KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Ladataan...

Ghachar Ghochar (2013)

Tekijä: Vivek Shanbhag

Muut tekijät: Katso muut tekijät -osio.

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
4502154,456 (3.81)53
For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"--… (lisätietoja)
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 53 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 21) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
I’m sorry, but any book which ends with the words of its title is a recipe for a low score in my opinion - it was a tacky, gimmicky end to a tepid story of an Indian family which left a bad taste in the mouth after a harmless read. In parts, it was an astutely observed family drama, concerning their change of fortunes and rise in social standing. Dynamics consequently changed and the narrator’s reflection on the gains and losses in relation to their new found wealth was the strongest part of the book. Outside of this, mainly concerning plot and resolutions of story arcs, (for want of a better way to describe it) it felt that we were left with endless strands of story left unanswered or unexplored, so much so that it didn’t feel like a narrative device but instead just lazy storytelling or an abandonment of what might’ve been a bigger novel. I guess I just wanted more than a snapshot of their lives. I wanted Shanbhag to tell me what happened: where did his wife go? Did she return? Who was the woman at their door? How did the family learn to live together? The more I think of these questions and lack of answers, the more I feel that a book should do more than this. It had promise, was readable but ultimately disappointed. ( )
  Dzaowan | Feb 15, 2024 |
I nearly gave up halfway through this. Heartened, though, by other reviewers I persevered & I’m glad I did. The narrator warns that to understand his story, you’ll have to learn a lot about his family first. And he’s right, in that the family stuff is absolutely necessary, but also in that it’s a lot, such an awful lot. By the halfway point, though, he begins talking about himself and the book takes on a wonderful density & texture. The writing, too, becomes more complex: there are some gorgeous passages about the narrator’s inhaling his wife’s neck, her clothes.

Some reviewers have called what happens at the book’s end an unexpected twist, but if you’ve taken in everything our narrator has said, the seeming surprise is as inevitable as every other fact of life in a ghachar ghochar world. ( )
  susanbooks | Dec 30, 2023 |
Great story about a completely vacuous person who can't imagine doing anything for himself or for anyone else and limits himself to the mildest hand wringing and most limited self awareness about his passive role and the situation he's ended up in.
( )
  tombomp | Oct 31, 2023 |
Short but a rivetting novella. ( )
  Santhosh_Guru | Oct 19, 2023 |
The way the author set up the story with all its intricacies amazed me. Being an Indian myself, certain things were quite relatable. But, even if one weren't Indian, it shouldn't be a problem understanding because Shanbhag has explained it succinctly with the text. This is a story of how the family dynamics changes when they become rich overnight, of how they change individually as a person (or is it just their suppressed characteristics that came out after gaining wealth?), of the lengths that they go to preserve "family stability," and of the new family addition that threatens to disrupt the stability that hangs by the hair. As more of the protagonist's story unfolds, a sense of dread/restlessness slowly builds, which peaks at the last line of the book, leaving you shocked as you try to make sense of what was being implied (or not).

The translation is brilliant, one of the few good ones I have ever read. It flowed brilliantly and at places I wondered if this was indeed translated or was the original work. ( )
  PrasannaS | Nov 12, 2020 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 21) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

» Lisää muita tekijöitä (1 mahdollinen)

Tekijän nimiRooliTekijän tyyppiKoskeeko teosta?Tila
Vivek Shanbhagensisijainen tekijäkaikki painoksetlaskettu
Perur, SrinathKääntäjämuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Samuelsson, PeterKääntäjämuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Schreiber, DanielKääntäjämuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Turle, BernardKääntäjämuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
In memory of Yashwant Chittal
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Vincent is a waiter at Coffee House.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
(Napsauta nähdäksesi. Varoitus: voi sisältää juonipaljastuksia)
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"--

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.81)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5 2
3 27
3.5 18
4 64
4.5 4
5 17

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 201,775,502 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä