KotiRyhmätKeskusteluLisääAjan henki
Etsi sivustolta
Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.
Hide this

Tulokset Google Booksista

Pikkukuvaa napsauttamalla pääset Google Booksiin.

The dog stars – tekijä: Peter Heller
Ladataan...

The dog stars (vuoden 2012 painos)

– tekijä: Peter Heller, Mark Deakins

JäseniäKirja-arvostelujaSuosituimmuussijaKeskimääräinen arvioMaininnat
2,3942014,808 (3.94)290
Surviving a pandemic disease that has killed everyone he knows, a pilot establishes a shelter in an abandoned airport hangar before hearing a random radio transmission that compels him to risk his life to seek out other survivors.
Jäsen:Hokie
Teoksen nimi:The dog stars
Kirjailijat:Peter Heller
Muut tekijät:Mark Deakins
Info:[New York] : Random House Audio, p2012.
Kokoelmat:Oma kirjasto
Arvio (tähdet):
Avainsanoja:to-read

Teoksen tarkat tiedot

The Dog Stars (tekijä: Peter Heller)

  1. 70
    Station Eleven (tekijä: Emily St. John Mandel) (benjclark)
  2. 70
    Tie (tekijä: Cormac McCarthy) (IamAleem)
  3. 60
    Alas, Babylon (tekijä: Pat Frank) (benjclark)
  4. 30
    Earth Abides (tekijä: George R. Stewart) (amysisson, IamAleem)
  5. 20
    The stand (tekijä: Stephen King) (labrick)
    labrick: Both about a pandemic and colorado is the setting for both, although The Stand has elements of the paranormal.
  6. 20
    Parable of the Sower (tekijä: Octavia E. Butler) (amysisson)
  7. 00
    Children in Reindeer Woods (tekijä: Kristin Ómarsdóttir) (whymaggiemay)
    whymaggiemay: Same feelings of loss and confusion
  8. 00
    Train Dreams (tekijä: Denis Johnson) (bookworm12)
  9. 00
    Join (tekijä: Steve Toutonghi) (jbizroe)
  10. 01
    The Pesthouse (tekijä: Jim Crace) (BookshelfMonstrosity)
    BookshelfMonstrosity: Spare prose and unexpectedly moving romances characterize these post-apocalyptic novels, set in bleak futures in which humanity has been decimated by horrible diseases.
  11. 34
    Peace Like a River (tekijä: Leif Enger) (BookshelfMonstrosity)
    BookshelfMonstrosity: A meditative tale of post-apocalyptic survival and a spiritual chronicle of murder, conviction, and pursuit share lyrical writing propelling their characters' journeys. The books' tones, dark and low-key, involve readers emotionally in their respective messages of the importance of family.… (lisätietoja)
Ladataan...

Kirjaudu LibraryThingiin, niin näet, pidätkö tästä kirjasta vai et.

Ei tämänhetkisiä Keskustelu-viestiketjuja tästä kirjasta.

» Katso myös 290 mainintaa

englanti (196)  espanja (2)  saksa (1)  ranska (1)  italia (1)  Kaikki kielet (201)
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 201) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
Well written apocalyptic novel, in the vein of THE ROAD, HUNGER GAMES, AGE OF MIRACLES, etc. Spare and beautiful. ( )
  wordloversf | Aug 14, 2021 |
Really liked this one a lot. ( )
  Jinjer | Jul 19, 2021 |
2.5 stars. America has been destroyed by a pandemic flu. Hig lives at an airport, with his dog (Jasper), his plane (the Beast), and a survivalist (Bangley.) Yet, something is missing and Hig goes off in his plane to find it, eventually flying beyond the point of no return. Eventually, he finds an elderly man and his daughter, and then become a family of sorts. While Heller writes well, this book did not do much for me. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
adult fiction. lone pilot/poet searches for happiness and companionship post-apocalypse. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
I wasn't sure at first if I was going to be able to get behind this book--the prose is stylistically very like Cormac McCarthy, and the plot reads a lot like The Road mixed with elements of I Am Legend. My doubt only lasted about a chapter though; before long, I was quickly sucked in. While the similarities remained, it is very much its own book, and one that I prefer far more to McCarthy for introducing way more empathy and humor into such a bleak post-apocalyptic situation. To be sure, it was all I could do to put it down (and I got it from the library just in time for my trip to Denver, so there's no shortage of awesome things awaiting me outside my sister's apartment, away from this book). My heart is still racing from all the tension, the attacks, the worry for all the characters, and god dammit OF COURSE I get to the part where Jasper dies right as it was time to get off the plane and I was doing a very poor job of trying not to be a blubbering mess in front of dozens of strangers. But as much as Heller created a dire landscape, I was continually surprised to find myself chuckling so frequently throughout the book. The prose was stunningly poetic, and Hig is just about the best protagonist ever. I love how flabbergasted he is every time he realizes that pretty much everyone he encounters is way better at this whole survival gig than he is, even though clearly it's Hig's humanity that endears fellow (cooperating) survivors to stick out their necks for him. I can't wait to put this in people's hands.

Also, I've now realized that my midlife crisis thing is going to be becoming a pilot.

*****
You know, it's been a month since I read this and I can't stop thinking about it. Another thing I really love about this book is how Heller handled Hig's marriage with his wife, the details of her succumbing to the disease, and how he navigates through his feelings for Cima. While of course I've never experienced the extreme environment of The Dog Stars, I could totally relate to the heart-breaking difficulty of having to let go of someone you still love, whether by force or by choice, and that we move on in spite of resisting it. Jesus, this book is so good. ( )
  LibroLindsay | Jun 18, 2021 |
Näyttää 1-5 (yhteensä 201) (seuraava | näytä kaikki)
Heller's writing is stripped-down and minimalist, like a studio apartment in Sparta. It's an Armageddon book as written by Ernest Hemingway. The future is spare. If you see an adjective, kill it.
 

» Lisää muita tekijöitä (4 mahdollista)

Tekijän nimiRooliTekijän tyyppiKoskeeko teosta?Tila
Peter Hellerensisijainen tekijäkaikki painoksetlaskettu
Deakins, MarkKertojamuu tekijäeräät painoksetvahvistettu
Sinun täytyy kirjautua sisään voidaksesi muokata Yhteistä tietoa
Katso lisäohjeita Common Knowledge -sivuilta (englanniksi).
Kanoninen teoksen nimi
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen nimi
Teoksen muut nimet
Alkuperäinen julkaisuvuosi
Henkilöt/hahmot
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät paikat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Tärkeät tapahtumat
Kirjaan liittyvät elokuvat
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Epigrafi (motto tai mietelause kirjan alussa)
Omistuskirjoitus
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
To Kim
Ensimmäiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
I keep the Beast running, I keep the 100 low lead on tap, I foresee attacks.
Sitaatit
Viimeiset sanat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
(Napsauta nähdäksesi. Varoitus: voi sisältää juonipaljastuksia)
Erotteluhuomautus
Julkaisutoimittajat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Kirjan kehujat
Tiedot englanninkielisestä Yhteisestä tiedosta. Muokkaa kotoistaaksesi se omalle kielellesi.
Alkuteoksen kieli
Kanoninen DDC/MDS
Kanoninen LCC

Viittaukset tähän teokseen muissa lähteissä.

Englanninkielinen Wikipedia

-

Surviving a pandemic disease that has killed everyone he knows, a pilot establishes a shelter in an abandoned airport hangar before hearing a random radio transmission that compels him to risk his life to seek out other survivors.

Kirjastojen kuvailuja ei löytynyt.

Kirjan kuvailu
Yhteenveto haiku-muodossa

Suosituimmat kansikuvat

Pikalinkit

Arvio (tähdet)

Keskiarvo: (3.94)
0.5
1 12
1.5 1
2 37
2.5 4
3 141
3.5 49
4 341
4.5 67
5 200

Oletko sinä tämä henkilö?

Tule LibraryThing-kirjailijaksi.

 

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 162,331,295 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä