KotiRyhmätKeskusteluTutkiAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Oletko katsonut SantaThingin, LibraryThingin lahjanantamisperinteen?
hylkää
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel –…
Ladataan...

The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel (vuoden 2019 painos)

– tekijä: Kelly Rimmer (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
4762840,467 (4.12)5
Now a New York Times bestseller! From the author of Truths I Never Told You and Before I Let You Go, Kelly Rimmer's powerful WWII novel follows a woman's urgent search for answers to a family mystery that uncovers truths about herself that she never expected. "Kelly Rimmer has outdone herself. I thought that Before I Let You Go was one of the best novels I had ever read...If you only have time to read one book this year The Things We Cannot Say should be that book. Keep tissues handy."--Fresh Fiction "Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say." --Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It's a decision that will alter her destiny...and it's a lie that will remain buried until the next century. Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now fifteen and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina's tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate. Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents' farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief. Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced...and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:amazzuca26
Teoksen nimi:The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel
Kirjailijat:Kelly Rimmer (Tekijä)
Info:Graydon House (2019), Edition: Original, 356 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):****
Avainsanoja:Finished

Work Information

The Things We Cannot Say (tekijä: Kelly Rimmer)

Viimeisimmät tallentajatStephanieRealtor, Kyleadf-64, Rennie90, stixs, respinola, LTiedemann, yksityinen kirjasto
-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 5 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 27) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
Too mushy, lovey and wordy at the beginning. I’m glad I stuck with it as it is a glorious story. This was an audible book. Two timelines. WW II Poland and current day US. Babcha lies dying and requests her granddaughter visit Poland. Granddaughter has a husband who alienates himself from their autistic son but not the gifted daughter. Granddaughter decides to go to Poland despite usually handling everything at home, but worrying how husband will manage. The author provides clear images of the Nazis taking over Poland and what the resistance was up against. This book kept me walking! Granddaughter discovers why her grandmother insisted on the Poland visit and that her husband can change ( )
  bereanna | Oct 30, 2021 |
This was a compelling book that told the stories of two women in different times who both have challenges – external and internal. I liked the two stories of women in different time periods discovering themselves and becoming stronger. In the past, Alina overcomes her family’s and society’s expectations that she is too young, too feminine, too girly, and saves another’s life and escape the horrors of the war. In the present, Alice finds her voice. I would definitely recommend this book. Favorite quote “Life has a way of reminding you that you are at the mercy of chance, and that even well-thought-out plans can turn to chaos in an instant.” Reviewed by Carol ( )
  GalsGuidetotheGalaxy | Oct 14, 2021 |
Let me first admit that I am tired of reading about women doing brave things during WWII. That is probably why I found the modern-day story of Alice and Wade dealing with their autistic son more compelling than the historical story of Alina and Tomasz.

I think the title of this book was brilliant. Almost every character had things they couldn't say: Eddie and Alina lacked the actual ability to speak. Wade and Alice were unable to honestly communicate their feelings. And, obviously, the big secrets kept by Alina and Saul.

I found the writing over-the-top emotionally. Whole rooms full of people crying. Alina and Tomasz NEVER had a conversation that wasn't full of declarations of undying love. I found the book romanticized the horrors of war. Everyone was brave and beautiful. There are better women in WWII books out there.

My stars are for the modern-day Wade/Alice/Eddie story. ( )
  LynnB | Aug 31, 2021 |
I was recently in a class with Year 9 girls who were sharing their favourite novels with each other. Many I had already read, but then one student started talking about The Things We Cannot Say. I was moved by her clear articulation and passion for this book as she described why it was so important to her. Before she had finished, I knew I had to read it! My goodness, I am so glad I did. What an incredibly moving, heartbreaking and inspirational read it turned out to be.

Told in dual timelines both narratives were fascinating and I was fully engaged with them both. Alina and Alice were unique, strong women who loved with all their hearts. Alina's story was harrowing and was filled with tragedy, courage, sacrifice, loss and abiding love. I admired her so much and her growth throughout the novel was exceptional. Alice's story was nearly as intriguing as she uncovered her grandmother's story and discovered things about herself she never knew existed. I loved how the author wove the two stories together. Although it has been done many times before, Rimmer did it effortlessly, capturing the human emotion perfectly to create a beautiful story that moved me to tears on more than one occasion.

I must say, I loved all the characters in The Things We Cannot Say and the relationships between them were deep, moving and powerful. The importance of family was beautifully explored in this novel showing that, despite being complex, messy and frustrating at times, members of a family are held tightly together by bonds of love passed down from generation to generation. This was a wonderful story that I highly recommend. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Apr 2, 2021 |
A beautiful and sad story. ( )
  MarlaBurr | Mar 14, 2021 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 27) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät paikat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
For Daniel, who always has the best ideas.
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
The priest presiding over my wedding was half-starved, half-frozen and wearing rags, but he was resourceful; he'd blessed a chunk of moldy bread from breakfast to serve as a communion wafer.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
(Napsauta nähdäksesi. Varoitus: voi sisältää juonipaljastuksia)
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Now a New York Times bestseller! From the author of Truths I Never Told You and Before I Let You Go, Kelly Rimmer's powerful WWII novel follows a woman's urgent search for answers to a family mystery that uncovers truths about herself that she never expected. "Kelly Rimmer has outdone herself. I thought that Before I Let You Go was one of the best novels I had ever read...If you only have time to read one book this year The Things We Cannot Say should be that book. Keep tissues handy."--Fresh Fiction "Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say." --Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It's a decision that will alter her destiny...and it's a lie that will remain buried until the next century. Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now fifteen and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina's tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate. Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents' farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief. Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced...and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4.12)
0.5
1
1.5
2 4
2.5 2
3 12
3.5 12
4 33
4.5 14
5 35

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 164,340,159 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä