KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe: A Novel –…
Ladataan...

Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe: A Novel (vuoden 2020 painos)

– tekijä: Heather Webber (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
2482483,182 (4)9
Heather Webber'sMidnight at the Blackbird Cafe is a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town Southern charm. Nestled in the mountain shadows of Alabama lies the little town of Wicklow. It is here that Anna Kate has returned to bury her beloved Granny Zee, owner of the Blackbird Café. It was supposed to be a quick trip to close the café and settle her grandmother's estate, but despite her best intentions to avoid forming ties or even getting to know her father's side of the family, Anna Kate finds herself inexplicably drawn to the quirky Southern town her mother ran away from so many years ago, and the mysterious blackbird pie everybody can't stop talking about. As the truth about her past slowly becomes clear, Anna Kate will need to decide if this lone blackbird will finally be able to take her broken wings and fly.… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:laurali99
Teoksen nimi:Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe: A Novel
Kirjailijat:Heather Webber (Tekijä)
Info:Forge Books (2020), Edition: Reprint, 336 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:-

Teoksen tarkat tiedot

Midnight at the Blackbird Café (tekijä: Heather Webber)

Viimeisimmät tallentajatRennie80, JillMcKiernan, emrsalgado, Suziff, Deaverh
-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 9 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 24) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
A light easy read. Young woman returns to Southern town to the restaurant which he grandmother owned. She will inherit the restaurant only if she stays in town and runs it for 1 year. the pies her grandmother made had magical powers and influence the decisions of many of the townspeople. ( )
  AstridG | Jul 18, 2021 |
Magical and delightful. ( )
  Tosta | Jul 5, 2021 |
Midnight at the Blackbird cafe is a lovely southern magical realism/fabulism that is perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Kelly Harms, or Amy Reichert.

It is a magical book with a story that will slowly reel you in and stick with you, while leaving you wishing you could pay a visit to the Blackbird Cafe and the town of Wicklow.

Heather Webber does an amazing job of establishing a sense of place, and embuing the story with a bit of wonder. You'll fall in love with Wicklow, Alabama, just like everyone else in the book who visits there (and who tend never to leave), or so the town legend says.

Everyone, that is, except for Anna Kate's mom, who left and vowed to never return.

Wicklow is full of wonderful characters and author Webber does an excellent job creating wonderful and flawed and quirky characters. The main characters are faceted and real, and even a few of the secondary characters experience growth or change in some manner.

The story was more complex than I was anticipating. While this is a story about family, about being held to promises that don't speak to your own heart, about forgiveness, it's also one about grief and the many ways it manifests and how we deal with it.

This is a book with heart and whimsy and love and forgiveness, and it gave me all the feels. The story is layered and it really snuck up on me, resonated, and followed me around for a while after. If there is a certain kind of book I come back to again and again, this is that kind of book.

Perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Amy Reichert, and Kelly Harms, I'm giving Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe five big stars and a space on my bookshelf. It's a keeper.
( )
  jenncaffeinated | Jul 4, 2021 |
MIDNIGHT AT THE BLACKBIRD CAFÉ by Heather Webber
Anna Kate has returned after many years and her grandmother’s death to the café her grandmother and mother owned. The locals believe the blackbirds come out of the forest every night at midnight and sing songs. Those who have eaten the “special pie” from the café dream messages from their dead loved ones. When Anna Kate inherits, the townspeople are worried the messages will stop and many birders come to see and hear the blackbirds and their unusual behavior.
Fully formed characters and an interesting premise make this mystical romantic novel a step above the usual. Women’s groups especially will like this charming Southern romance/family novel.
4 of 5 stars ( )
  beckyhaase | May 28, 2021 |
Sweet story about finding your roots and your family.
Anna Kate’s grandmother died and the tens of her will require that she return to Wicklow, Alabama to run The Blackbird Cafe for at least 2 months. Anna Kate’s mother, Eden, had died a few years earlier, but never wanted to return to Wicklow because of how she had been treated by the Linden family after their son (Eden’s boyfriend) had been killed in a car accident when she was driving. No one knew Eden was pregnant when she left town.
When Anna Kate returns to Winslow, prior to going to medical school, to fulfill the terms of the will, she and the townspeople get messages from the blackbirds that appear at midnight, from eating the pies served at the cafe, and from the magical stories that Eden and Zee told Anna Kate.
The small town shows itself through kindness to Anna Kate, but will she be able to overcome the feelings her mother instilled in her about the town, and what decisions will she make about her future?
#MidnightAtTheBlackbirdCafe #HeatherWebber ( )
  rmarcin | Jan 2, 2021 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 24) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

» Lisää muita tekijöitä (1 mahdollinen)

Tekijän nimiRooliTekijän tyyppiKoskeeko teosta?Tila
Heather Webberensisijainen tekijäkaikki painoksetcalculated
Lind, BethanyKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Techosky, NicholasKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Willis, StephanieKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Canonical DDC/MDS

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Heather Webber'sMidnight at the Blackbird Cafe is a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town Southern charm. Nestled in the mountain shadows of Alabama lies the little town of Wicklow. It is here that Anna Kate has returned to bury her beloved Granny Zee, owner of the Blackbird Café. It was supposed to be a quick trip to close the café and settle her grandmother's estate, but despite her best intentions to avoid forming ties or even getting to know her father's side of the family, Anna Kate finds herself inexplicably drawn to the quirky Southern town her mother ran away from so many years ago, and the mysterious blackbird pie everybody can't stop talking about. As the truth about her past slowly becomes clear, Anna Kate will need to decide if this lone blackbird will finally be able to take her broken wings and fly.

No library descriptions found.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Pikalinkit

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2 4
2.5 3
3 11
3.5 2
4 29
4.5 5
5 22

GenreThing

Ei lajityyppiä

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 160,390,362 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä