KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Ladataan...

Front Lines (2016)

Tekijä: Michael Grant

Sarjat: Front Lines (1)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
3732169,215 (3.77)9
Historical Fiction. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

An epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with female soldiers fighting on the front lines.

World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families??to go to war.

These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

Perfect for fans of Girl in the Blue Coat, Salt to the Sea, The Book Thief, and Code Name Verity, from New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant.… (lisätietoja)

Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 9 mainintaa

Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 21) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
While I definitely enjoyed this, I kind of kept expecting Peggy Carter to make an appearance? Which is very ridiculous, but still. I feel she would have felt at home with these ladies at times. ( )
  lexilewords | Dec 28, 2023 |
A WWII story, but alternative history, where women were allowed to serve in the war. This book follows three such women: one farm-raised and no stranger to hard work (and her sexy best friend), a smart Jewish woman, facile in several languages, interested in military intelligence, and a small black woman, interested in being a medic. Each serving in a different capacity in different groups, they are eventually united in Northern Africa, battling the Germans. I liked the anti-officer, follow-your-sergeant theme, the crisp treatment of racism both against the black Frangie and the Jewish Rainy and the camaraderie of the various units, but was bored at times by the lead character, Rio, who was the central focus and hero of the book, and the protracted training routines, that will never be the equal of Private Benjamin. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
A reimagining of WWII with female soldiers joining the fight. Various points of view from the girls tell the stories of an intelligence gatherer, an enlisted white girl, and an enlisted black girl. I know just who I'm going to give this book to when the school copy comes. 3.5 stars ( )
  readingbeader | Oct 29, 2020 |
Michael Grant is, just as you would expect from his work on Animorphs, magnificent at showing the devastating effects of war on the souls of young people. I really enjoyed the different perspectives of the three main characters.
  dreamweaversunited | Apr 30, 2020 |
An alternate history where women were able to fight in WW2. Follows the lives of 3 enlisted female soldiers - Rainy, a jewish woman who puts herself in for the intelligence corp and comes up against male prejudice so has to prove she is smart enough. Rio - a white foot soldier who enlists after her sister is killed in the Navy in action. And finally Frangie - a black American woman who must confront both sexism and racism in order to fight and earn money for her poverty stricken family.

Comment : Grant alternates between the characters in each chapter but I like how the timeline means that sometimes one character like Rio will have 3 chapters in a row dedicated to her. I think Grant has probably tones down the sexism that WOULD have occurred at that time - the male soldiers seem very subdued and I honestly don't think that female and male would have shared barracks. That being said, this is a fascinating look at what might have happened and the consequences.

First in a series, I will be purchasing the others. ( )
  nicsreads | Jul 24, 2019 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 21) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

Kuuluu näihin sarjoihin

Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät paikat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
I dedicate this book to the magnificent Kurdish women soldiers of Kobani. How could I not?

And to my equally magnificent if slightly less deadly wife, Katherine (K.A.) Applegate, our son, Joke, and daughter, Julia
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
I’m not going to tell you my name, not right away.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia (1)

Historical Fiction. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

An epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with female soldiers fighting on the front lines.

World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families??to go to war.

These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

Perfect for fans of Girl in the Blue Coat, Salt to the Sea, The Book Thief, and Code Name Verity, from New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

LibraryThing-kirjailija

Michael Grant on LibraryThing-kirjailija, kirjailija, jonka henkilökohtainen kirjasto on LibraryThingissä.

profiilisivu | kirjailijasivu

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.77)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 13
3.5 1
4 18
4.5 3
5 7

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 206,343,695 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä