KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The Blinds: A Novel Tekijä: Adam Sternbergh
Ladataan...

The Blinds: A Novel (alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi 2017; vuoden 2017 painos)

Tekijä: Adam Sternbergh (Tekijä)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioKeskustelut / Maininnat
4121958,861 (3.8)1 / 12
Fiction. Suspense. Western. Thriller. HTML:

For fans of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Thompson, the Coen Brothers, and Lost

Imagine a place populated by criminals??people plucked from their lives, with their memories altered, who've been granted new identities and a second chance. Welcome to The Blinds, a dusty town in rural Texas populated by misfits who don't know if they've perpetrated a crime or just witnessed one. What's clear to them is that if they leave, they will end up dead.

For eight years, Sheriff Calvin Cooper has kept an uneasy peace??but after a suicide and a murder in quick succession, the town's residents revolt. Cooper has his own secrets to protect, so when his new deputy starts digging, he needs to keep one step ahead of her??and the mysterious outsiders who threaten to tear the whole place down. The more he learns, the more the hard truth is revealed: The Blinds is no sleepy hideaway. It's simmering with violence and deception, aching heartbreak and dark betray… (lisätietoja)

Jäsen:Codonnelly
Teoksen nimi:The Blinds: A Novel
Kirjailijat:Adam Sternbergh (Tekijä)
Info:Ecco (2017), Edition: 1st, 400 pages
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):**
Avainsanoja:-

Teostiedot

The Blinds: A Novel (tekijä: Adam Sternbergh) (2017)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

» Katso myös 12 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 19) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
This book starts slow and I wondered if it was worth continuing when it was still slow 1/3 of the way in. Stick with it. The story all comes together and is quite inventive. It isn’t 5 stars because the ending was wrapped up to quickly. ( )
  zmagic69 | Mar 31, 2023 |
A remote Texas town is home to a unique experimental project where criminals are given new identities and live in a closed community with no contact to the outside world. Blindsided by a series of murders, the town's fragile peace fractures, and the residents are forced to face their dark pasts and buried secrets. With colorful characters, and a warped plot, "The Blinds" blasts readers with deep themes of justice and forgiveness. ( )
  Cam_Torrens | Mar 17, 2023 |
I really enjoyed this story. is kind of like a version of lost but everybody’s felons lol. ( )
  linusnc | Feb 18, 2023 |
I give this an extra star for originality - it was one of the more unusual books I've read in a while. It's a mystery with some SF mixed in (mind control), and even some humor, but not much.

It started out seeming like it might be boring - just one little town in the middle of nowhere, with not much other than the homes, no industry, no real jobs, one bar. And no post office, no internet, no telephones, no pets, no kids except one that got in accidentally. The only chance to break the boredom is that the residents all have secrets that even they don't know about.

But soon, things begin to happen. A couple of people die from gunshots, even though nobody is supposed to have guns. The first one was ruled a suicide, but then the second one wasn't. The story really gets going when we learn who the shooter is, then why. Pretty soon, I found it very hard to stop reading.

You'll need to suspend some disbelief or skepticism along the way, but not that much, really; certainly, no more than for a Steven King novel, although perhaps comparing it to Wayward Pines might be more fitting in many way. If you're at all curious about this book, I say read it. ( )
  MartyFried | Oct 9, 2022 |
Ugh so good!! ( )
  Amy_Webb | Dec 11, 2021 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 19) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Fiction. Suspense. Western. Thriller. HTML:

For fans of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Thompson, the Coen Brothers, and Lost

Imagine a place populated by criminals??people plucked from their lives, with their memories altered, who've been granted new identities and a second chance. Welcome to The Blinds, a dusty town in rural Texas populated by misfits who don't know if they've perpetrated a crime or just witnessed one. What's clear to them is that if they leave, they will end up dead.

For eight years, Sheriff Calvin Cooper has kept an uneasy peace??but after a suicide and a murder in quick succession, the town's residents revolt. Cooper has his own secrets to protect, so when his new deputy starts digging, he needs to keep one step ahead of her??and the mysterious outsiders who threaten to tear the whole place down. The more he learns, the more the hard truth is revealed: The Blinds is no sleepy hideaway. It's simmering with violence and deception, aching heartbreak and dark betray

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.8)
0.5
1
1.5
2 8
2.5 3
3 14
3.5 9
4 43
4.5 5
5 17

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 197,525,132 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä