KotiRyhmätKeskusteluTutkiAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Jane Austen Society: A Novel –…
Ladataan...

The Jane Austen Society: A Novel (vuoden 2020 painos)

– tekijä: Natalie Jenner (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
6015930,584 (3.76)55
""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"--… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:mpmills
Teoksen nimi:The Jane Austen Society: A Novel
Kirjailijat:Natalie Jenner (Tekijä)
Info:St. Martin's Press (2020), 320 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):****
Avainsanoja:fiction, 2020

Teostiedot

The Jane Austen Society (tekijä: Natalie Jenner)

Viimeisimmät tallentajatktwensel, PriscillaPerkins, stark1533, Emily0310, jenniferw88, yksityinen kirjasto, PeytonHammond, ekaliel, julesbee, LeBleuUn
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 55 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 59) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
For fans of Miss Austen, this book clearly hits the mark. But I've always been lukewarm about her works and this novel grew tiresome with its constant refrain about the awesomeness of Jane's assorted tomes; I chuckled appreciatively at Austen's relative saying she "preferred the Brontes". The characters and setting are believable enough but the tale is slow-moving, rather like Austen's works.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for review. ( )
  fionaanne | Nov 11, 2021 |
Drawn together by a love of Jane Austen, a group of people from different walks of life band together to preserve Jane Austen's home in Chawten and to start a Jane Austen society. There are some great characters, a bit of romance, and a secret that could change everything. The story is definitely driven by the characters and I really loved the way the various friendships developed. ( )
  tjsjohanna | Oct 6, 2021 |
Maybe I’m alone in this complaint but at times I was disoriented by the characters ages. The way some of them were talked about put a picture in my head of an elderly person only to discover they’re somewhere in their forties and even once their age had been plainly stated there were still these double-takes where I was like, wait, why are they talking about this person as if they’re at the end of their life when their chronological age said otherwise. I realize life expectancy was different then than now and we now also look at forty in younger terms than ever before, still, I’d imagine even in the 1940’s there would have been a glaring difference between a forty year old and a senior citizen on their deathbed and I wish that difference had been more apparent here, I mean, the way everyone discusses Frances you’d think she’s so over the hill that it’s a wonder her father would even be alive.

The age thing also made an already large age gap in one romance feel gargantuan and for me picturing a young woman with basically her grandpa doused any possibility of being a fan of that pairing (in actuality he’s not grandpa age he’s just talked about like he is, still, he’s twenty or so years older, old enough to have been her doctor when she was a kid which I found uncomfortable). One other romance was clearly headed towards a dead end from the beginning while two other romances happen more off the page than on, particularly the LGBTQ one, so I really didn’t find myself all that invested in that aspect of the book.

I did like Evie Stone to the point where I wished her life outside of her job had been explored further on the page, the pleasure she took in cataloging the library was wonderfully nerdy and assertive and I wanted more of her in the story.

In addition to Evie, most of these three stars are due to the love with which Jane Austen and her books are discussed throughout this story. The engagement I failed to feel elsewhere in the book was always present in those conversations where the characters passionately dissected Jane’s characters. If you don’t have many fellow readers in your life, eavesdropping on those literary discussions is very enjoyable. ( )
  SJGirl | Sep 12, 2021 |
The seeds are sown in 1932 for a group of people to come together in Jane Austen's Chawton to help preserve her heritage. It starts with a chance meeting between an American lady, Mary Anne, a fan of Jane Austen and labourer Adam Berwick, which leads him to start reading Pride and Prejudice, and then her other works
By 1945 American actress Miss Mimi (Mary Anne) Harrison, acquires some of Jane Austen jewellery, via an auction at Sotheby where she meets auctioneer Yardley Sinclair. Then at Chawton we learn about Francis Knight, last of the Knights and an agoraphobic, Dr Grey, ex-school teacher Mrs Aveline Grover, Andrew Forrester solicitor and, Evie Stone, servant at the Manor.
A group of diverse people who are brought together because of their love of Jane Austen's books. Can the Society result in helping these wounded people. Will they be able to find what is missing in their lives, and will they at last allow romance to enter their lives.
An enjoyable and interesting story with its diverse characters
Received a paperback copy from the publishers ( )
  Vesper1931 | Jul 29, 2021 |
The plot and the main characters in The Jane Austen Society are fictional, but many of the facts about Jane Austen and Chawton UK, the community where Miss Austen spent the last eight years of her life, are real. The story takes place in Chawton, just after World War II, more than a hundred years after Jane Austen died. The characters are still living with the pain of the world war, but they have the support of each other. This novel honors the value of intimate friendships and small-town life.

The story is about Jane Austen fans, who are obsessed with her books. They read and re-read the novels repeatedly, then compare the characters' lives and values with their own. They have decided to form a society with the purpose of raising money to establish a museum honoring Austen. These fans consist mainly of people who have grown up in Chawton, but a few others, also obsessed with Austen, are brought into the group. Among those additions there is a famous actress named Mimi Harrison and an auctioneer from Sotheby's named Yardley Sinclair. The group ends up with a wonderful mix of expertise, fame and down-home charm. These friends love literature, specifically Austen's books, but also learn to love each other. There is romance in the book as well as barriers to overcome in pursuit of their goals.

The book is charming and fun, but also has its tense moments. I enjoyed it thoroughly. ( )
  SteveLindahl | May 19, 2021 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 59) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"--

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.76)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 5
2.5 5
3 32
3.5 18
4 73
4.5 6
5 24

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 164,589,006 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä