KotiRyhmätKeskusteluTutkiAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

When We Were Vikings – tekijä: Andrew…
Ladataan...

When We Were Vikings (vuoden 2020 painos)

– tekijä: Andrew David MacDonald (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
3012868,910 (4)17
Indie Next Pick for February 2020 Book of the Month January 2020 LibraryReads January 2020 Pick Bookreporter New Release Spotlight New York Post "Best Books of the Week" Goodreads "January's Most Anticipated New Books" The Saturday Evening Post "10 Books for the New Year" PopSugar "The 18 Best New Books Coming Out in January 2020" Book Riot Best Winter New Releases A heart-swelling debut for fans of The Silver Linings Playbook and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Sometimes life isn't as simple as heroes and villains. For Zelda, a twenty-one-year-old Viking enthusiast who lives with her older brother, Gert, life is best lived with some basic rules: 1. A smile means "thank you for doing something small that I liked." 2. Fist bumps and dabs = respect. 3. Strange people are not appreciated in her home. 4. Tomatoes must go in the middle of the sandwich and not get the bread wet. 5. Sometimes the most important things don't fit on lists. But when Zelda finds out that Gert has resorted to some questionable--and dangerous--methods to make enough money to keep them afloat, Zelda decides to launch her own quest. Her mission: to be legendary. It isn't long before Zelda finds herself in a battle that tests the reach of her heroism, her love for her brother, and the depth of her Viking strength. When We Were Vikings is an uplifting debut about an unlikely heroine whose journey will leave you wanting to embark on a quest of your own, because after all... We are all legends of our own making.… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:CatherineAlane
Teoksen nimi:When We Were Vikings
Kirjailijat:Andrew David MacDonald (Tekijä)
Info:Gallery/Scout Press (2020), 336 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:Fiction, BOTM, Adult, Literary/Magical/Romance

Teostiedot

When We Were Vikings (tekijä: Andrew David MacDonald)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 17 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 28) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
I loved this book! It’s actually 4 1/2 stars I took off 1/2 a star because of the sexual assault. Like I get it, Toucan is a bad guy, but did we have to get details, did it have to even happen. We knew he was bad without that scene. I couldn't get emotional at the ending because my brain was still dealing with that. ( )
  theEmmers | Nov 24, 2021 |
Charming book about a girl living with her brother. She has fetal alcohol syndrome but her brother does not. This is a coming of age story revolving around her and her brother Gert. They have had a difficult life with abuse and adiction. ( )
  janismack | Sep 27, 2021 |
When We Were Vikings is about Zelda, a high functioning 21 year old diagnosed with fetal alcohol syndrome, who is a Viking enthusiast trying to figure out her life quest. Zelda lives with her brother Gert after both of their parents died when they were young. Gert and his on again/off again girlfriend Annie, whom Zelda calls AK47, make up Zelda's main tribe. Together, they try to figure out their legacies.

Andrew David MacDonald delivered an amazing story. I absolutely adored the character of Zelda. The way she loved Vikings and applied the Viking culture to make it through life's difficulties was endearing. I loved Zelda and I just wanted her to succeed. Her blunt, unembellished language was easy to read and refreshing. Whether it's telling off thugs or talking about sex and periods, Zelda says what she thinks.

Her brother Gert also tried to figure out how to not only live his life and figure the world out, but also tried to help Zelda figure hers out. He attempted to work with the cards he'd been dealt, but in all honesty, he seemed to constantly grab from the pile ones that just made life harder - he was always making messes that others were cleaning up after, even Zelda herself. I just wanted to sit him down and tell him to get it together and keep it together.

This book had a lot of concepts in it that worked for me. The characters are both quirky and realistic. It's endearing and heartwarming; it's full of love and hate. Some portions of the book made me laugh out loud while others made me want to slam the book shut out of frustration. It had some light themes but also some pretty dark themes. When We Were Vikings earned a spot on my Recommended Fiction List.

"...The point is you're willing to give it a try. That's what makes someone a legend." ( )
  oldandnewbooksmell | Sep 24, 2021 |
i really, really liked this. and i say that even though it went in unexpected (and not wholly satisfying) directions. the voice of zelda was just so powerful and well done, and so is her desire to "be legendary" and write her own story.

the weaving in of viking history and lore works so well with this story and character. i love the way this is about finding your own way, but also about supportive family and community. the character of ak47 is fantastic, and gert, while so flawed, is also wonderful and so real. gert taking on responsibility that he couldn't handle, and making bad decisions while trying to protect himself and zelda, while so young, is such a true story. as is zelda's response to it. this is the lovely crux of the book for me. and the way it's told not just through her perspective, but with her viking mentality - using viking terminology for things (horde, tribe, etc).

the side story of zelda and marxy, especially the sexual encounter, seemed a bit unnecessary, and took away from the main point, to me. not that it was happening or that marxy was her boyfriend (while he was), but it was a long digression that didn't seem important to the main story.

still, her voice is one of the more memorable i've read in ages, and i loved it.

writing a cognitively impaired first person narrative is a dicey endeavor, and at first i was unsure if this would pass a sensitivity test. i think and hope it would, because it is so beautifully and lovingly done. ( )
  overlycriticalelisa | May 19, 2021 |
zelda is a young adult & is on the fetal alcohol spectrum & views herself as a modern-day Viking. she ends up finding out that he brother has been involved in some questionable acts and she wants to be a hero & protect her family. she wants to be legendary & take matters into her own hands. zelda lives with her older brother & follows many basic rules like using fist bumps & dabs for respect.⠀

i understand that a large portion of the book was to depict zelda as brave & to encourage everyone that they can be a legend, but i just didn’t enjoy the overall story of the book. it wasn’t necessarily bad, just super quirky and one i wouldn’t choose to read again. 🤷🏼‍♀️ ( )
  emilybythebookvine | Jan 6, 2021 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 28) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Indie Next Pick for February 2020 Book of the Month January 2020 LibraryReads January 2020 Pick Bookreporter New Release Spotlight New York Post "Best Books of the Week" Goodreads "January's Most Anticipated New Books" The Saturday Evening Post "10 Books for the New Year" PopSugar "The 18 Best New Books Coming Out in January 2020" Book Riot Best Winter New Releases A heart-swelling debut for fans of The Silver Linings Playbook and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Sometimes life isn't as simple as heroes and villains. For Zelda, a twenty-one-year-old Viking enthusiast who lives with her older brother, Gert, life is best lived with some basic rules: 1. A smile means "thank you for doing something small that I liked." 2. Fist bumps and dabs = respect. 3. Strange people are not appreciated in her home. 4. Tomatoes must go in the middle of the sandwich and not get the bread wet. 5. Sometimes the most important things don't fit on lists. But when Zelda finds out that Gert has resorted to some questionable--and dangerous--methods to make enough money to keep them afloat, Zelda decides to launch her own quest. Her mission: to be legendary. It isn't long before Zelda finds herself in a battle that tests the reach of her heroism, her love for her brother, and the depth of her Viking strength. When We Were Vikings is an uplifting debut about an unlikely heroine whose journey will leave you wanting to embark on a quest of your own, because after all... We are all legends of our own making.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5 3
3 13
3.5 9
4 27
4.5 2
5 25

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 164,598,637 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä