KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

City Spies Tekijä: James Ponti
Ladataan...

City Spies (vuoden 2021 painos)

Tekijä: James Ponti (Tekijä)

Sarjat: City Spies (1)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
4351457,406 (4.03)1
Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. Mystery. Suspense. HTML:A New York Times bestseller!
A GMA3 Summer Reading Squad Selection!
"Ingeniously plotted, and a grin-inducing delight." ??People
"Will keep young readers glued to the page...So when do I get the sequel?" ??Beth McMullen, author of Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls

In this thrilling new series that Stuart Gibbs called "a must-read," Edgar Award winner James Ponti brings together five kids from all over the world and transforms them into real-life spies??perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls.

Sara Martinez is a hacker. She recently broke into the New York City foster care system to expose her foster parents as cheats and lawbreakers. However, instead of being hailed as a hero, Sara finds herself facing years in a juvenile detention facility and banned from using computers for the same stretch of time. Enter Mother, a British spy who not only gets Sara released from jail but also offers her a chance to make a home for herself within a secret MI6 agency.

Operating out of a base in Scotland, the City Spies are five kids from various parts of the world. When they're not attending the local boarding school, they're honing their unique skills, such as sleight of hand, breaking and entering, observation, and explosives. All of these allow them to go places in the world of espionage where adults can't.

Before she knows what she's doing, Sara is heading to Paris for an international youth summit, hacking into a rival school's computer to prevent them from winning a million euros, dangling thirty feet off the side of a building, and trying to stop a villain...all while navigating the complex dynamics of her new team.

No one said saving the world wa
… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:uplifthampton
Teoksen nimi:City Spies
Kirjailijat:James Ponti (Tekijä)
Info:Aladdin (2021), Edition: Reprint, 400 pages
Kokoelmat:Hispanic-American Experiences
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:-

Teostiedot

City Spies (tekijä: James Ponti)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 1 maininta

englanti (13)  espanja (1)  Kaikki kielet (14)
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 14) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
MI-6 has a team of spies so secret that only a few members of the agency are aware of their existence. Five kids from around the world train and work out of a clandestine location in the north of Scotland under the supervision of “Mother” and “Monty”. In City Spies, author James Ponti introduces the reader to five unique kids from around the globe who bring unique talents and backgrounds to the team.
The story opens with Sara (aka. Brooklyn) -- a hacker rescued by “Mother” from juvie -- joining Paris, Sydney, Kat, and Rio to work undercover at youth climate conference and science competition. Their goal is to stop a potential eco-terrorist and keep another team of kids from wining the one million Euro prize. As Brooklyn learns about the mission and is introduced to her teammates, she realizes that her hacking talents aren’t going to be enough for this mission. She needs to get in spy shape to scale buildings, learn slight of hand, solve the puzzles surrounding a recluse tech mogul and a crime syndicate, all the while navigating the dynamics of the spy team. While Brooklyn be up for a mission in Paris in three weeks? “Mother” calls her a natural, but are her natural spy skills going to be enough?
This is my first book written by Ponti. A former screenwriter, Ponti packs this book with lots of action. There is some character development through flashbacks but most of the book focuses on the team of kid spies solving the problems that seems to confront them as every turn during their mission. My initial reaction is that it has elements of Harry Potter and Mission Impossible.
( )
  AnnesLibrary | Jan 28, 2024 |
Good book. ( )
  PKolb | Sep 10, 2023 |
Brooklyn has just been removed from another bad foster situation. Her strong sense of justice and action to make things right through hacking has gotten her into trouble, again. When Mother comes to get her out of juvenile detention and take her to a boarding school in Scotland, her whole life is upended. She's been recruited for a team of MI6 teens who are about to go on mission.
An action-adventure read which finds the kids in Paris at an international youth summit trying to stop a possible attack. Each of the kids has a set of skills and the team grows and learns from each other throughout. Has a bit of a Charlie Thorne vibe too.
Fun read. ( )
  ewyatt | May 13, 2023 |
Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.
  fernandie | Sep 15, 2022 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 14) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

Kuuluu näihin sarjoihin

Palkinnot

Notable Lists

Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. Mystery. Suspense. HTML:A New York Times bestseller!
A GMA3 Summer Reading Squad Selection!
"Ingeniously plotted, and a grin-inducing delight." ??People
"Will keep young readers glued to the page...So when do I get the sequel?" ??Beth McMullen, author of Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls

In this thrilling new series that Stuart Gibbs called "a must-read," Edgar Award winner James Ponti brings together five kids from all over the world and transforms them into real-life spies??perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls.

Sara Martinez is a hacker. She recently broke into the New York City foster care system to expose her foster parents as cheats and lawbreakers. However, instead of being hailed as a hero, Sara finds herself facing years in a juvenile detention facility and banned from using computers for the same stretch of time. Enter Mother, a British spy who not only gets Sara released from jail but also offers her a chance to make a home for herself within a secret MI6 agency.

Operating out of a base in Scotland, the City Spies are five kids from various parts of the world. When they're not attending the local boarding school, they're honing their unique skills, such as sleight of hand, breaking and entering, observation, and explosives. All of these allow them to go places in the world of espionage where adults can't.

Before she knows what she's doing, Sara is heading to Paris for an international youth summit, hacking into a rival school's computer to prevent them from winning a million euros, dangling thirty feet off the side of a building, and trying to stop a villain...all while navigating the complex dynamics of her new team.

No one said saving the world wa

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4.03)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 12
3.5 1
4 21
4.5
5 14

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 204,612,748 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä