Picture of author.

George Mackay Brown (1921–1996)

Teoksen Beside the Ocean of Time tekijä

71+ teosta 1,735 jäsentä 31 arvostelua 10 Favorited

Tietoja tekijästä

Image credit: George Mackay Brown, author of "Beside the Ocean of Time"

Tekijän teokset

Beside the Ocean of Time (1994) 231 kappaletta
Greenvoe (1972) 193 kappaletta
Magnus (1973) 149 kappaletta
Vinland (1992) 99 kappaletta
Hawkfall (1974) 74 kappaletta
Orkney Tapestry (1969) 69 kappaletta
Winter Tales (1995) 68 kappaletta
A Time to Keep (1969) 58 kappaletta
A Calendar of Love (1967) 58 kappaletta
Sun's Net (1976) 33 kappaletta
Letters from Hamnavoe (1975) 33 kappaletta
Andrina and Other Stories (1983) 28 kappaletta
The Island of the Women (1998) 28 kappaletta
Time in a Red Coat (1984) 28 kappaletta
Under Brinkie's Brae (1979) 21 kappaletta
Selected Poems, 1954-1992 (1996) 20 kappaletta
Portrait of Orkney (1981) 19 kappaletta
Northern Lights: A Poet's Sources (1999) 19 kappaletta
Pictures in the Cave (1977) 17 kappaletta
The Wreck of the Archangel: Poems (1989) 16 kappaletta
Rockpools & Daffodils (1992) 15 kappaletta
Following a Lark: Poems (1996) 13 kappaletta
Selected Poems, 1954-83 (1991) 12 kappaletta
Poems new and selected (1971) 9 kappaletta
The Sea and the Tower (1994) 9 kappaletta
Travellers (2001) 8 kappaletta
Voyages (1983) 7 kappaletta
Keepers of the House (1986) 7 kappaletta
Letters to Gypsy (1990) 6 kappaletta
Orkney Short Stories (1983) 4 kappaletta
A Spell for Green Corn (1970) 4 kappaletta
Selected poems (1977) 4 kappaletta
Christmas stories (2020) 3 kappaletta
The Loom of Light (1986) 3 kappaletta
The Lost Village: 20 Poems (1992) 3 kappaletta
A Celebration for Magnus (1987) 3 kappaletta
Writer's Ceilidh for Neil Gunn (1991) 3 kappaletta
Orfeo: A Masque (1995) 2 kappaletta
Weihnachtsgäste: Erzählungen (1990) 2 kappaletta
Hooded Fisherman (1985) 2 kappaletta
Three Plays (1984) 2 kappaletta
Edwin Muir - A Brief Memoir (1975) 2 kappaletta
In quella grotta (1999) 1 kappale
Horizons (1971) — Avustaja — 1 kappale
Loaves and Fishes : poems (1959) 1 kappale
The Sea-King's Daughter (2000) 1 kappale
Orcadians: Seven Impromptus (2016) 1 kappale
Havard: Seven Choruses (2013) 1 kappale
Celia 1 kappale
The First Wash of Spring (2006) 1 kappale

Associated Works

British Poetry Since 1945 (1970) — Avustaja, eräät painokset167 kappaletta
A Literary Christmas: An Anthology (2013) — Avustaja — 137 kappaletta
The Random House Book of Ghost Stories (1991) — Avustaja — 135 kappaletta
The Penguin Book of Ghost Stories (1984) — Avustaja — 122 kappaletta
Emergency Kit (1996) — Avustaja, eräät painokset109 kappaletta
The Oxford Book of Scottish Short Stories (1995) — Avustaja — 102 kappaletta
Scotland from the Air (1984) — Esipuhe, eräät painokset92 kappaletta
The New Penguin Book of Scottish Short Stories (1983) — Avustaja — 70 kappaletta
The Penguin Book of Scottish Short Stories (1986) — Avustaja — 69 kappaletta
An Oxford Book of Christmas Stories (1986) — Avustaja — 69 kappaletta
The Highlands and Islands of Scotland (Country Series) (1991) — Esipuhe — 54 kappaletta
Xanadu 2 (1994) — Avustaja — 47 kappaletta
An Omnibus of 20th Century Ghost Stories (1989) — Avustaja — 45 kappaletta
The Best Sea Stories (1986) — Avustaja — 21 kappaletta
An Anthology of Scottish Fantasy Literature (1996) — Avustaja — 14 kappaletta
Modern Short Stories 2: 1940-1980 (1982) — Avustaja — 12 kappaletta
Short Stories: The Thoroughly Modern Collection (2008) — Avustaja — 5 kappaletta
Sister Margaret Tournour (2003) — Avustaja — 1 kappale
Young Winter's Tales 1 (1970) — Avustaja — 1 kappale

Merkitty avainsanalla




SassyLassy Seeing the Trees and the Forest, Club Read 2022 (marraskuu 2022)


Historical fiction about the life of Orkney Islands native Ranald Sigmundson from boyhood to death. It starts with the journeys of his youth. He stows away on Leif Erikson’s voyage to Vinland and continues his travels by sea to Greenland, Iceland, Norway, and Ireland. He eventually settles into a farming life in his homeland. This story is set in period during and just after they heyday of the Vikings. The part about Vinland is short but gains importance in Ranald’s life as time passes.

I enjoyed the first half of this book, which is focused on Ranald’s youth and travels. I did not maintain the same enthusiasm for the second half, which shifts to the rivalries among various Earls of Orkney, and their interactions with nearby Kings. Ranald becomes increasingly disillusioned with the politics and internecine squabbles among leaders, and retreats into an introspective life. As he ages, he prepares for his final journey, examining religious beliefs. Ranald’s’ story represents the process of gaining wisdom and finding what is important in life.

George Mackay Brown’s writing style is lovely. He tells Ranald’s allegorical tale in a manner that evokes the epic storytelling traditions of the past. I liked this book enough to read more of his back catalogue.
… (lisätietoja)
Merkitty asiattomaksi
Castlelass | 2 muuta kirja-arvostelua | Oct 30, 2022 |
Eighteen short stories, none really boring and none really captivating. Fairly good reading for winter nights, in that somewhat old-fashioned, unhurried pace of storytelling.The Christian overtones are maybe sometimes too conspicuous: reading a third take on a ‘modern version’ of the same New Testament story can feel a bit monotonous, even if the theme is appropriate for the collection’s title. Appropriately too for an 'end of the year' tales, several are told in a ‘calendar’ format, describing a single year with a paragraph for each month.… (lisätietoja)
Merkitty asiattomaksi
Stravaiger64 | Dec 11, 2021 |
Read for GMB centenary book group - hadn’t remembered how much pain violence and torture there is
Merkitty asiattomaksi
MiriamL | Apr 19, 2021 |
Someone on Twitter recommended Brown a couple of years ago, and so I’ve kept an eye open for his books in local charity shops ever since. Which is how I stumbled across Beside the Ocean of Time, which I thought good; and why I later picked up this book when I found it in a charity shop. It’s a collection of twenty-two very short stories, some of which work very well and some of which didn’t seem to work at all. Some barely qualify as stories. They’re all set in Brown’s home ground, the Orkneys, and they take place between the eleventh and twentieth centuries. They’re not arranged chronologically, but jump about. The title story is historical, and reads more like a fable than a short story. Another, about a mean old lady who leaves a surprising bequest, feels a bit out of place. A short story about the town’s first lamp-lighter is especially good. Another about a writer researching his past also stands out. Some of the stories seemed less… lyrical than I had expected, not that Brown’s prose is ornate, it’s typically very plain but it’s also very evocative. And in a few places here, that felt slightly lacking. However, the more by Brown I read, the more by Brown I want to read. So I’ll continue to keep eye open for his books.… (lisätietoja)
Merkitty asiattomaksi
iansales | 1 muu arvostelu | May 19, 2018 |



You May Also Like

Associated Authors


Also by
Arvio (tähdet)
Kuinka monen suosikki

Taulukot ja kaaviot