KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Ladataan...

Southern Fried Fiction: How The Insidious Onset Of Depression Derailed A Successful Man's Life

Tekijä: Stuart Hotchkiss

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioKeskustelut
712,411,622 (4)-
Stuart Hotchkiss is at the end of his rope. Underemployment, bankruptcy, and a looming third divorce have worn him down. His mother has died. He's estranged from his own son. Death seems like a release. The son of a once significant Southern family, Hotchkiss spent his early life struggling to escape familial expectations and secrets. He paid for his own education and eventually secured a position as president of a national media conglomerate, only to resign a year later and bring senseless litigation that rendered him permanently underemployed. Southern Fried Fiction is all that a memoir should be-a captivating story, real and raw, with a healthy dose of humor to carry readers through the pain of its author's loss and past mistakes. Through it, Hotchkiss eloquently exorcises the demons of his climb toward success, capping it off with a spark of hope beyond the veil of his near suicide, one that even the most cynical of us can find inspiration in. In the vein of Russell Baker's Growing Up and Michael Gates Gill's How Starbucks Saved My Life, Hotchkiss's memoir is a moving account of one man's battle to overcome his demons and start over.… (lisätietoja)
-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin nähdäksesi, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

A very good read. From the get go one feels that it is going to be an enlightening journey from front cover to back and it does not fail in that regard. Mr. Hotchkiss's life is an extraordinary one filled with love, heartache and all the doubts associated with being human. One feels his joy when good things happen only to have that joy stripped when the negative sets in. As one who has struggled with depression and anxiety I applaud his efforts to regain control of his life and encourage anyone experiencing these "demons" to give this book a shot. The first thing I usually do when receiving a book is read about the author and was surprised to find out that he lives in the same city I do, Boise. I have a feeling I've seen him before though I can't be sure. Give this book a try and more than likely you will not be disappointed. ( )
  DarthBrazen | Jun 9, 2015 |
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Teoksen kanoninen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Stuart Hotchkiss is at the end of his rope. Underemployment, bankruptcy, and a looming third divorce have worn him down. His mother has died. He's estranged from his own son. Death seems like a release. The son of a once significant Southern family, Hotchkiss spent his early life struggling to escape familial expectations and secrets. He paid for his own education and eventually secured a position as president of a national media conglomerate, only to resign a year later and bring senseless litigation that rendered him permanently underemployed. Southern Fried Fiction is all that a memoir should be-a captivating story, real and raw, with a healthy dose of humor to carry readers through the pain of its author's loss and past mistakes. Through it, Hotchkiss eloquently exorcises the demons of his climb toward success, capping it off with a spark of hope beyond the veil of his near suicide, one that even the most cynical of us can find inspiration in. In the vein of Russell Baker's Growing Up and Michael Gates Gill's How Starbucks Saved My Life, Hotchkiss's memoir is a moving account of one man's battle to overcome his demons and start over.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Current Discussions

-

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 208,955,119 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä