KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman…
Ladataan...

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy (vuoden 2019 painos)

Tekijä: Larry Loftis (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
4001764,229 (3.98)20
"The extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II--perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Boys in the Boat, and Code Girls."--Provided by publisher.
Jäsen:Jennrenee81
Teoksen nimi:Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy
Kirjailijat:Larry Loftis (Tekijä)
Info:Gallery Books (2019), 384 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:-

Teostiedot

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy (tekijä: Larry Loftis)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 20 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 17) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
3.5*

Well documented biography of Odette Sansom. I appreciated all the footnotes. ( )
  leslie.98 | Jun 27, 2023 |
The Publisher Says: The true story of the woman who became WWII's most highly decorated spy

The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father’s footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill.

As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris’s Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues.

In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love—of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher.

A LITTLE FREE LIBRARY FIND. IT'S GONE BACK THERE NOW.

My Review
: I like spy stories because it never ceases to fascinate me why people who obviously think they're good, solid, honest people tell themselves it's okay to lie, cheat, and steal. "The end justifies the means" said Ovid 2,000+ years ago. A very consequentialist viewpoint that I worry about promoting, since it presupposes the agent knows what "good" really is and thus empowers lowlife scum to act in the bad ways they want to act to achieve something they think is "good."

Well, anyway.

This woman's life is one that, absent documentation, I'd say was a myth. If someone wrote it exactly like this as fiction, I'd snort mightily and tell 'em to rein it in and make the story believable. The author's prose is adequate to the task at hand. The reason to read the book is the story not the storytelling. For spy-story lovers it's proof that truth is still weirder than fiction. For history readers, the same. For all its fascinating turns and proofs that women lie, cheat, and steal with the same verve as men do, it fails the Bechdel Test dismally, as Odette is motivated and manipulated by LUUUV for men. Don't think she's some fempower icon, y'all. Literally everything she does is for some man or another, living or dead.

My rating is based on how much fun I had reading it not necessarily on its objective merits. ( )
  richardderus | Jun 19, 2023 |
Odette by all accounts was a strong, patriotic person who put her country (both France & England) ahead of herself and her family. Though her spy career was relatively cut short by being captured, her real story is after her detainment, the inhumane torture she endured, manipulating the enemy to focus on her in order to save her team. The story also focuses on her capture, Hugo Bleicher who was able to track her down, catch and then tried to protect her as best he could. I didn't rate it as high as others because I felt more could be written on why Odette would leave 3 young daughters behind, how Hugo Bleicher was to learn so much about Odette, not referring to how he caught her as that was explained, but how he knew so much about her history. It seemed to me both questions were left a bit of a hole in the story. Otherwise a totally remarkable person who seems to have withstood more physical and mental torture without breaking than just about any other person could. ( )
  rayski | May 9, 2023 |
Powerful read and well documented. In places it was hard to read what the Germans did to their prisoners, but people need to be reminded what can happen when a dictator tries to take over.
The author writes how Odette is recruited into the SOE and her work in the Spindle network. It took a lot of courage to leave 3 little girls in England to help her native France and her adopted England. She was married and the author doesn't say much about her husband (only that he was fighting in the war). Evidently their marriage was not good as she forms an attachment to Peter who leads the network. ( )
  travelgal | Oct 18, 2022 |
Odette was truly a remarkable person. In 1942, while WWII is in full swing, she follows in her father’s footprints and signs up with as a SOE agent. She is sent to France where she meets Captain Peter Churchill, as the two of them completely many missions, ultimately catching the attention of the Germans. They are both captured by Hugo Bleicher, Germany’s too spy-catcher. They are both in Germany’s hands until the Allies liberate the concentration camps they are at. This book is nonfiction but reads like a fiction book. Odette’s story should’ve been taught in classrooms as she was a truly remarkable individual. Highly recommend this book for a different perspective of WWII History. ( )
  dabutkus | Sep 4, 2022 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 17) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät paikat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places.
--Ernest Hemingway
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
For my high school guidance counselor, Barbara Damron, who made all the difference.
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Major Guthrie looked again at the photographs.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen kieli
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

"The extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II--perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Boys in the Boat, and Code Girls."--Provided by publisher.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.98)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5
3 6
3.5 9
4 16
4.5 5
5 13

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 207,548,155 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä