KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Ladataan...

The Guest List (2020)

– tekijä: Lucy Foley

Muut tekijät: Katso muut tekijät -osio.

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
1,8441047,027 (3.61)64
"I loved this book. It gave me the same waves of happiness I get from curling up with a classic Christie...The alternating points of view keep you guessing, and guessing wrong." -- Alex Michaelides, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient A wedding celebration turns dark and deadly in this deliciously wicked and atmospheric thriller reminiscent of Agatha Christie from the author of The Hunting Party. The bride ? The plus one ? The best man ? The wedding planner  ? The bridesmaid ? The body On an island off the coast of Ireland, guests gather to celebrate two people joining their lives together as one. The groom: handsome and charming, a rising television star. The bride: smart and ambitious, a magazine publisher. It's a wedding for a magazine, or for a celebrity: the designer dress, the remote location, the luxe party favors, the boutique whiskey. The cell phone service may be spotty and the waves may be rough, but every detail has been expertly planned and will be expertly executed. But perfection is for plans, and people are all too human. As the champagne is popped and the festivities begin, resentments and petty jealousies begin to mingle with the reminiscences and well wishes. The groomsmen begin the drinking game from their school days. The bridesmaid not-so-accidentally ruins her dress. The bride's oldest (male) friend gives an uncomfortably caring toast. And then someone turns up dead. Who didn't wish the happy couple well? And perhaps more important, why?… (lisätietoja)
Viimeisimmät tallentajatallbookedup, illie, booked_ambivert, Loverofbooks22, sheryllayne48, yksityinen kirjasto, bookwyrmqueen, PNWGirl, Fehime
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 64 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 103) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
I greatly enjoyed trying to guess the ending, especially with all of the whodunnit-style clues. None of the characters are especially likeable, but as the pages turned, I began to feel sympathy towards some more than others, which is a pretty crafty writing capability.

The reason I didn't give this a higher rating? I'm a little perturbed by some of the plot inconsistencies and holes that the reader is left with in the end. (I'm not going to get into spoilers or anything, especially since so many others have spent time writing up their grievances, but 3 of the biggest issues to me were: the wet suit, the empty grave, and Pete.) Also, I would have preferred a tidier ending with more justice being served, but that's a personal preference.

All in all, it's a decent book with well-timed plot twists - just don't be surprised if you're left with a few questions at the end. ( )
  bookwyrmqueen | Oct 25, 2021 |
3.5 stars. This was kinda slow in the beginning but I think necessary to build up the characters. Once the first connection was made (which was the one twist I didn’t predict) it picked up and the last quarter of the book was a great roller coaster ride. I did predict most of the twists but still an enjoyable read. ( )
  slittleson | Oct 24, 2021 |
The Guest List by Lucy Foley provided hours of enjoyment. Lucy Foley presented each character by having that character explain the events, almost like The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner, but not as intense. The story begins with the wedding preparations for a wedding on an island off the coast of Ireland. Will Slater, an actor and Julia (Jules) Keegan, a magazine publisher, will marry in a splendid wedding, but Fate sneaks into this festival. Many members of the wedding voice their opinions of the couple and the events and the past. Two young girls have fallen under the spell of a devilish Don Juan and suffered the consequences. A mystery begins immediately as the wedding celebration surrenders to the darkening and windy night and a young waitress screams of foul play and everyone starts to search for the mystery. The short chapters quickly progressed the reading, as I could hardly wait to discover who was dead. A real page turner that makes you think about what you know about anyone. ( )
  delphimo | Oct 9, 2021 |
I really enjoyed this book. (Spoiler alert) the charming and handsome groom turned out to be a narcissistic back stabber to get to where he wants to be. It does not matter who he hurt and destroyed along the way. The bride – The plus one – The best man – The wedding planner – The bridesmaid all has reason to hate the groom, but who done the deed at the end will surprise you. The setting is perfect and has the same vibe as "Big little lies". ( )
  Baochuan | Sep 13, 2021 |
Lots of suspense and setting is perfect for a murder mystery but what I enjoyed most was watching a perfectly planned wedding slowly fall to pieces. Elope or close the bar early, folks. ( )
  sblock | Aug 20, 2021 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 103) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
Foley...outdoes herself again with this page-turning thriller; it's like experiencing Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express and And Then There Were None rolled into one ... The island and the ancient folly where the wedding party stays are themselves characters, adding to the feeling of almost supernatural mystery and the unease that something is lurking in the shadows and getting ready to strike ... Only a handful of thriller writers can accomplish what Foley does here: weave a complex plot from the perspectives of eight characters plus an omniscient narrator without causing confusion or reader exhaustion when the plot bounces from one person to the next. Fans of Christie, Louise Penny, and Ruth Rendell will absolutely love this book, which doesn't reveal its secrets until the very last page.
lisäsi Lemeritus | muokkaaLibrary Journal, Adriana Delgado (maksullinen sivusto) (May 1, 2020)
 
Foley defers disclosing the murder victim’s identity until quite late, but she undercuts the suspense with obvious indications of who it is. The tension of the setup isn’t quite matched by the reveals, though the nicely creepy setting compensates somewhat. Readers seeking thrills will find plenty.
lisäsi Lemeritus | muokkaaPublisher's Weekly (Mar 12, 2020)
 

» Lisää muita tekijöitä

Tekijän nimiRooliTekijän tyyppiKoskeeko teosta?Tila
Lucy Foleyensisijainen tekijäkaikki painoksetlaskettu
Davies, JotKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu

Sisältyy tähän:

Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät paikat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
For Kate and Robbie, the most supportive siblings a girl could hope for . . . luckily nothing like the ones in this book!
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
The lights go out.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
(Napsauta nähdäksesi. Varoitus: voi sisältää juonipaljastuksia)
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kirjan kehujat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

"I loved this book. It gave me the same waves of happiness I get from curling up with a classic Christie...The alternating points of view keep you guessing, and guessing wrong." -- Alex Michaelides, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient A wedding celebration turns dark and deadly in this deliciously wicked and atmospheric thriller reminiscent of Agatha Christie from the author of The Hunting Party. The bride ? The plus one ? The best man ? The wedding planner  ? The bridesmaid ? The body On an island off the coast of Ireland, guests gather to celebrate two people joining their lives together as one. The groom: handsome and charming, a rising television star. The bride: smart and ambitious, a magazine publisher. It's a wedding for a magazine, or for a celebrity: the designer dress, the remote location, the luxe party favors, the boutique whiskey. The cell phone service may be spotty and the waves may be rough, but every detail has been expertly planned and will be expertly executed. But perfection is for plans, and people are all too human. As the champagne is popped and the festivities begin, resentments and petty jealousies begin to mingle with the reminiscences and well wishes. The groomsmen begin the drinking game from their school days. The bridesmaid not-so-accidentally ruins her dress. The bride's oldest (male) friend gives an uncomfortably caring toast. And then someone turns up dead. Who didn't wish the happy couple well? And perhaps more important, why?

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.61)
0.5 1
1 13
1.5 1
2 24
2.5 17
3 140
3.5 84
4 210
4.5 21
5 67

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 163,431,333 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä