KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Last to See Me: The Last Ghost Series,…
Ladataan...

The Last to See Me: The Last Ghost Series, Book One (alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi 2017; vuoden 2017 painos)

– tekijä: M Dressler (Tekijä)

Sarjat: The Last Ghost (1)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
716299,734 (3.96)15
Book Pipeline 2017 Grand Prize Winner Winner of the Audiofile Magazine 2018 Earphones Award for Fiction For fans of Lauren Oliver and Kazuo Ishiguro, The Last to See Me is a spellbinding American ghost story deftly weaving past and present into an unforgettable narrative about a young woman's fight for a life of her own--long after her life is over. Over one hundred years ago, Emma Rose Finnis was born and died in the remote northern California town she now haunts. When she was alive, she was a lowly chambermaid and worse, a Finnis. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams--because there are none left to remember. In a world where phantoms are considered "unclean," the spirits of her town have already been removed. All except Emma Rose. But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to extinguish her once and for all, Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from her haunt, the stately Lambry Mansion. She's earned her place and she'll keep it--even if it means waging a war on the living. After all, she's got nothing left to lose. The same might not be said for those who still enjoy the luxury of a breath . . .… (lisätietoja)
Jäsen:ceinwyn81
Teoksen nimi:The Last to See Me: The Last Ghost Series, Book One
Kirjailijat:M Dressler (Tekijä)
Info:Skyhorse (2017), Edition: Reprint, 288 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:-

Teoksen tarkat tiedot

The Last To See Me (tekijä: M. Dressler) (2017)

mom (461)
Ghosts (274)
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 15 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 6) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
It's an atmospheric and beautifully written story. I ask you...who doesn’t like a good ghost story with a twist? In this particular story there are several twists as well as some really nasty turns. If you add a tragic love story...a blood-thirsty rose bush... the ghost of a beautiful young girl who is struggling to remain "alive" in the only home she has ever known...you have the makings of a first rate series that should please any ghost story enthusiast. A great beginning. I'm looking forward to more. ( )
  Carol420 | Nov 5, 2019 |
The Last to See Me by M. Dressler is a different kind of haunted house books with it being the ghost herself that is telling the tale. Emma Rose Finnis died a century ago, but she doesn't plan on leaving the place soon. Not even when an experienced ghost hunter arrives to clean the house and make it ghost free. No, she will do anything to stay...

The Last to See Me is an interesting ghost story, a bittersweet story about a young girl that grew up in a small village, but never got the chance to get the life she wanted. Instead, is she still there, haunting the Lambry mansion. The present story is what I found the most interesting, I usually love flashbacks to the past, but I have to admit that I was not always that interested in Emma Rose's life. It just dragged on a bit and as a character, before she died, was she just not especially interesting, nor had Emma Rose an interesting life. You know, young poor girl meets a rich young man that is not suited for her...

I was more interested in the battle between her and the ghost hunter, with the ghost hunter trying to figure out who is haunting the place. One thing I really liked was that the writing was so imaginative. It was easy to picture the landscape and the village. Loved the beginning of the book when the couple that was interested in the mansion got spooked. It was not that hard to pick a side in this book, whom you wanted to win. The ghost or the ghost hunter. I mean, who has been there the longest?

The ending of the book felt a bit confusing and I had to re-read it. Still, a couple of weeks since I read it does it still feel strange. However. I did find the book interesting and I would definitely read more books by the author.

I want to thank the publisher for providing me with a free copy through Edelweiss for an honest review! ( )
  MaraBlaise | May 19, 2019 |
This is a well-written ghost story. Without over dramatization, the author tells a tale from the perspective of Emma Rose finnis, who died 100 years ago. With dreams of having a good life, a grand life, employed by the wealthiest family, she continues to haunt the Lambry mansion. Her dreams did not rise to the level of the least satisfaction.

