KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Astonishing Color of After – tekijä:…
Ladataan...

The Astonishing Color of After (vuoden 2018 painos)

– tekijä: Emily X. R. Pan (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
7132723,365 (4.07)3
"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng. An APALA Honor Book A Walter Award Honor Book Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life. Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:ppmarkgraf
Teoksen nimi:The Astonishing Color of After
Kirjailijat:Emily X. R. Pan (Tekijä)
Info:Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (2018), 480 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:to-read

Teoksen tarkat tiedot

The Astonishing Color of After (tekijä: Emily X. R. Pan)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 3 mainintaa

englanti (26)  espanja (1)  Kaikki kielet (27)
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 27) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
4*
This was a beautifully written book dealing with grief after a suicide. I felt a strong connection to Leigh, the main character, having just dealt with a suicide in my own extended family this past summer. The language in this was definitely flowery and there were spots in the middle that started to feel a little drawn out. The presence of family in this was wonderful and I loved that Leigh was able to connect with her Grandparents in Taiwan after the death of her mother. I was nervous about the magical realism aspect of this book but it wasn't too much. The flowery nature of the writing and the whimsical feel of the characters made the minor magical realism just enough for me to handle. ( )
  courty4189 | Mar 24, 2021 |
I didn't want to like this as much as I did -- at first the color device feels forced and parts of the story were predictable. But it also went in ways I did not expect, and the the colors came to be more than a device. Ultimately the voice and characters won me over and the emotions rang so true. ( )
  erikasolberg770 | Nov 9, 2020 |
this book is special to me in so many ways.
tw: depression, suicide, a lot of grief, racism.
there are so many remarkable things worth mentioning. the atmosphere, writing, concept...so much potential. so many cultural references that i can relate to on so many levels. (im chinese but i wasnt born in taiwan or china so its amazing to see how similar our traditions are) ive also been to taiwan, the scene in jiufen, oooof. more than half of the book i was very annoyed at leigh but i came to understand that she's a teen, grieving, alone. the characters, we honestly dont know much about them. i find that the pacing of this book is too slow for my liking. the romance... its cute but there isnt much to talk about.


"It's okay to be afraid. But not okay if be afraid means you do nothing. You must not do nothing. That's not life worth living." (im well aware of the broken english here, but the message is clear)

"Once you figure out what matters, you'll figure out how to be brave."

*read this for asian readathon! ( )
  jocelynchu | Aug 30, 2020 |
I am so happy that I got this book via my library. I was curious about it since it was marketed as a magical realism book. And I rarely get to read that genre these days. There were some slight flow problems and a bit of repetitiveness here and there. However, I just have to say that was easy for me to overlook since I thought this book had such great heart and a wonderful message.

"The Astonishing Color of After" is about teen Leigh Sanders who is dealing with the fall-out from her mother's suicide. Leigh is also dealing with losing her best friend Axel who she felt on the verge of something more with when her mother killed herself. When Leigh comes face to face with a bird that she knows is her dead mother coming back to life, strange things start happening to her. She and her father finally travel to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents.

Told in the first person, we have Leigh alternating between memories of before her mother committed suicide and the present day with her in Taiwan and discovering her mother's history.

I have to say though upfront that Leigh is flawed. You may want to shake her and then hug her right afterwards. She is a walking wound in so much of this book. She is missing her mother and also missing Axel. She is wishing for a do-over in her life (as many people do when someone they love commits suicide) and she is going through some anger towards her father.

The secondary characters in this book get a chance to shine. You have Leigh's best friend Axel, the only boy that she has ever cared for who she is losing to his girlfriend. You also have Leigh's friend Caro who is not here for her BS about things. We get Leigh's memories of her parents and the colors she can see when it's related to a memory, emotion, a smell.

Leigh's father though he doesn't feel present in the present parts of the book, does feel present in her memories.

I loved how Pan had Leigh discovering parts of her mother through the incense and the bird that only she can see.

The magical realism aspect of this book was done so well. I loved every part of it. Leigh realizing that even though her mother left her, it doesn't mean she wasn't loved.

The ending was so good. I smiled.

What is memory? It’s not something you can physically hold, or see, or smell, or taste. It’s just nerve impulses jumping between neurons. Sometimes it’s a matter of choice. Other times it’s self-preservation, or protection. ( )
  ObsidianBlue | Jul 1, 2020 |
The Astonishing Color of After is one that will be held dearly in my thoughts. A beautifully written story of the effects of depression and loss, but also healing after losing loved ones. Many believe a cardinal’s appearance means a loved one is visiting and throughout this novel a bit of peace is brought through memories and symbols, also. Of course, Leigh is also learning about relationships throughout the story, not only her own, but also her parents’ love for one another. ( )
  lflareads | Jun 27, 2020 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 27) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
If I should see a single bird --Emily Dickinson
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
My mother is a bird.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
(Napsauta nähdäksesi. Varoitus: voi sisältää juonipaljastuksia)
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen kieli
Canonical DDC/MDS

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng. An APALA Honor Book A Walter Award Honor Book Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life. Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.

No library descriptions found.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Pikalinkit

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4.07)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 1
2.5 1
3 7
3.5 3
4 41
4.5 5
5 21

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 157,234,515 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä