KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Binding: A Novel – tekijä: Bridget…
Ladataan...

The Binding: A Novel (vuoden 2019 painos)

– tekijä: Bridget Collins (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
9587116,161 (3.72)23
"In the tradition of Sarah Waters, Helene Wecker, and Jessie Burton, an atmospheric and mystery-laden historical novel set within a magical world where books are not stories but the repository of individual lives"--
Jäsen:hannahmck
Teoksen nimi:The Binding: A Novel
Kirjailijat:Bridget Collins (Tekijä)
Info:William Morrow (2019), 458 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):***
Avainsanoja:-

Teoksen tarkat tiedot

The Binding (tekijä: Bridget Collins)

Viimeisimmät tallentajatJazzJ, GreteM, elctrcmyhm, Suzanne289, yksityinen kirjasto, leslie54, jobinsonlis, reakendera, Bookworm_Monkey75, andres_escoces
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 23 mainintaa

englanti (67)  hollanti (3)  saksa (1)  espanja (1)  Kaikki kielet (72)
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 72) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
This is a book that I want to give more than five stars, in fact, all the stars. It's a very unique and interesting concept: people go to binders to get rid of bad memories which are put into a book. The books are supposed to be saved, but there's an illegal trade in marketing them and also writing a sort of fan-fiction which become novels.
Emmett is a farmer's son who becomes very ill. When he recovers somewhat, he's sent to an old bookbinder to learn her trade. The story unfolds from there in a surprising and novel manner involving Emmett, his sister Alta, and the mysterious Lucien Darnay. It's a morality tale in some ways and a fantasy story that enchants the reader. Parts are very grim but the author writes in what I call word pictures that paint the story clearly while not being too graphic. That's probably not a good explanation, but I found the writing very immersive.
This is definitely an author I'll read more from, and I recommend you should also. ( )
  N.W.Moors | Mar 30, 2021 |
4.75*
This was beautifully written! I loved the concept of people being able to have their memories removed and kept in the pages of a book even if it wasn't always being done for the best of reasons. The relationships felt so natural and had an enchanting love story. This read like an adult Disney movie and I loved it! The only thing that keeps me from giving it a full 5* was that the beginning was a little slow and I went into this thinking it was going to be more of an action story. There was also something about the way the passage of time was written that I didn't enjoy as much. I could tell that time was passing in the indirect way that Collins wrote about it, but it didn't feel quite as natural to me.

I listened to this as an audiobook and while I didn't enjoy the narrator at first he grew on me, and after a while I didn't want to stop listening to it. ( )
  courty4189 | Mar 24, 2021 |
Honestly, I wasn’t interested enough to get through it quickly until over halfway when romance became present. The story was a bit predictable and really slow-paced, but the romance and the ending made up for it. ( )
  Akacya | Feb 28, 2021 |
Set in a snowy, dark, muddy, and drafty fictional land where memories can be bound into books by magical binders, this book was a disappointment after seeing the beautiful cover and intriguing blurb on the back cover (which reallly doesn't have much to do with the actual story). A disjointed story (which is partly intentional) revolving around two main characters who are unlikable and uninteresting but experience lots of nausea and flop sweat, an unconvincing love triangle, and the loss and recovery of memories becoming completely different people in the process, this book has the feel of a YA book with gratuitous adult elements added in (rape, murder, blackmail, etc.). I received a free ARC of this book from the publisher.
( )
  SteveKey | Jan 8, 2021 |
I found The Binding a little slow to begin with, but the fluidity of Collins’ writing and the general premise of the book made me persevere and I’m so glad I did. I was totally absorbed into the story after Emmett burns his book and gets his memories back (then I found the beginning very clever, as it’s simplicity made sense to me as the story evolved).
I loved everything about this - as soon as I finished it I wanted to start it again. ( )
  LaurenHadcroft | Oct 9, 2020 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 72) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
“The Binding” succeeds in creating the magic it proposes: the experience of memory returning, a rush of recollection that can change the whole world, if only for one person at a time — or sometimes two.
 
The Binding is an unpretentious work of escapist fiction. The morality of the book is simple; the good are essentially noble and their enemies unambiguously wicked. The vaguely antiquated setting could as easily be Westeros or Hardy’s Wessex. At the heart of the novel is a love story that develops along a familiar trajectory, from immediate dislike to inexplicable flutters of the heart to full infatuation with its feeling of being “breathless and dizzy, as if my blood was too thin”. When the protagonists are happy, it’s spring outdoors. When things go wrong, a wet snow falls.... The Binding is a kissing novel par excellence, and on this level, it is like a wonderful meal made from a few simple ingredients: the feeling in your chest when you hold someone in your arms for the first time; the sight of a host of bluebells. In recent years, the state of the world has threatened to make us forget the simple pleasures of kisses and bluebells and thick novels that tell stories of heartbreak. Here is a book to help us remember.
 
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät paikat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
For Nick
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
When the letter came I was out in the fields, binding up my last sheaf of wheat with hands that were shaking so much I could hardly tie the knot.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kirjan kehujat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen kieli
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Canonical DDC/MDS

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

"In the tradition of Sarah Waters, Helene Wecker, and Jessie Burton, an atmospheric and mystery-laden historical novel set within a magical world where books are not stories but the repository of individual lives"--

No library descriptions found.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Bridget Collins's book The Binding was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Pikalinkit

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.72)
0.5
1 2
1.5 1
2 14
2.5 2
3 46
3.5 20
4 75
4.5 11
5 33

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 157,953,678 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä