KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Boy Who Steals Houses – tekijä: C. G.…
Ladataan...

The Boy Who Steals Houses (vuoden 2019 painos)

– tekijä: C. G. Drews

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioKeskustelut
634334,841 (4.33)-
Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story. Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him. Heartfelt storytelling, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:LRHub
Teoksen nimi:The Boy Who Steals Houses
Kirjailijat:C. G. Drews
Info:London : Orchard Books, 2019.
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):*****
Avainsanoja:#LoveOzYA, FICTION, Realistic, Austism, Mental Health, Relationships, Family, Crime, Love, Identity, Belonging

Teoksen tarkat tiedot

The Boy Who Steals Houses (tekijä: C. G. Drews)

-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

näyttää 4/4
A friend of mine recommended this book to me and all I can say is that she must know me better than I thought because it was like this book was written for me.

It's about a homeless boy and the autistic older brother he feels responsible for. After being abandoned by every relative they have, Sam's on the street. His dream is to have a home of his own, a place he can keep Avery safe from those who laugh at him, from those who exploit him. He spends most of each day trying to find empty houses in to sleep for a night or two, keeping keys he steals like trophies.

Then one day he picks the wrong house and the family who live there come home while he is still inside. A large family who just assume he's one of the many friends and acquaintances belonging to the many siblings and drag him into their midst.

After looking for a place to belong for as long as he can remember, Sam suddenly finds himself accepted and drawn into the noisy chaos of this family. And quite possibly falling for Moxie, the oldest girl.

But there's still Avery and Sam discovers it's harder to escape from his past than it is to escape the police.

This is a beautifully written book and the characters are painfully real. Sam isn't just some innocent little boy who has been wronged; he has flaws and does some awful things. Sure, they're often for the right reasons, and it's easy to see why he might see them as his only choice, given the way he's been forced to live, but they're still wrong.

The main story is interspersed with sections outlining moments from Sam and Avery's past, leading up to the events that led to them fleeing their aunt's house to the street.

I loved this book. It touches on almost all the things I tend to write about too: relationships between siblings, finding home and family where you can and creating a new self from the broken pieces of a traumatic childhood.

So it goes without saying that I would recommend this one... ( )
  Vampyr14 | Feb 18, 2021 |
***April 14, 2019***

I'M SORRY WHAT? HOW COULD IT JUST END LIKE THAT?? I HAVE FEELINGS. SO MANY FEELINGS. WHAT DID I DO TOO DESERVE THIS PAIN??? AJGHGFHGGHF THIS BOOK WAS SOOOO GOOD! AND PAINFUL. WAY TOO PAINFUL.

RTC.

***January 25, 2019***

This cover is SO PRETTY. I AM IN LOVE. PREEEEEETTTTTYYYY. I NEED. Also this book is coming so soon ahhhhhhh!

***June 15, 2018***

I made the mistake of reading the sneak peak in the end of ATPN... WHY?!?!?! IT SOUNDS SO GOOD!!!! Honestly, ATPN was amazing, and this sounds way more like the sort of thing I would normally pick up, and ABHGDJDGJAGKFGKFJGKJGJKFGHFMHGHGKFFD CAN I HAVE THIS RIGHT NOW PLEASE?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

***March 18, 2018***

Seriously, I need this so badly! I think I screamed when it was announced, and it just sounds so good!!! I am SO excited! Why must April 2019 be so far away?!?!?! Whyyyyyyyyy?!?!?!?!?!?!?! ( )
  irisssssssss | Jun 17, 2020 |
Although "The Boy Who Steals Houses" didn't move me in the same way "A Thousand Perfect Notes" did, there were a number of similarities - abusive parents, strong sibling bonds, a quirky girl to save the lost boy and a wonderful family showing the male protagonist what family is really like. I loved, loved, loved the De Lainey family, especially Moxie, Jeremy and Jack. I thought they were the strength of the novel and I found myself often laughing at their banter, mini fights and interactions.

Left to care for six children on his own after the death of his wife, Mr De Lainey was the glue that held his rambunctious family together and I admired the way he did it, with love and patience. I could fully understand why Sam was so drawn to his family and wanted to be a part of their lives.

My heart bled for Avery and Sam. Their childhood was horrendous and Sam was always Avery's protector when things went wrong. I thought the author's portrayal of Avery's autism was excellent. However, despite all the positives, I never felt an emotional connection to this book. It was a solid read, and I think Cait has a fabulous future as a writer. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Mar 20, 2020 |
Publisher's blurb:Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie.

But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him.

Beautiful novel about two homeless brothers and the devotion of Sam to his brothers' welfare that drives him to forget his own needs and to lose his temper. The contrasting chapters alternate between Sam's life now, where he stumbles upon Moxie's lovely large family and they accept him and show him what a family SHOULD be, versus chapters from his past where Sam has seen his brother beaten by their father, abused verbally by their aunt and bullied and taunted by other school kids. Heartwarming and moving book about poverty and the unseen, invisible homeless people who slip through the cracks. ( )
  nicsreads | May 2, 2019 |
näyttää 4/4
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

Kuuluu näihin sarjoihin

Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story. Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him. Heartfelt storytelling, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4.33)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5 1
4 2
4.5 1
5 6

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 162,307,964 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä