KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

Ladataan...

Black Book: Book 1

– tekijä: Dylan Jones

Sarjat: Black Book (1)

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioKeskustelut
255752,035 (3.28)-
THE TOP 5 BESTSELLER. Book 1 in a 3 part serialisation. 'I highly recommend it for the storytelling, world building, and quality of writing.' The New Podler Review of Books. A lightning fast paced action packed sci-fi thriller for fans of Stephen King's Dark Tower and Lee Child's Jack Reacher Sheriff Jack is a no-nonsense soldier from the future, trapped in the Wild West. He must find and protect the sacred Black Book before someone or something else does. The clock is already ticking for humankind, but for Jack the countdown has only just begun. Readers Reviews"Fast paced and exciting from the get go, you'll probably end up reading the whole thing in one sitting""I couldn't put it down. Great read.""This book is totally a breath of fresh air when it comes to sci-fi novels." "Just great fantasy writing." "If you're a fan of sci-fi action then this book is for you.""It's a story that mixes Western, science fiction, and fantasy into a quest that spans centuries" "Highly recommended to fans of both sci-fis and westerns who are looking for an interesting read.""What a treat. Black Book is a real winner. Time travel, Old West, Future Earth and a whole "what's up?" story.""Loved the book, interesting mix of sci-fi, fantasy and Western. Would definitely recommend to all.""This mix of Hollywood cowboys and stranded time travellers from the future blends into a compelling tale." "A great story. Jones has sweated a lot of effort and great writing into this novel and I appreciate it. Well done, sir."… (lisätietoja)
-
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

näyttää 5/5
There was more about what is going on in the story in the description of the book, or should I say series, than there is this opening chapter. Good action scenes, but little else. I'm not sure if I'll continue with the story or not. ( )
  OgreZed | Sep 15, 2020 |
This book mugged me; I'm not even sure what happened. I think I found it for free as a link on Hacker News or something? I don't even know how to describe it. Maybe a time-traveling Western/Sci-Fi thriller? With nanobots and the devil? It was a roller coaster of a ride, partly because I'm not sure I understood everything that was happening.

One minute you're in the middle of the crazy fight in the old West. The next minute, the President of the United States is fighting on a space space station and crunching on time travel fluid. It's kind of a mess of a book, but a glorious mess. This edition just sort of stops in the middle of the story with a ton of unresolved plot points and unexplained events.

The beginning of the book is the strongest; give that a preview and see what you think. I finished it. It's got a lot of rough edges, but also a lot of energy. ( )
  mattcutts | Oct 8, 2015 |
Pretty good time-travel SF. Now where's the next book? ( )
  GTTexas | Dec 2, 2014 |
The Black Book
Author: Dylan Jones
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Date: 2013
Pgs: 103

REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

Summary:
The Black Book is a ledger of supreme importance. It is so important that a soldier is sent back through time to the Old West to find it and protect it. Others from the future believe that the mission has failed and have sent an assassin to kill the soldier. And...and the Devil is loose in the mix as well.

Genre:
Adventure
Apocalypse
Fiction
Science fiction
Time travel
War
Western

Why this book:
Time travel...the Old West...the Devil...c’mon, how could I not.

______________________________________________________________________________

Favorite Character:
Jack is a great character. Time traveling soldier and all that.

The President is too.

The old man and the boy riding the paradox loop together.

Character I Most Identified With:
We’re supposed to identify with Jack. It works.

The Feel:
You get Old West and time travel...and space with a shattered Earth in the future. Great stuff. Post-apocalypse and Old West.

Favorite Scene:
The strung up pig at Uncle Ned’s farm trying to lap its blood back inside as it drains out of its slit throat.

The scenes when the Ox’s time travel pod accelerates toward Earth and you get your first “look” at what the Earth is like in the future.

The gunfight in Roger’s apartment and the aftermath.

Pacing:
Great pace. Real page turner.

Hmm Moments:
The reveal that we weren’t at an Area 51 secret base was pretty awesome.

The juxtaposition of the earlier appearing character with their own launch point was nicely done. ...unless this one is a clone of the one who appeared earlier. Either way, nicely done.

Casting call:
Keanu Reeves as Jack.

Denzel Washington as President Benjamin Freeman.
______________________________________________________________________________

Last Page Sound:
I love the book. But I wish the ending had either been more of a cliffhanger or finished in such a way that this was a complete story unto itself whether the reader reads the next book or not. This is a major shortcoming in too many duology, trilogy, and series novels.

Author Assessment:
I really liked it and, despite my problems with the ending, I will definitely read more by Dylan Jones.

Editorial Assessment:
It’s well edited.

Knee Jerk Reaction:
really good book

Disposition of Book:
e-Book

Would recommend to:
genre fans ( )
  texascheeseman | Nov 19, 2014 |
This is the first part of a chapter book coming out on the 21st of each month. The author was kind enough to send me the first two to read. The first one is taking place in the wild west & was certainly full of action. Lots of questions begging, though. Just who is this sheriff? I'm intrigued & can't wait to read the next one tomorrow at lunch. What year & circumstances? Apparently it can vary by centuries & thousands of miles. Should be fun. ( )
  jimmaclachlan | Aug 18, 2014 |
näyttää 5/5
ei arvosteluja | lisää arvostelu

Kuuluu näihin sarjoihin

Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tärkeät paikat
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Ensimmäiset sanat
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Kirjan kehujat
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

THE TOP 5 BESTSELLER. Book 1 in a 3 part serialisation. 'I highly recommend it for the storytelling, world building, and quality of writing.' The New Podler Review of Books. A lightning fast paced action packed sci-fi thriller for fans of Stephen King's Dark Tower and Lee Child's Jack Reacher Sheriff Jack is a no-nonsense soldier from the future, trapped in the Wild West. He must find and protect the sacred Black Book before someone or something else does. The clock is already ticking for humankind, but for Jack the countdown has only just begun. Readers Reviews"Fast paced and exciting from the get go, you'll probably end up reading the whole thing in one sitting""I couldn't put it down. Great read.""This book is totally a breath of fresh air when it comes to sci-fi novels." "Just great fantasy writing." "If you're a fan of sci-fi action then this book is for you.""It's a story that mixes Western, science fiction, and fantasy into a quest that spans centuries" "Highly recommended to fans of both sci-fis and westerns who are looking for an interesting read.""What a treat. Black Book is a real winner. Time travel, Old West, Future Earth and a whole "what's up?" story.""Loved the book, interesting mix of sci-fi, fantasy and Western. Would definitely recommend to all.""This mix of Hollywood cowboys and stranded time travellers from the future blends into a compelling tale." "A great story. Jones has sweated a lot of effort and great writing into this novel and I appreciate it. Well done, sir."

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

LibraryThing-kirjailija

Dylan Jones on LibraryThing-kirjailija, kirjailija, jonka henkilökohtainen kirjasto on LibraryThingissä.

profiilisivu | kirjailijasivu

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.28)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 4
3.5 1
4 3
4.5
5

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 163,194,715 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä