia cannot be denied. As her life becomes more complicated, Camila is forced to face her secrets and make her way in a world with no place for the dreams and ambition of a girl like her.
 
Filled with authentic details and the textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring romance, and breathless action on the pitch, Furia is the story of a girls journey to make her life her own.
 .
… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:Susz13
Teoksen nimi:Furia
Kirjailijat:Yamile Saied Méndez
Info:Algonquin Young Readers, Hardcover, 350 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:to-read, contemporary

Teostiedot

Furia (tekijä: Yamile Saied Méndez)

-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 1 maininta

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 26) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
I finished in tears—I truly loved this !!

Méndez organically weaves both the tender, intimate moments of first love with the heavier, complex issues throughout 'Furia.' This is most notable in the keen insights into the sociocultural scripts and performance(s) of gender identity as it relates to the construct of machismo. Machismo's depicted from a nuanced lens within 'Furia.' Here, both positive and negative attributes and impacts of machismo are present—(at times, even coincidingly). This bifurcated framework allows the intended YA audience to have a more flexible understanding of masculinity by including positive traits. YA readers, then, are afforded a deeper dive into the intersectional factors of one's identity. ( )
  junifyr | Jun 24, 2024 |
I finished in tears—I truly loved this !!

Méndez organically weaves both the tender, intimate moments of first love with the heavier, complex issues throughout 'Furia.' This is most notable in the keen insights into the sociocultural scripts and performance(s) of gender identity as it relates to the construct of machismo. Machismo's depicted from a nuanced lens within 'Furia.' Here, both positive and negative attributes and impacts of machismo are present—(at times, even coincidingly). This bifurcated framework allows the intended YA audience to have a more flexible understanding of masculinity by including positive traits. YA readers, then, are afforded a deeper dive into the intersectional factors of one's identity. ( )
  junifyr | Jun 24, 2024 |
I finished in tears—I truly loved this !!

Méndez organically weaves both the tender, intimate moments of first love with the heavier, complex issues throughout 'Furia.' This is most notable in the keen insights into the sociocultural scripts and performance(s) of gender identity as it relates to the construct of machismo. Machismo's depicted from a nuanced lens within 'Furia.' Here, both positive and negative attributes and impacts of machismo are present—(at times, even coincidingly). This bifurcated framework allows the intended YA audience to have a more flexible understanding of masculinity by including positive traits. YA readers, then, are afforded a deeper dive into the intersectional factors of one's identity. ( )
  junifyr | Jun 24, 2024 |
I finished in tears—I truly loved this !!

Méndez organically weaves both the tender, intimate moments of first love with the heavier, complex issues throughout 'Furia.' This is most notable in the keen insights into the sociocultural scripts and performance(s) of gender identity as it relates to the construct of machismo. Machismo's depicted from a nuanced lens within 'Furia.' Here, both positive and negative attributes and impacts of machismo are present—(at times, even coincidingly). This bifurcated framework allows the intended YA audience to have a more flexible understanding of masculinity by including positive traits. YA readers, then, are afforded a deeper dive into the intersectional factors of one's identity. ( )
  junifyr | Jun 24, 2024 |
#ReadAroundTheWorld #Argentina

This is a YA novel about soccer, family and love by Argentinian author Yamile Saied Méndez. Camila Hassan is a 17 year old living with her strict family in Rosario, Argentina and sneaking out to secretly play on a women’s soccer team without her parent’s approval.

Keeping this secret is a pressure on Camila, but she cannot give up the exhilaration she feels when she plays her beloved fútbol and becomes the talented and passionate La Furia. She has to negotiate the high standards and expectations set by her mother, the difficulty of living in her footballer brother Pablo’s shadow, and the toxic masochistic behaviour of her father. Lastly there is another big secret she carries, a deep feeling towards an old friend and now famous footballer Diego, currently playing for Juventus in Italy. Will he still feel the same towards her despite his fame and success? And will she be able to achieve her own dream of playing fútbol with all the obstacles she faces?

This was an enjoyable story that gives insight into the culture of Argentina, particularly that involving fútbol. The romance is sweet. The most unsettling part of the story is the behaviour and attitudes of her father. The fact that Camila needs to put a lock and chain on her bedroom door to give herself a sense of safety speaks volumes. This is a fairly simple story but does speak to young women about having the courage to stand up for yourself, for other women, and to pursue your goals even in the fact of opposition and sexism. ( )
  mimbza | May 8, 2024 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 26) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

Palkinnot

Distinctions

Notable Lists

Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät paikat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
But a mermaid has no tears, and
therefore she suffers so much more.
—Hans Christian Andersen,
"The Little Mermaid"
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
For my daughters, Magalí and Areli,
For my sister, María Belén Saied,
For the little girl I once was,
For all las Incorregibles and las Furias of the world.
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Lies have short legs.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Romance. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK
Recipient of the 2021 Pura Belpr Young Adult Author Medal
One of BuzzFeed's Must-Read YA Books of 2020
A Best Book of the Year: Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * SheReads * New York Public Library 

An engrossing #OwnVoices novel.
PopSugar
This book will set your dreams on fire . . . Its fabulous. 
 Reese Witherspoon
A powerful contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the lineeven her blooming love storyto follow her dreams.
In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life. 
 
At home, she is a careful daughter, living within her mothers narrow expectations, in her rising-soccer-star brothers shadow, and under the abusive rule of her short-tempered father. 
 
On the field, she is La Furia, a powerhouse of skill and talent. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, Camila gets the chance to see just how far those talents can take her. In her wildest dreams, shed get an athletic scholarship to a North American university.
 
But the path ahead isnt easy. Her parents dont know about her passion. They wouldnt allow a girl to play ftboland she needs their permission to go any farther. And the boy she once loved is back in town. Since he left, Diego has become an international star, playing in Italy for the renowned team Juventus. Camila doesnt have time to be distracted by her feelings for him. Things arent the same as when he left: she has her own passions and ambitions now, and La Furia cannot be denied. As her life becomes more complicated, Camila is forced to face her secrets and make her way in a world with no place for the dreams and ambition of a girl like her.
 
Filled with authentic details and the textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring romance, and breathless action on the pitch, Furia is the story of a girls journey to make her life her own.
 .

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4.22)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 6
3.5 6
4 22
4.5 4
5 20

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 208,393,912 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä