Tämä sivusto käyttää evästeitä palvelujen toimittamiseen, toiminnan parantamiseen, analytiikkaan ja (jos et ole kirjautunut sisään) mainostamiseen. Käyttämällä LibraryThingiä ilmaiset, että olet lukenut ja ymmärtänyt käyttöehdot ja yksityisyydensuojakäytännöt. Sivujen ja palveluiden käytön tulee olla näiden ehtojen ja käytäntöjen mukaista.

LibraryThing-kirjailija:
Karl Wolff

Karl Wolff on LibraryThing-kirjailija, kirjailija, jonka henkilökohtainen kirjasto on LibraryThingissä.

Katso kirjailijasivu.

Etsi jäsenen kirjoista

Satunnaisia kirjoja kirjastostani

Langenscheidt's Pocket Latin Dictionary (Langenscheidt's Pocket Dictionaries) – tekijä: Langenscheidt

Catechism of the Catholic Church – tekijä: U.S. Catholic Church

Finnegans Wake (Penguin Twentieth-Century Classics) – tekijä: James Joyce

Chariots of the Gods – tekijä: Erich von Daniken

Hav (New York Review Books Classics) – tekijä: Jan Morris

An Act of Terror – tekijä: Andre Brink

Everyone Is African: How Science Explodes the Myth of Race – tekijä: Daniel J. Fairbanks

Jäsenet, joilla on samoja kirjoja kuin jäsenellä kswolff

Jäsengalleria (16)

(katso kaikki 16 kuvaa)

RSS-syötteet

Viimeksi tallennetut kirjat

Jäsenen kswolff arvostelut

Muiden tekemiä arvosteluja jäsenen kswolff kirjoista

Avustaja-ansiomerkit

Cover UploadingHelperWork CombinationCommon KnowledgeMember RecommendationsFiverTenner

 

Jäsen: kswolff

KokoelmatOma kirjasto (6,333), Toivelista (1,835), Parhaillaan lukemassa (3), Aion lukea (32), Luettu, ei oma (197), Kaikki kokoelmat (8,342)

Kirja-arvosteluja468 arvostelua

Avainsanojafiction (1,308), novel (816), non-fiction (494), France (198), poetry (157), UK fiction (153), history (151), series (143), gay (136), art (98) — kaikki avainsanat

VälineTieto puuttuu (16), Kirja (8,320), Paperinen kirja (8,018), Äänikirja (8), Ebook (151), Videotallenne (3), DVD (1), Muut (4)

Pilvetavainsanapilvi, tekijäpilvi, avainsanapeili

Suositukset15 suositusta

Tietoja minustaI'm a voracious reader. I love fiction and non-fiction. I also write fiction, speculative fiction, and book reviews.

I review fiction and non-fiction books for The New York Journal of Books (http://www.nyjournalofbooks.com/) and my own blog "The Driftless Area Review" (http://driftlessareareview.com/). Follow me on Twitter (links below).

I'm also a member of the National Book Critics Circle (bookcritics.org).

To publishers and authors: If you are interested in having me review your book, send a query letter to driftlessareareview @ hotmail . com. I will send you information on where to address the review copy. I will read pretty much anything put in front of me.

Reviewing books via Early Reviewers, the Joe Bob Briggs website, the New York Journal of Books, and CCLaP has exposed me to hidden gems amidst the dross and slag. I've also found rare and forgotten treats on the shelves of used bookstores and places like Goodwill and Savers.

A quick glance of my Library and my reviews should give you a good picture of my tastes, preferences, and interests.

My tastes are pretty scatter shot. I like the Great Writers (Proust, Pynchon, Beckett, etc.) as well as more popular commercial stuff like Andrew Vachss, James Ellroy, and Warhammer 40K novels.

Tietoja kirjastostani"The library represents, maybe with the prison, the last of the uncontested moral universes. The moral goodness of the library is intimately connected to the conceptual value of the book" -- "CONTENT" by Rem Koolhaas

"Eyestone's rooms, like his own dense prose, suggested a point of view: diverse, adorned, amused, premeditated, filled with details, highly inclusive." -- "Laura Warholic" by Alexander Theroux

"There is no such thing as a moral or an immoral book. Books are well written, or badly written." -- "The Picture of Dorian Gray" by Oscar Wilde

"But I've developed a great reputation for wisdom by ordering more books than I ever have time to read, and reading more books, by far, than I learned anything useful from, except, of course, that some very tedious gentlemen have written books. ... Thank God for them all, and for that strange interval, which was most of my life, when I read out of loneliness, and when bad company was better than no company. You can love a bad book for its haplessness or pomposity or gall, if you have the starveling appetite for things human, which I hope you will never have." -- "Gilead" by Marilynne Robinson.

"He is a bad novelist and a fool. The combination usually makes for great popularity in the US." -- Alexander Solzhenitsyn according to Gore Vidal (1980)

"It is all harmony of artifices, of deliberate contradictions. Let us try to note some of these. Realism and idealism are mingled. Along with description that takes extravagant pleasure in the most dismal details of physical reality there is, at the same time, refined expression of ideas and beliefs that exceed the immediate impression made on us by bodies -- There is a union between of the most profound sensuality with Christian asceticism." -- "Les Contemporains ("Baudelaire")" by Jules Lamaitre

My library is an amalgamation of a lifetime. It's an example of wide-ranging, generalist taste, everything from fiction to non-fiction, pop to High Art and everything in between.

RyhmätDalkey Archive, Erotica, Fans of Joyce Carol Oates, Hobnob with Authors, In Translation, Infinite Jesters, Nabokov!, New York Review Books, Proust, Pynchon Pandæmoniumnäytä kaikki ryhmät

LempikirjailijatDan Abnett, Kathy Acker, Louis Armand, R. Scott Bakker, J. G. Ballard, Honoré de Balzac, Iain M. Banks, Wayne D. Barlowe, Roland Barthes, Charles Baudelaire, Samuel Beckett, Walter Benjamin, Thomas Bernhard, Sven Birkerts, Roberto Bolaño, Anthony Bourdain, Anthony Burgess, Max Cannon, Robert A. Caro, Louis-Ferdinand Céline, E. M. Cioran, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Storm Constantine, Nicole Cushing, Mark Z. Danielewski, Geof Darrow, Robertson Davies, Dougal Dixon, J. R. "Bob" Dobbs, William O. Douglas, James Ellroy, M. F. K. Fisher, Jean Genet, William Gibson, Stephen Jay Gould, Robert Hass, Alan Hollinghurst, Robert Hughes, Joris-Karl Huysmans, Henry James, M.P. Johnson, Walter Kaufmann, Seth Kaufman, Galway Kinnell, Donna Kossy, Tony Kushner, Norman Mailer, William Manchester, Karl Marx, John McPhee, Daniel Mendelsohn, Mike Mignola, Barbara Mor, Vladimir Nabokov, Friedrich Nietzsche, Ovid, Camille Paglia, Adam Parfrey, William Pfaff, Ezra Pound, Marcel Proust, Thomas Pynchon, Monty Python, John Rechy, Kim Stanley Robinson, Salman Rushdie, Marquis de Sade, Severo Sarduy, Simon Schama, Rainer W. Schlegelmilch, Will Self, Jean Shepherd, Joel Shepherd, Gilbert Sorrentino, Rene Staud, Preston Sturges, Algernon Charles Swinburne, Alexander Theroux, Hunter S. Thompson, Jim Thompson, Andrew Vachss, Gore Vidal, William T. Vollmann, Evelyn Waugh, Peter Weissman, Joss Whedon, John Sibley Williams, Cintra Wilson (Yhteiset suosikit)

SuosikkikustantajatAkashic Books, Archipelago Books, Arsenal Pulp Press, Beacon Press, Cleis Press, Delirium Books, Feral House, McFarland, NYRB Classics, Penguin Australia, Pomegranate, Process Media, The Library of America, Wave Books, Yale University Press, Zone Books

Kotisivuhttp://driftlessareareview.com/

JäsenyysER. LibraryThingin Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat/Jäsenten kirjalahja

MuuallaTwitter, Wordpress

SijaintiMilwaukee, WI

Käyttäjätilin tyyppijulkinen

URL-osoitteet /profile/kswolff (profiili)
/catalog/kswolff (kirjasto)

RekisteröitymispäiväSep 12, 2008

Parhaillaan lukemassaPriestess of Morphine: The Lost Writings of Marie-Madeleine in the Time of Nazis – tekijä: Marie Madeleine
Supreme Democracy: The End of Elitism in Supreme Court Nominations – tekijä: Richard Davis
Roses Are Red, Violets Are Stealing Loose Change from My Pockets While I Sleep – tekijä: David S Atkinson

Lisätietoja | Ota yhteyttä | LibraryThing.com | Yksityisyyden suoja / Käyttöehdot | Apua/FAQ | Blogi | Kauppa | APIs | TinyCat | Perintökirjastot | Varhaiset kirja-arvostelijat | Yleistieto | 155,817,296 kirjaa! | Yläpalkki: Aina näkyvissä