Stubbornly, she holds fast to her right to live specturally in the many rooms of the mansion. But, alas the town has proclaimed that it will be cleaned of all spirits and the "hunters" are paid well. Lambry mansion is in the process of being sold to a rather wealthy couple.

When Emma Rose follows them with the realtor throughout the house, she learns many things, including the fact that they will gut the inside totally. All the charm and beauty will be demolished. Emma will not let that occur. She mightily haunts the perspective buyers who are just as determined as she to win.

As she fights, a "hunter" is called. He slowly tries to work his magic in taunting her spirit to come forth so that he might send it to the grave where it belongs.

The fight is brutal. The story of Emma is a sad one. At times, I routed for huner Pratt to put dear Emma at peace, and yet, Emma, whose lonely life never rose to anything but a mere chambermaid, is bound and determined to stay. She's earned that right, and she will continue to claim it. ( )
  Whisper1 | Feb 4, 2018 |
Gothic in tone, a ghost story told with a new twist, and given a modern interpretation. Emma Rose Finnis has been dead for a long while, but she still walks this Earth. The Lambry house and the Lambreys themselves is her favored haunt. She has reasons, big reasons, but now the last known Lambry has died, the house up for sale. A rich couple has come to see the house, want to buy and gut it, make it their own. Emma, angered reveals her presence causing a terrifying ordeal for the couple. A hunter is called in, people have realized for a while that ghosts walk this Earth, resulting in a new form of employment. Hunters are highly paid, and this couple can afford the best. So a cat and mouse game ensues, the hunter hunting the haunting. Emma needs to stop him from learning her name, he needs to know about her existence before he can find her. There is, however, another presence waiting in the background, with it's own plans.

Extremely atmosphere, literary, while reading this I could not help thinking of Collins, Lady in White. Who can outsmarted who? That is the goal, the end game. And Emma Rose has no desire to be interred in the ground. The story goes back and forth, Emma's backstory, to the present and to what the hunter is doing, thinking. Suspenseful, and the suspense ratchets up the more we learn. I felt so sorry for the young Emma, a product of her social dividing times. Wanting only to love and have a future. Provides just enough shivers without freaking the reader out completely.

I enjoyed this immensely, one of the better ghost stories I have read in a long time. Can we ever be sure that what we see and feel, is the only thing there? I can't help but wonder. ( )
1 ääni Beamis12 | Dec 15, 2017 |
I did like this story,short at 270 pages.I liked the concept of the ghost telling her story as she is hunted down by a ghost hunter.The town of Benito is ridding itself of ghosts. It seemed disconnected in spots and confusing at times. After finishing the ending,I had to go back and re-read the last 2 chapters,thought I had missed something, I had not. It takes place in Northern California,and goes back and forth from current day to Victorian times.A good read.Imaginative! ( )
  LauGal | Nov 4, 2017 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 6) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

Kuuluu näihin sarjoihin

Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Book Pipeline 2017 Grand Prize Winner Winner of the Audiofile Magazine 2018 Earphones Award for Fiction For fans of Lauren Oliver and Kazuo Ishiguro, The Last to See Me is a spellbinding American ghost story deftly weaving past and present into an unforgettable narrative about a young woman's fight for a life of her own--long after her life is over. Over one hundred years ago, Emma Rose Finnis was born and died in the remote northern California town she now haunts. When she was alive, she was a lowly chambermaid and worse, a Finnis. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams--because there are none left to remember. In a world where phantoms are considered "unclean," the spirits of her town have already been removed. All except Emma Rose. But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to extinguish her once and for all, Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from her haunt, the stately Lambry Mansion. She's earned her place and she'll keep it--even if it means waging a war on the living. After all, she's got nothing left to lose. The same might not be said for those who still enjoy the luxury of a breath . . .

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.96)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5 2
4 6
4.5 1
5 2

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

Skyhorse Publishing

Skyhorse Publishing on julkaissut painoksen tästä kirjasta.

» Kustantajan sivusto

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 162,341,032 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä