KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Ladataan...

Beast

Tekijä: Brie Spangler

Muut tekijät: Katso muut tekijät -osio.

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
19910136,052 (3.46)2
Romance. Humor (Fiction.) Young Adult Fiction. LGBTQIA+ (Fiction.) HTML:A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
A Rainbow Book List selection
A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection
A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching reimagining of Beauty and the Beast that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.

 
Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesnt look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken legand a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. 
 
Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapyuntil he meets Jamie. Shes funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. Shes also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality.
 
As Jamies humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesnt know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasnt listening. Something that shouldnt change a thing. She is who shes always beenan amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?
Praise for Beast:
"Writing smartly in Dylans voice, Spangler artfully represents both main characters: the boy who feels like a freak and the witty, imperfect, wise trans girl he loves. Very lightly borrowing on the classic fairy tale, she allows them to fail and succeed without resorting to paper villains or violent plot points to manipulate compassion. A believable and beautiful human story. Kirkus Reviews, Starred review
"Spanglers captivating portrayals of Dylan and Jamie offer piercing insight into the long, painful battle to shatter stereotypes in order to win dignity, love, and acceptance. Publishers Weekly, Starred review.
… (lisätietoja)
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 2 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 9) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
Aw, this was cute. Yes, all of the characters had their moments of idiocy, which were painful to read about, but accurate to adolescence. I thought the handling of trans issues was done well. This would be a good introductory book to trans issues for a teen or parent of a teen, but didn't come off as overly didactic. ( )
  settingshadow | Aug 19, 2023 |
I think this is an excellent book.

It is not a beauty and the beast retelling -- or if it is, it is so subtle as to unrecognizable, so I was disappointed about that.

It is a pretty great teen love story with angst and sorrow and self-hatred and learning. It is very appropriately written for a teen audience, so it didn't really do that much for me as an adult reading it - but I appreciate that there are many things great about it. It doesn't have the knock it out of the park funny dialogue of TFIOS, but there are some definite similarities.

And yay for trans characters who kick butt and take names. ( )
  jennybeast | Apr 14, 2022 |
I really enjoyed this book. I loved how realistically the characters were portrayed. They were flawed, but still sympathetic and felt like real teenagers. I thought the romance was cute, but it happened very fast. I would have preferred more buildup, but I do remember being a teenager and falling in love after one conversation with someone, so that was also realistic. I liked that it discussed sensitive subjects, while still being fairly light in tone. Overall, I would recommend to anyone looking for a sweet YA romance. ( )
  queenofthebobs | Mar 28, 2020 |
Dylan is a 15-year old boy who is over 6 feet tall, abnormally hairy, and doesn't consider himself to be all that attractive. His classmates have nicknamed him "Beast" and his best friend JP uses him as an enforcer. Dylan's dealing with a lot of self-esteem issues and he's grieving over the loss of his dad.

Jamie is the beautiful transgender girl that he meets in group therapy who makes him feel like a normal person. I don't want to give away too much of the story but Jamie makes this book for me. She has a kick-a@@ attitude and has no problem standing up for herself.

I don't really consider this book to be a retelling of the classic but I enjoyed it all the same. ( )
  DMPrice | Dec 23, 2017 |
This book didn't really deliver what it promised. The hype around it indicates that it will be a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, which never really materialized. Even ignoring this, I found the romance uncompelling because the main character seemed incapable of seeing other people as people. Dylan hardly ever considers other people's thoughts and feelings, other than, in moments of self-flagellation, saying to himself, "Ugh I'm so awful, it's terrible how I never consider other people's thoughts and feelings." But these moments are illustrations of his depression and self-loathing, not periods of reflection and determination to change. Even in the climax of the book there seem to be no real changes in Dylan's consideration of others. It's great that he's able to work on his depression and problems of self-worth, but he never stops being completely self-centered. Not to mention, this book is focused on struggling through transphobia, but even after learning acceptance in that area, Dylan sure seems like one heck of a misogynist. I'm not clear on why Jamie should have to settle for him. It honestly comes off like she's a prize he gets for learning to value himself. ( )
  bibliovermis | Aug 24, 2017 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 9) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

» Lisää muita tekijöitä

Tekijän nimiRooliTekijän tyyppiKoskeeko teosta?Tila
Brie Spanglerensisijainen tekijäkaikki painoksetlaskettu
Eiden, AndrewKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Romance. Humor (Fiction.) Young Adult Fiction. LGBTQIA+ (Fiction.) HTML:A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
A Rainbow Book List selection
A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection
A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching reimagining of Beauty and the Beast that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.

 
Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesnt look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken legand a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. 
 
Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapyuntil he meets Jamie. Shes funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. Shes also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality.
 
As Jamies humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesnt know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasnt listening. Something that shouldnt change a thing. She is who shes always beenan amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?
Praise for Beast:
"Writing smartly in Dylans voice, Spangler artfully represents both main characters: the boy who feels like a freak and the witty, imperfect, wise trans girl he loves. Very lightly borrowing on the classic fairy tale, she allows them to fail and succeed without resorting to paper villains or violent plot points to manipulate compassion. A believable and beautiful human story. Kirkus Reviews, Starred review
"Spanglers captivating portrayals of Dylan and Jamie offer piercing insight into the long, painful battle to shatter stereotypes in order to win dignity, love, and acceptance. Publishers Weekly, Starred review.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.46)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 5
2.5 2
3 7
3.5
4 10
4.5 1
5 7

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 204,347,465 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä