KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Secret Orphan: The heartbreaking and…
Ladataan...

The Secret Orphan: The heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical… (vuoden 2019 painos)

– tekijä: Glynis Peters (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
1144186,438 (3.63)3
Keep her secret. Keep her safe. On the 14th November 1940, Hitler's bombs rain down on Coventry. From the rubble of a bombed-out family home, a young girl is saved ... but at what cost? This is a stunning and memorable page-turner of love, loss and resilience for fans of Orphan Train and The Secret Wife As the Nazis' relentless bombs fall during the Blitz of Coventry, six-year-old Rose Sherbourne finds herself orphaned and under the guardianship of a Cornish farmer's daughter, Elenor Cardew. Elenor knows that the only way to protect spirited Rose is to leave the city and make a new life for themselves away from harm. But soon Elenor discovers that Hitler's firestorm is not the only thing she must fear when she learns a devastating secret about Rose... With Rose's life in imminent danger, Elenor turns to the only person she can trust to keep the deadly secret, heroic Canadian pilot, Jackson St John. And amidst the destruction of war, an unlikely romance blossoms as they find a way to protect the child they have both grown to love...and each other.… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:shannonvivo
Teoksen nimi:The Secret Orphan: The heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical novel
Kirjailijat:Glynis Peters (Tekijä)
Info:One More Chapter (2019), 400 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):****
Avainsanoja:-

Teoksen tarkat tiedot

The Secret Orphan (tekijä: Glynis Peters)

-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 3 mainintaa

näyttää 4/4
e story centers around WWII and the bombings on England. Elenor leaves the farm she lives on with her two brothers to help take care of her elderly aunt. Even though Elenor owned part of the farm, her brother's treated her like a maid. Elenor loves living at Aunt Maude's house. The housekeeper Victoria and her husband, George and daughter Rose also live with Maude. Elenor meets the dashing Canadian pilot Jackson. Eventually, Elenor moves back to her farm and bombings cause Rose to be reunited with her. When Elenor discovers the secret surrounding Rose, she does everything in her power to keep her safe ( )
  puttsplace | Oct 10, 2021 |
World War 2 England

I loved this book because it is historically accurate and very well written. The tItle bothered me at first but as the story progressed the author impressed me with intrigue as well as how the home front looked in England after the blitz. I’m looking for more from the author now. ( )
  bdinsman | Sep 10, 2020 |
During World War II, Coventry, England was bombed several times by the German Luftwaffe. The most devastating of these attacks occurred on 14 November 1940. On that evening, 515 German bombers carried out a coordinated attack, code-named Operation Mondscheinsonate (Moonlight Sonata). After the bombing, Coventry lay in ruins.

It is during this attack that the novel, The Secret Orphan, by Glynis Peters, begins. Bombs are falling, and the world of six-year-old Rose Sherbourne comes crashing down. ...more ( )
  K_T_C | Nov 19, 2018 |
Loved this book!! I enjoyed everything about it- the characters, story and writing style. Loved reading about Elenor and I felt like I was right there with her. She was amazing-- running the farm by herself, her love of Rose, and how she treated everyone, especially those who helped her on the farm. Tom, Susie and Dottie were great additions to the farm and loved how they joked about Dottie's donkey laugh. Jackson was the perfect charming pilot. The story was not what I expected and I would never have guessed the secret surrounding Rose. That part came as a complete surprise.

The story centers around WWII and the bombings on England. Elenor leaves the farm she lives on with her two brothers to help take care of her elderly aunt. Even though Elenor owned part of the farm, her brother's treated her like a maid. Elenor loves living at Aunt Maude's house. The housekeeper Victoria and her husband, George and daughter Rose also live with Maude. Elenor meets the dashing Canadian pilot Jackson. Eventually, Elenor moves back to her farm and bombings cause Rose to be reunited with her. When Elenor discovers the secret surrounding Rose, she does everything in her power to keep her safe. My short, little summary doesn't do justice to the book and Elenor's wonderful story.

Definitely recommend the book, especially if you like historical fiction with a dash of romance. I look forward to reading more books by the author.

Thanks to NetGalley, Harper Impulse and Killer Reads and the author, Glynis Peters, for a free electronic ARC of this novel. ( )
  JenniferLynn | Nov 5, 2018 |
näyttää 4/4
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Keep her secret. Keep her safe. On the 14th November 1940, Hitler's bombs rain down on Coventry. From the rubble of a bombed-out family home, a young girl is saved ... but at what cost? This is a stunning and memorable page-turner of love, loss and resilience for fans of Orphan Train and The Secret Wife As the Nazis' relentless bombs fall during the Blitz of Coventry, six-year-old Rose Sherbourne finds herself orphaned and under the guardianship of a Cornish farmer's daughter, Elenor Cardew. Elenor knows that the only way to protect spirited Rose is to leave the city and make a new life for themselves away from harm. But soon Elenor discovers that Hitler's firestorm is not the only thing she must fear when she learns a devastating secret about Rose... With Rose's life in imminent danger, Elenor turns to the only person she can trust to keep the deadly secret, heroic Canadian pilot, Jackson St John. And amidst the destruction of war, an unlikely romance blossoms as they find a way to protect the child they have both grown to love...and each other.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.63)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 7
3.5 3
4 6
4.5
5 3

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 163,407,779 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä