Picture of author.

Elizabeth Jane Howard (1923–2014)

Teoksen The Light Years tekijä

47+ teosta 5,753 jäsentä 191 arvostelua 23 Favorited

Tietoja tekijästä

Elizabeth Jane Howard was born in London, England on March 26, 1923. She was educated by governesses at home. Her first novel, The Beautiful Visit, was published in 1950 and won the John Llewellyn Rhys prize. Her other works include the series the Cazalet Chronicles, Falling, and the autobiography näytä lisää Slipstream. The first two novels of the Cazalet Chronicles, The Light Years and Marking Time, became the BBC TV series The Cazalets in 2001. The other books in the series are Confusion, Casting Off, and All Change. She also edited several anthologies and wrote short stories, articles, television plays, film scripts and a book on food with Fay Maschler. She was made a CBE in 2000. She died on January 2, 2014 at the age of 90. (Bowker Author Biography) näytä vähemmän

(eng) Elizabeth Jane Howard (March 26, 1923-January 2, 2014) was a British novelist. Not to be confused with mystery writer Elizabeth Howard.


Tekijän teokset

The Light Years (1990) 1,253 kappaletta
Marking Time (1991) 827 kappaletta
Confusion (1993) 723 kappaletta
Casting Off (1995) 646 kappaletta
All Change (2013) 388 kappaletta
The Long View (1956) 267 kappaletta
Slipstream (2002) 180 kappaletta
Falling (1999) 179 kappaletta
Odd Girl Out (1972) 175 kappaletta
After Julius (1965) 164 kappaletta
The Beautiful Visit (1950) 149 kappaletta
The Sea Change (1959) 140 kappaletta
Something in Disguise (1969) 135 kappaletta
Getting It Right (1982) 102 kappaletta
Mr Wrong (1975) 96 kappaletta
Love All (2008) 77 kappaletta
Green Shades (1991) 16 kappaletta
Cooking for Occasions (1987) 14 kappaletta
Upstairs, Downstairs: The Complete Fourth Season [1974] (1974) — Writer — 12 kappaletta
The Lover's Companion (1978) 11 kappaletta
Marriage (1997) 9 kappaletta
The Long View/The Sea Change (1995) 7 kappaletta
Lectures and Addresses (2002) 5 kappaletta
Falling Love All 3 kappaletta
Bettina: A Portrait (1957) 2 kappaletta
2018 1 kappale

Associated Works

The Enchanted April (1922) — Johdanto, eräät painokset2,845 kappaletta
Elizabeth and her German Garden (1898) — Johdanto, eräät painokset1,101 kappaletta
Sokkoleikki (1951) — Johdanto, eräät painokset577 kappaletta
The Wedding Group (1968) — Johdanto, eräät painokset261 kappaletta
Värisyttävä kosketus. 2 (1993) — Avustaja — 232 kappaletta
The Penguin Book of Modern Women's Short Stories (1990) — Avustaja — 100 kappaletta
The Oxford Book of Twentieth-Century Ghost Stories (1996) — Avustaja — 72 kappaletta
The Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1964) — Avustaja — 61 kappaletta
The Norton Book Of Ghost Stories (1994) — Avustaja — 50 kappaletta
A Different Sound: Stories by Mid-Century Women Writers (2023) — Avustaja — 20 kappaletta
The Cazalets [2001 TV series] (2004) — Original book — 18 kappaletta
Paha vieras (1996) 15 kappaletta
A Feast of Stories (1996) — Avustaja — 15 kappaletta
Ghostly, grim and gruesome: An anthology (1976) — Avustaja — 7 kappaletta

Merkitty avainsanalla


London, England, UK
Bungay, Suffolk, England, UK
London, England, UK
Bungay, Suffolk, England, UK
short-story writer
Scott, Peter (first husband)
Amis, Kingsley (third husband)
Amis, Martin (step-son)
Aickman, Robert (lover)
Inland Waterways Association
Palkinnot ja kunnianosoitukset
CBE (2000)
Fellow, Royal Society of Literature
John Llewellyn Rhys Prize (1951)
Lyhyt elämäkerta
Elizabeth Jane Howard, known as Jane, worked briefly as an actor in provincial theater before marrying Sir Peter Scott in 1942, at age 19. They had a daughter, Nicola, and divorced in 1951. A second marriage, to Jim Douglas-Henry in 1958, was brief. Her third marriage to novelist Kingsley Amis lasted from 1965 to 1983. She published her first novel in 1950 and her autobiography, Slipstream, in 2002.
Elizabeth Jane Howard (March 26, 1923-January 2, 2014) was a British novelist. Not to be confused with mystery writer Elizabeth Howard.



149. Something in Disguise by Elizabeth Jane Howard, Backlisted Book Club (maaliskuu 2022)
Elizabeth Jane Howard, Virago Modern Classics (tammikuu 2014)


The war is over, and the Cazalets are returning to their London homes after spending the war years at Home Place, their house in the country. The eldest children have grown into young adults and are finding their way in both work and relationships. Their parents are facing loss and aging in various ways. Marriages tightly held together during the war are tested now, and each couple must navigate these turbulent waters.

Anyone reading this book is most likely already invested in the Cazalet family, with hopes for each character. Will the long-time philanderer get their comeuppance? Can a widowed person find happiness? Will the younger generation have more options than their parents, and travel a smoother path? Elizabeth Jane Howard explores all of this and more, bringing several long-running plot threads to a conclusion in ways that brought tears to my eyes. This series is a work of genius.… (lisätietoja)
Merkitty asiattomaksi
lauralkeet | 20 muuta kirja-arvostelua | Jun 14, 2024 |
In 1942, the Cazalet family mourns one of their own, an emotional event in no way lessened by foreshadowing in the previous book. And of course the war continues to shape their lives as well. The story unfolds over the next three years mostly through the eyes of Louise, Polly, and Clary, the eldest child of each family, as they become young adults and hope to find their purpose. Their parents have their own issues, from marital infidelities at home to uncertainty about those at the front. As England celebrates VE Day, Elizabeth Jane Howard continues spinning a long story arc. While some threads are neatly tied up in this novel, some remain unresolved and new plot developments have whet my appetite for the next book.… (lisätietoja)
Merkitty asiattomaksi
lauralkeet | 23 muuta kirja-arvostelua | May 19, 2024 |
So this volume we have 'the brothers' ie the fathers of the girls, and the outsiders: the in-laws and friends. The Cazalets are generally good at friendship, are welcoming and inclusive, but ultimately probably couldn't function completely without their support. And a few sections on 'the wives'. I'm deliberately not saying much about individuals as I don't want to spoil anyone's first reading.

I'm still loving the tone.

A thing that sticks out is the smoking of pipes. That has totally fallen by the wayside here, that and cigars. I haven't smelt pipe or cigar smoke since my 20s. Smoking generally here has dropped to 15%, although there are a lot of vaper's, which isn't as healthier an alternative as promoted!… (lisätietoja)
Merkitty asiattomaksi
Caroline_McElwee | 20 muuta kirja-arvostelua | May 12, 2024 |
This final volume of the Cazalets was written 18 years after the preceding volume, nearing the end of EJH's life. It is a what happened later rather than a summing up I would say. Written generally in smaller bites, a little repetitive in places. She sustains the tone, but although big things happen, I'm not 100% sure the volume was necessary.

Overall the series has been very satisfying. The breadth of perspectives (the initial outline coming from the the teenage girls looking up and down, and how they mature across the series), the social/domestic history, the things that were still in my memory from childhood (be it from the working class) that no longer exist now all interesting.

These were an upper middle-class/lower upper-class family heading towards a time when the expectations of their lives were heading towards dramatic change. Howard shows this progression while maintaining sympathy for her characters.
… (lisätietoja)
Merkitty asiattomaksi
Caroline_McElwee | 19 muuta kirja-arvostelua | May 12, 2024 |



You May Also Like

Associated Authors


Also by
Arvio (tähdet)
Kuinka monen suosikki

Taulukot ja kaaviot