Kirjailijakuva

Mandy Berman

Teoksen Perennials tekijä

2 teosta 138 jäsentä 7 arvostelua

Tekijän teokset

Perennials (2017) 103 kappaletta
The Learning Curve (2019) 35 kappaletta

Merkitty avainsanalla

Yleistieto

There is no Common Knowledge data for this author yet. You can help.

Jäseniä

Kirja-arvosteluja

Depressing book primarily about girls at summer camp. We meet two friends when they are there as children and then return as young adults to be counselors. Exploring their relationship with each other as well as their complicated relationships with their families and the young men they are attracted to.

 
Merkitty asiattomaksi
hmonkeyreads | 5 muuta kirja-arvostelua | Jan 25, 2024 |
I enjoyed the overall theme of this book and the portrayals at the end but otherwise, this was another readable YA book.
 
The blurb does not lie in that Berman really captures the beauty of summer camp, both for younger kids and for the older counselors, young adults coming into their own. The inclusion of foreign counselors made the book all the more interesting for me.
 
I enjoyed the way this dealt with race and issues of socioeconomic status within the younger campers. Seeing how this played out, seeing how the scholarship kids made it and didn’t, was important and added a layer of depth. I was definitely rooting for those kids.
 
A perennial is unchanging and never truly ends. I adored the way that this theme recurred through the book and how it ultimately came to fruition and truth at the end. This dealt with growing up very well and really provoked thought about youth and how it fades.
 
If you adore the summer camp vibe or need a solid YA, this is a good contender. Ultimately though, the theme was the only point that made this book stand out.
 
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
… (lisätietoja)
 
Merkitty asiattomaksi
whakaora | 5 muuta kirja-arvostelua | Mar 5, 2023 |
I read this novel (not audio) about a co-ed rich kids' summer camp through a haze of nostalgia, as I went to an all-girls sleepaway camp in a CT location nearby, in the Berkshires, +50 years ago. The daughters of two families drive the narrative: Rachel, from New York City, the daughter of the secretary to a wealthy lawyer; and Fiona, eldest of three children of an even wealthier Westchester family. They meet at Camp Marigold and become best friends, all the while being aware of the vast differences in their social statuses - especially when Fiona's parents buy her a horse for her birthday and deliver it to camp. Rachel's father cuts ties with her when his wife discovers her existence, and being without his affection and funds escalates her sexual explorations. Fiona's jealousy of her younger brother and sister, both thin, smart, and athletic, continues as the best friends grow older, start college, and become counselors at Camp Marigold. Fiona's younger sister Helen misses her siblings and takes a few rebellious steps of her own at home and at camp. Secondary characters such as Fiona and Rachel's parents, Sheera, the only Black girl at camp, Mo and Nell, two British riding instructors, and Jack, the camp director, add to the rich Camp Marigold stew - where reality only comes into focus during the summer months. The novel also reminded me of the Summer Wind part of Herman Wouk's Marjorie Morningstar, in a good way. You don't have to have gone to sleepaway camp to love this novel, but...oh wait, you do!… (lisätietoja)
 
Merkitty asiattomaksi
froxgirl | 5 muuta kirja-arvostelua | Aug 29, 2021 |
Perennials by Mandy Berman is one of those novels that makes me despair of ever writing a good book.

The story centers around a summer camp, and the format matches the setting. Stories are told in short, intense bursts, without fully resolving the endings. The novel switches between different girls as main characters, but avoids the YA standard of alternating first-person viewpoints.

There's so much going on in Perennials, with female relationships at the forefront. Sisters, mothers and daughters, little girl friends, teenage friendships. There are male characters, but they're defined much more in relation to the women.

Little girls begin at summer camp, excited for crafts, swimming and horses with the bunkmate besties, but as they get older, they discover that some girls get their own horses. Some girls get their own fathers, they discover, while some are secret daughters of secret mistresses. Some girls can attract boys, or men. This is a hard one to review without spoilers, since discovering along with the characters is what makes this book work so well. There's a real sense of discovery and realization throughout the story, whether it's a little girl noticing the differences between herself and her best camp friend, or a woman uncovering the problems in her marriage.

Good fit for fans of Bennington Girls Are Easy or The Most Dangerous Place on Earth.
… (lisätietoja)
1 ääni
Merkitty asiattomaksi
TheFictionAddiction | 5 muuta kirja-arvostelua | Aug 12, 2020 |

Tilastot

Teokset
2
Jäseniä
138
Suosituimmuussija
#148,171
Arvio (tähdet)
½ 3.3
Kirja-arvosteluja
7
ISBN:t
8

Taulukot ja kaaviot