KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Room on Rue Amelie – tekijä: Kristin…
Ladataan...

The Room on Rue Amelie (alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi 2018; vuoden 2018 painos)

– tekijä: Kristin Harmel (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
4242146,254 (3.85)6
"For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family--by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again--tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting--and an unexpected road home. When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis--and to open their own broken hearts--as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned"--… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:JessicaF217
Teoksen nimi:The Room on Rue Amelie
Kirjailijat:Kristin Harmel (Tekijä)
Info:Simon & Schuster USA (2018), 416 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:to-read

Teoksen tarkat tiedot

The Room on Rue Amélie (tekijä: Kristin Harmel) (2018)

-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 6 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 21) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
As I sit down to write my review of this incredible story the words escape me. I finished The Room on Rue Amélie a few days ago and it has haunted me ever since. How do I put into words the emotions that this book awakened in me?

Ruby Henderson Benoit fell in love. It was a simple glance at a man in a coffee shop in Manhattan that would forever change the trajectory of her life. She forgets all about the path that she was on and follows her husband back to his home in Paris. It's July 1939. Her parents warned her about going, with rumors swirling of Paris being on the brink of war, but nothing would stop her. Ruby wanted a life with the man she loved.

At first everything was like a dream. Her husband's career as an art dealer for his dads company put them in the most elite social circles and they were "soaking up life." Even if there was to be a war there is no way it would ever reach Paris. Less than two months later France, and their British allies, are at war with Germany. Immediately the climate of the entire city changes as well as Ruby's relationship with her husband. He is cold and distant, disappearing for days at a time without an explanation. As the country begins to crumble so does her marriage.

Being alone in a city where she knows no one Ruby is lonely and heartbroken. She begins an unlikely friendship with one of her neighbors, a ten-year-old Jewish girl named Charlotte Henderson. As the war intensifies so does the incredible bond between Ruby and Charlotte.

It is revealed to Ruby that her husband has been apart of an escape line in France, which helps aid allied RAF pilots that have been shot down. The escape line helps bring the pilots back to allied territory so that they can continue the fight against the Nazis. Ruby feels its her duty to also aid in the escape line and to do everything she can to fight the war herself. Thomas Clarke, as well as many of the RAF pilots that Ruby helps, feel the exact same way. Through the escape line many find more than just a means to fight against this cruel war. They find friendship, love, and even forgiveness in the most unlikely place: the middle of a war.

The Room on Rue Amélie is incredibly well written with characters that you root for from the beginning and a plot that keeps you guessing. You can feel the anxiety and pressure that these characters were under, being so close to the enemy, and fighting the resistance, knowing that they themselves were putting their own lives on the line for the cause.

There were moments where I had to stop reading, close my eyes, and will the tears away. No matter how many times I read about World War II and the Holocaust I am always rendered speechless, my heart aching. To imagine the horrors that were endured by so many is unfathomable. It's evil personified and the author does an incredible job of being sensitive to the subject.

This book is loosely based on the true story of Virginia d'Albert-Lake, an American woman who followed her love to Paris and found herself working for the anti-Nazi French Resistance during World War II by means of the Comet escape line. There are many parallels between Virginia and Ruby but the author took great care to give Ruby her own story, one that is painful yet beautiful.

This is a love story yes but not in all the ways you would imagine. It's a gripping read that is hard to put down and one that I highly recommend.

*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Gallery Book and NetGalley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review. All opinions are my own. ( )
  cflores0420 | Jun 24, 2021 |
Extremely moving and detailed account of life in occupied Paris during World War II. Great character development and research. You will feel the tension of daily life in Paris during this time. Recommend for anyone that enjoys a moving story that grips you from page one. Historical fiction at is best. 4..5 stars. ( )
  SharleneMartinMoore | Apr 24, 2021 |
Heartrending story that really tugs at the old heart strings. The best parts of this novel are the acts of courage in WWll Paris. Ruby, an American in Paris helps pilots hide until they can join an escape line. She falls for Thomas a British pilot who has to eject twice from his plane. She also hides and cares for the jewish daughter of a neighbor , Charlotte, who also winds up helping the resistance. This novel is a page turner. I only wish the main characters had been a little better drawn and with a little more depth. It is always so interesting to read about cities in Europe during WWll and how their citizens deal with all the situations that arise in a war. This novel does do that quite well. ( )
  Smits | Jan 30, 2021 |
Amazing book about loss, love and sacrifice. ( )
  soosthemoose | Nov 15, 2020 |
I really loved this book. The characters were very likable and the author really made you care for them. I did not want to stop reading. My only issue was the plot was similar to other books that have been released in recent years. I love this author and have read many of her books she never disappoints. I am glad I read this one and will read more of her books in the future. ( )
  Thelmajean | Apr 25, 2020 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 21) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

"For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family--by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again--tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting--and an unexpected road home. When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis--and to open their own broken hearts--as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned"--

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.85)
0.5
1
1.5
2 5
2.5 3
3 11
3.5 6
4 30
4.5 3
5 16

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 163,461,159 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä